We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
high wycombe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly but tired”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Checking in was very quick and the staff very helpful. The maids supplied a few things that we required, ie decaf coffee and a few extra milks, They were very prompt with our request and friendly. Room was adequate enough, thou the whole décor of the hotel is very tired and could do with up dating, our bathroom seem to have a damp smell to it. Breakfast is over at TJI Fridays, which is just next door costing just over £8. A good walk into town, so taxi or car is best. On the whole not a bad stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear you found the team helpful and friendly. All feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to make the changes needed. We hope you do come and stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    259
    112
    29
    13
See reviews for
153
247
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at loads of Premier Inn's little disappointed in this one even though they highlight its close to a train track, i didnt expect the nosie to be so loud from the room.

Also not soap left in the dispenser in the bathrrom and the water pressure was very poor.

Staff service as normal nothing wrong there.

TGI breakfast wasnt the best, service was slow not much stock on the buffet and got the hot order wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front away from the train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayKay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear the trains disturbed your night. I am pleased to be able to tell you we are currently having air conditioning installed so hopefully this will reduce noise levels as the triple glazing wont need to be opened. I will ensure the team are checking the soap dispensers so your experience is not repeated and your comments will be fed back to the Manager at TGI Fridays about breakfast. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope it does not deter you from choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice & clean bed/bathroom well presented, with comfortable chairs etc, lacked enough tea/coffee/milk, not enough to have a drink on arrival & then again in morning before going to breakfast. Would stay again at this or another location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are thrilled you will stay with Premier Inn again in future. Thank you for your feedback. So you know for your future bookings, we always have plenty of extra tea and coffee available from reception so please don’t hesitate to ask for more. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here visiting some friends. The hotel is very no-frills, but it is clean, comfortable and rooms are reasonably sized. I found the restriction of 30 minutes of WIFI frustrating. The breakfast (at the TGI Friday's next door) was good but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good location nearby Cheltinham centre. Good parking and a confortable stay. Staff are ok, could be more chearfull. We noticed that the bedding is not changed on a regular basis, even when dirty. You would need to put your towels on the floor of the bathroom to get fresh ones.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jihad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I apologise that your sheets were not changed during your stay; retraining will be carried out to ensure your experience is not repeated. To ensure we are not cleaning towels unnecessarily we do ask that they be left either in the bath or on the floor if you wish for them to be replaced, this enables us to be more environmentally friendly. We appreciate the feedback you have given and we hope you stay with Premier Inn again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ermington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great Room and reasonable price for 2 night weekend break. Can always rely on Premier Inn to get a good nights sleep. Will avoid eating at TGI's in future, although the service at TGI's was great, the food was less that average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding Cheltenham Central Premier Inn. I have passed your comments on to the restaurant Manager. We are glad you experienced a good stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Comfortable and cosy. Heating and cooling units were being installed at time of our stay so if rooms were a little warm we opened the window which allowed noise from freight trains to be heard in one of our rooms but once the units are installed confident that no noise would be heard. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you experienced a good stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Justyna Jablonska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
1.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
1.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing