We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Staff rude and uncaring, awful atmosphere, rooms not usual cleanliness and the food as disgusting as the service. Don't stay here!!!! Premier inn staff here really don't care about their guests. The whole place looks run down and the cleanliness is non existent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimmy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Cheltenham North West, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    163
    76
    22
    13
See reviews for
119
162
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend in September, the hotel itself was well up to the standard of other Premier Inns we have stayed at, a big plus was the shower which was a real power shower. The beds were comfortable and the staff were all welcoming and friendly. The downside was the attached Beefeater Restaurant which was the complete opposite, We were party of a party eating on the first evening and when attempting to pay for individual meals one waitress was most accomodating whilst the other merely presented us with the bill and told us to 'sort it out ourselves'. The food itself was edible, just, and needless to say we ate elsewhere on the remaining two nights. Breakfast on our first morning was a complete disaster with people waiting up to an hour for their meal, complaints of cold food, wrong orders and dirty plates were all received with a shrug of the shoulders. We did complain at the time and received a full refund and to be fair the following morning was much, much better however on the third morning the standard add slipped again. There is a Sainsburies store across the road and I would consider using the cafe there for breakfast, likewise there are pubs in the area serving far superior evening meals at similar prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheltenhamWest, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham North West, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and have passed your comments on to the Restaurant General Manager. I look forward to welcoming you back to Cheltenham West Premier Inn. Kind Regards, Kim Macey - Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Typical Premier Inn Room - clean, comfey bed, etc - No problems with the room or reception staff.
Breakfast service VERY poor on the first morning - took 45 mins for them to tell us they had lost the order, then a full English came without the bacon & sausage! Ten minuets to return with the correct order to find the original items were left under the heat lamp - thus a very hard boiled egg not a soft runny poached egg as originally requested! They did apologies and refund the cost.
Second morning MUCH better - Third not bad!
I suppose we were just unfortunate that first morning!

Bar was okay - a little small but not really a problem - only thing is they ran out of one of the handpulled ales on the Sunday afternoon and the other had gone by midway thro' Sunday night - with no replacements ah well!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicka1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheltenhamWest, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham North West, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Cheltenham West Premier Inn. I am glad you found you room clean and comfortable. Please be assured your feedback has been passed on to the Breakfast Team, and we have worked to rectify these issues to ensure they do not happen again. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Many Thanks, Kim Macey - Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

A nice polite welcome with a smile on arrival. The man on reception told us about the hotel facilities. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the adjoining Beefeater was very good (you could have as much as you wanted and the full English was freshly cooked for you). Two people, room and breafast for two nights, £130: hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeR411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheltenhamWest, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham North West, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Cheltenham West Premier Inn, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many Thanks, Kim Macey - Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

An otherwise get hotel ruined by one thing - the rooms are boiling hot.

We stayed on a cool August weekend (it rained a LOT), but even then the room never dropped below 23 C.

Frustratingly, this is by design. Devices have been put on all the windows to stop them opening more than about two inches, so no air can circulate - it's suffocatingly stuffy as well as overheated. When asked, the staff will tell you it's because of some law or other. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and I've never seen this - I can only assume that management has misinterpreted the regulations, much to their cost.

When leaving (we had to leave a day early because of the overheating), we heard other guests with the same complaint who made the exact same complaint we did with the same suggestion - let the windows open, like a normal hotel, and this hotel would be just excellent.

Faultless apart from the windows. Don't stay in summer.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Planktonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel to break up our long journey from Middlesbrough to Cardiff.
On arrival we where checked in promptly and told of the facilities on offer. The room was large and very clean. We ate at the ajoining restaurant the Beefeater Cross Lands and were not disappointed. The quality of food was excellent as was the service.
On arrival we were offered the option of booking breakfast for the two nights we were staying. We did so and again this hotel with its great staff delivered to please once again. Lovely food with brands you know. In fact I would go so far as saying this was probably one of the best breakfast offers I have ever had in the UK.
I have stayed at plenty of Premier Inns and have always declined the breakfast offer but no more after sampling it. Again it was served by staff that really went out of their way to please.
Whoever is managing this branch of Premier Inn needs a pat on the back - you really are doing a great job leading a team of people who really care - a MASSIVE well done

This next point is really for the company - Can we have a small fridge in the rooms? You provide tea and coffee facilities but who these using UHT milk!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanallick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This has got to be the hottest hotel i have ever been in, at 4am it was 82 degrees in our room. The small fan they provided which we had on all night and the window being open did not seem to make any difference at all. This hotel definately needs air conditioning.
The room and hotel itself were very clean and staff we very helpful. Cost of room was refunded under the good night guarentee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#19 of 22 in Cheltenham
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham North West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham North West

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
Address: Tewkesbury Road | Uckington, Cheltenham GL51 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham North West 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step straight out into this beautiful city with its museums, shops and famous Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham North West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham West Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing