We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent one night here on our way to Devon and were very impressed. The room was spotlessly clean, the king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fresh and appealing. As other reviewers have noted, the room was hot but having two large fans available overcame this issue. Breakfast was at the TGI restaurant next door and there was a good choice of menu for both cooked and continental options. Staff at both hotel and restaurant were friendly and helpful.
At the excellent price of only £39 a night, this is definitely a hotel that we would return to again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhc507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
It’s lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable experience when you stayed with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I will share your feedback with the team as we strive to deliver the same high standard to all our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    262
    114
    30
    14
See reviews for
157
254
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel was the normal high Premier Inn standard and in a good location. Staff were good and everything would have been perfect, except it was too hot. We had a room at the back of the hotel (even numbers) and there is a mainline train line directly behind the hotel and because the noise we had to close the window, which was triple glassed. However there was no air conditioning and it was far to hot as a consequence. The in-room temperature gauge showed 29.5c through the night, which was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Don't book in the middle of summer and ask for an odd number room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoteapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up. I hope this experience hasn’t put you off choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I think Premier Inns are very expensive for what they offer. Rooms are basic and the facilities non existent, but you know what you are going to get, apart from this one in Cheltenham. Despite two noisy office fans blasting in the room and the window being open (unfortunate as it backs on to a railway line), it was sweltering in the room. Not a very good nights sleep Lenny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
I apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused during your stay with us due to the room being to hot. We at Premier Inn are constantly evaluating what we can do to improve our guests’ experiences. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and bringing this issue to our attention, although I regret that it was necessary for you to do so. I do hope this experience hasn’t put you off choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights mid August and got basically what we expected. As previous reviews suggest the rooms are very warm but management put 2 fans in ours working 24 hours. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from Town Centre but just down the road you can catch the 94 bus which basically runs every 10 minutes til 7.30 pm and then every 20 minutes. A single into town is £1.90 but you can purchase a day rider ticket for £3.50 which gives unlimited journeys into Cheltenham. As an aside a Day rider Plus (£5.00) lets you go to Gloucester and Cheltenham with unlimited journeys for a day.

Hotel staff are great and will let you have any info needed.

TGI Friday's is next to hotel and is used by guest for breakfast if wanted. We only used it one night and got 2 courses for £9.99. No complaints about food or service but it is not fine dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsonjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review and we do hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Rebecca Newman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very convenient, very clean with polite friendly staff. Room quiet.Close to lots of fantastic shops and places to eat. Easy to visit many places of interest in the Cotswolds. Pub has a nice beer garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, it is so nice to receive such nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Rebecca Newman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have stayed here many times and have not been disappointed once. The place is spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly. Would recomend it to everyone. TGI Fridays is nearby and Cheltenham centre about 5 mins by car. Well done

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. Its great to hear that we have continued to provide you with the high level of service we are committed to giving all our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Rebecca Newman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My first stay at this Hotel Chain, check in was easy & staff were very friendly. I had a top floor room which overlooked the Railway Line & i noticed that the window was triple glazed. Its a busy mainline yet i didnt find the train noise a problem & slept well in a lovely big clean room with massive flat screen tv on the wall.

Having looked at the recent reviews, i agree the Hotel was hot throughout. That said it was an unusually warm spot of weather we had & the windows themselves open only a few inches at best, (Health & Safety etc).

If your visiting the city centre then its about a mile/mile n half away, or 25 mins walk. Stagecoach buses (service 94) are frequent tho & drop you right in the Montpelier area of Cheltenham which we found a nice area to have a drink.

I will book this place again without hesitation

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AATR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#10 of 23 in Cheltenham
561 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#20 of 23 in Cheltenham
468 reviews
1.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing