We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over and above” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“over and above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at cotswold grange hotel last week for two nights what a lovely hotel the staff were welcoming helpful a wonderful room we had a problem with an offer but my i say the owners were very quick to resolve. my i thank you and your staff once again. ian.& theresa portsmouth

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mainman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We’re happy you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Grange and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    143
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
244
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

After a very busy start to the year we decided to take an overnight break in Cheltenham. Near the scenic Cotswolds and within walking distance of the buzzing town we thought we'd planned well. Upon arrival it was instantly apparent that the hotel echos of former glory.

Beautifully proportioned down stairs rooms though were dressed with dated furniture and decor and work was under way to a bar area which of course was out of service.
We were given the key to room 4, front of house,only so thought we were in for a treat as we'd seen the website photos. What a disappointment...1950s style furniture and pretty awful bedding/decor. We asked for a change of room which wasn't overly welcomed.

Given the key to 29 we went into another wing which was freezing. The room was better, clearly one of the few refurbished ones but it was so tiny you could just walk around the bed. Being in the basement meant it was dark and dreary. The bathroom was awful, beige melamine walls and beige and brown tiling, like something from the 70s.
When I asked if that was the best choice I was told my expectations were too high. Frankly I think theirs are too low.

The rate was £115, we paid £75 through late rooms but that was still way too high for this level of accommodation. We do weekend breaks often so had lots to compare this to. The proprietors were unprofessional and very defensive which didn't help. We didn't stay and felt we'd rather lose the money than feel cramped in a tiny, dark room with a grotty bathroom.
Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere until this hotel has managed to a) work on professionalising its staff and b) get completely up to date with its refurbishments.

Room Tip: Wait until all rooms and bathrooms have been refurbished so you aren't disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Sorry you were disappointed with your experience.

We acquired the property relatively recently and have made progress on refurbishment with several bedrooms now complete. The Bar has now been refurbished and offers a very pleasant environment in which to relax with a drink – unfortunately the works did take longer than envisaged and we’re sorry it wasn’t available at the time of your visit as we had originally thought it would be.

We were happy to let you see another available room after you said that the first room allocated to you wasn’t to your taste. When we subsequently discussed your expectations it was clear that we didn’t have a room available that would satisfy all your wants. Our feeling at the time was that your expectations more clearly aligned to a boutique hotel and that the rates you should expect to pay in Cheltenham would be double our charges. Sorry we were not able to reach a satisfactory compromise with you.

You arrived on a particularly cold day well before our normal check-in time of 2:30pm and unfortunately the heating was just starting up at the time so hadn’t fully warmed the hotel.

What we presently provide is clean comfortable accommodation in a great location (half a mile from the High Street yet in a tranquil tree-lined avenue) with a restaurant, bar, free on-site car parking, and free broadband Wi-Fi internet access – and taking all this in to account we believe that we offer good value for money in Cheltenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were a group of 6 couples coming to Cheltenham for our annual 'get-together' at the races. We chose Cotswold Grange because a) it offers a Saturday night only on race weekend (more and more hotels now only do a Fri/Sat package), b) it is walkable to the racecourse as well as into town, and c) it has its own free parking.
The hotel is a lovely Georgian house but as others have said, is currently being updated. As such, our bedroom was nicely done but the bathroom remained a dingy homage to the 1970s! Clean, though, and with a good powerful shower, albeit a 'wetroom' affair, which managed to completely soak the whole bathroom. The room was a little cold at night, would benefit from customer-controlled thermostats.
The corridors, stairs etc are still waiting for a facelift, so a little jaded. The bar was closed for refurbishment, so the hotel served drinks in the dining room. This was OK but meant we drank a glass of pre-dinner wine whilst standing up - wine was also v expensive (ask beforehand!). Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice.
The staff were friendly and fairly attentive - this hotel has potential once it's been renovated, so long as they don't join the Cheltenham trend for hiking up to extortionate prices.
At £110 per room, incl breakfast and parking, we were overall very pleased and would stay here again on a similar trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Our group was on the basement level, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pic0pic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Great to read that you were very pleased overall with your stay at Cotswold Grange. We’re happy that you like the changes we are making with the refurbishment and that you enjoyed our cooked-to-order full breakfast. We’re glad you found staff friendly and attentive – we always strive to build a good rapport with our guests.

There are indeed thermostats in the room to control temperature – in some of the rooms which have radiator covers the thermostats are accessed via a small hatch.

Sorry the Bar wasn’t available at the time of your stay – the work has now been completed and a relaxing environment has been created with comfortable seating and nice lighting – perfect for a drink or two.

We do have a good selection of wines available – from the House Red / White starting at £18 per bottle or £4.50 per glass; with the majority of wines priced below £30.

We look forward to welcoming your group again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for one night recently. Situated in a peaceful area with beautiful buildings. Plenty of parking and only a ten minute walk into the town centre - which has plenty of shops and restaurants.

Disappointed not to be given a renovated room as requested but told we had been upgraded. Our upgraded room included bunk beds for some reason, it was clean but very old fashioned. The bathroom was a small clean partioned area of the room, that did not match the lovely high ceilings of the bedroom. The bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was tasty and served in the dining room that has been updated. However so much more could be made of this shutter windowed room. The bar was being renovated during our stay, so I really hope it gets it's warm red wall, rugs, mirrors and comfy squashy chairs it deserves.

If you never notice wall decoration around you, or the fabrics you are sitting upon, then do stay at this hotel - especially if you want easy access to Cheltenham town centre or racecourse.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candylanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Glad you experienced what Cotswold Grange has to offer - clean comfortable accommodation in a great location (half a mile from the High Street yet in a tranquil tree-lined avenue; a mile from the Racecourse) with a great cooked-to-order full breakfast.

The room you were given was actually a family room – the bunk beds are particularly popular with children.

We are working through the refurbishment and have some exciting plans to finish off the dining room and make it an even more attractive setting where guests can experience the grand proportions (4 metre high ceilings) and other beautiful period details.

We’re happy to inform that our new Bar is now open and we do have the comfy squashy chairs you hoped for – we even have a dash of red in there with some of our seating – we think you’ll like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed there for a night: Very dated single room, quite small, very dated bathroom. Staff friendly, but definitely more on a B&B-level than on hotel-level (I had to give the exact time when I wanted to collect my luggage because they wanted to close in the afternoon). Not inexpensive.
Had dinner there, and I would not recommend the rather leathery steak I had. Breakfast served in sittings, not very sumptious. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Sorry the room wasn’t to your taste. You did book a single room and this is exactly what was allocated – another option for more space is to book a double room for single occupancy which is available at a slightly higher rate (normally £10-15 more)

The day of the week that you checked out was a Sunday and we tend to utilise the afternoon for a little break if feasible – this is why we needed to know when you wanted to collect your left luggage (a facility we are happy to provide for our guests convenience)

Sorry the steak was not the way you wanted it – had you communicated this to us – the chef would have put right any issue. The meat is actually sourced from an award-winning local butcher who supplies many of the top eateries in Cheltenham.

On Sunday mornings we do have two sittings for breakfast and do this to ensure we don’t have a scenario where everyone comes at the same time which can lead to much longer waiting times. We ask guests for their preferred breakfast slot and they may come anytime within that slot – the breakfast time runs up to 10 am on these busy mornings – this arrangement works perfectly well with most of our guests.

Glad you liked our location – in a tranquil tree-lined avenue yet only half a mile away from the centre of town – it is one of the best locations of any hotel in Cheltenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
182 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We had cancelled our booking at the cheaper Big Sleep due to the poor car parking facilities and had booked this hotel, which was actually closer to the venue that we were going to. We chanced our luck and arrived at 1.00pm, an hour before normal check-in and the proprietor was charming and allowed us into the room.

You have to realise that this is not the boutique type of hotel or the Travel Inn type of hotel. It is set in a grand Georgian building, lovely high ceilings, large original doors and other fixtures. The room we stayed in was nicely decorated, fixtures were dated but suited the building - what do you expect in a periuod property. bathroom was new and the whole room was warm, extremely clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was extremely good with a choice of cerials, fruit and yoghurts - fried breakfast with choice of eggs or smoked haddock, or porridge or boiled eggs etc. Service was friendly and helpful.

We had booked using Late Rooms and our room was £82 - the standard price on the desk for our room was £105. We felt we had good value and we enjoyed staying at this lovely period hotel only 15 mins walk from the town centre. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BladderedBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Great to read you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Grange and felt you had good value for money. As you mention one of the many advantages we have is ample forecourt car parking which many other hotels in Cheltenham do struggle to provide. We also get many favourable comments about our breakfasts – thanks for your feedback we’ll pass on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed on business on 19th October, one night only.
The staff are welcoming, the rooms comfortable and clean, and the food was excellent.
It came recommended and I would have to agree.
Its about a 10 / 15 minute walk into the main shopping area, but a small price for a peacefull nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thanks for your comments. We are popular with business travellers particularly because we offer free Wi-Fi and a full cooked-to-order breakfast. Our location as you mention is very convenient for the main shopping area yet we’re on a peaceful road. As you mention we are a family-run business and do strive to build a good rapport with our guests. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing