We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Here, There and Everywhere
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a very warm night in June. The air con was amazing and staff easily accomodated my request for an additional fan. All the staff we encountered were very polite and helpful. Room was usual Premier Inn fare, comfortable and pretty clean. Only fault was some of the higher shelves and surfaces were dusty, something i tend to pick up on as an ex hotel manager, but not immediately visable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amateurjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologise you found dust on the higher surfaces. Re-training will be carried out with the housekeeping team to ensure that all areas of the rooms are dusted. I am pleased you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    260
    112
    29
    13
See reviews for
155
251
45
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
312 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We try to look out for the good deals on Premier Inn and booked this a while ago, so got it at a good price. The one good thing about booking Premier Inn is that generally you know exactly what you're going to get. As usual the rooms are spotless and plenty big enough. having read previous reviews and also from the web page for this particular "Inn" we phoned a week before we were due to stay to ask for a room not overlooking the railway line. The room we had overlooked the side of TGI Fridays and was a "quiet" room, there was surprisingly little noise from TGI's or the car park. One slight down side was that when the window was open we occasionally got cooking smells wafting into our room (55). This was only a minor inconvenience. So - the room itself - it was on the second floor and had two tub chairs and a normal dining type chair at the desk, there was a large flat screen TV which was wall mounted, not the usual small flat screen which is mounted in the hanging and shelf unit. There was also a wall mounted air conditioning unit, with the fan on this unit running at about half speed the noise wasn't too bad, however if we had run the fan on its maximum setting it would have been too noisy to get to sleep easily. We closed the window at night, but the road is far enough away that road noise with an open window may not have been too intrusive. The bed was the usual with large firm matress, the pillows are a little too soft. The bathroom was also very clean and with plenty of piping hot water, liquid soap and shower lotion. Some other places could learn a lesson from Premier Inn, regarding supplying soap etc.,none of these silly little sachets of shampoo, shower gel, etc., As always the staff were polite and pleasant and offered to book breakfast in the adjacent TGI Friday's, which we declined as I feel the breakfasts are too expensive 0 £6.25 for continental or £8.75 for a full English. OK, I know one can eat as much as one wants, but I really feel this is daylight robbery! Additionally, this must be the worst "Inn" we have stayed at in regards to breakfast times - 7 a.m to 9 a.m. during the week. We like to wander over for breakfast after 9. Whilst I know it's outwith the control of Premier Inn, it's worth adding that TGI's is over priced, uninspiring and a quite depressing experience. Maybe we just ate there on a bad day, but it's difficult to say anything positive about the place, perhaps the reasonably fast service was a positive!!
If based purely on our Premier Inn experience, this review would have attained 5 stars, but the TGI factor reduces the rating to a 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not overlooking the rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am pleased to hear you had a clean and comfortable stay with us here at Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Premier Inn. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as all feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

By booking in advance I got this for a very good price and stayed here on bank holiday weekend in May when the Jazz Festival was on. A bit of a long walk into town along main road but I managed to drive part of the way and park in residential area closer to town and walk from there. Room was comfortable and to usual Premier Inn standard. I didn't use TGI Fridays at all, as ate elsewhere. This is the first Premier Inn where I noticed a high volume of dust under the bed. I honestly don't go down on my hands and knees and check out under the bed (!) but was sitting in chair alongside bed and happened to look down. I don't expect them to vacuum under the bed every day but it looked like it was a long time since they had moved bed out and had a good clean underneath. Other than that place was fine and at price I had no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are close to railway line but it wasn't a busy line. However, freight train i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on our high level of cleanliness and service standards, and I apologise that we failed you on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for bringing this to my attention. I can assure you that changes will be made so that your experience is not repeated. Despite the dust, I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay while attending the Jazz festival. We hope you do stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cost data: 29 pounds prepaid and prebooked for a Sunday night excluding breakfast.

If you use Premier Inn, this is the usual offering. Clean, good value rooms with friendly service. Added bonus of efficient AirCon - very welcome on a hot humid night. The only reason I haven't given it an 'excellent' rating is the fact that we had a room close to the rear side of the adjoining 'TGIF' restaurant (in one of the hotels 'quiet zones'). At 11.30pm, when the restaurant presumably closes, we were woken by the sound of many empty bottles being thrown into a skip, and again in the morning (about 7 am), woken by a van delivery slamming it's doors and making general loading noises. I know Premier Inn can't help the fact that another firm's contractors don't seem to understand the concept of 'spacial awareness', but as there is clearly some link between the two (the breakfast on offer is served at TGIF), then perhaps the manager needs to have a little word in the ear of their counterpart at the restaurant and explain why excessive noise late at night and in the early morning is not really compatible with Premier Inn's 'Good Night's Sleep' promise.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from TGIF as possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are pleased to hear you found the hotel clean and of good value. I do apologise for the noise disturbance caused by TGI Fridays in the evening and in the morning. I will speak with the Manager of the restaurant to ensure we are doing everything possible to ensure your experience is not repeated. I hope this does not deter you from choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a family room at the last minute on Saturday afternoon. Located just outside the town centre next to TGI Fridays. A bit disappointed about the whole experience. First the bed which is much advertised by Lenny Henry, is nothing special, ours was simply a springy mattress. We have an Hypnos mattress at home, and this one was a very poor cousin. The pillows where too soft, had to sleep with two pillows which was still very poor. Only get 30 minutes of free Internet access, other chains give unlimited free Internet access. The only way to purchase drinks and snacks is through a vending machine which was not working.
On the good side, there is free car-parking, and the room was clean and tidy and as air-conditioning, also they guarantee a good night sleep or your money back which we did get.

Room Tip: Take your own snacks and drinks in case vending machine is broke
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise that your stay was not up to the standard that Premier Inn are committed to. All feedback is vital in helping us achieve our promise of a Good Night Guaranteed. Thank you for bringing these points to our attention as it helps us to improve and keep our promise. We do hope this experience doesn’t deter you from choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this Premier Inn recently and found it was up to the usual high standard of Premier Inns. A good spacious room and a comfortable bed a good nights night's sleep.
The location was very good a regular bus service into Cheltenham close by.
A very enjoyable weekend. Would stay there again.
Bootle45

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a good nights sleep! Thank you for sharing such positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Comfortable, clean room of the high standard we usually receive from Premier Inn. Staff friendly & helpful. What spoilt the stay for us was the TGIFriday where we had to have breakfast. The breakfast bar was poorly refreshed towards the end of the breakfast period and on one day guests were having to ask for plates, bowls, muesli, cups, spoons. The staff should be out front keeping an eye on proceedings and not out the back nattering.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am pleased to hear you found the Premier Inn to be of the normal high standard and the team here were friendly and helpful. I will pass your comments on to the Manager of TGI Fridays regarding breakfast so they can make the improvements needed. I am disappointed to hear it spoilt your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it enables us to improve. We hope you continue to choose Premier Inn.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#17 of 22 in Cheltenham
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing