We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night with a gift voucher.
However after leaving we later discovered that we had left the voucher at home! I was pleasantly surprised that this caused no problems when we arrived at the hotel (having previously given the voucher no's when I made the booking) and the staff were friendly and accommodating.
Our voucher included dinner and breakfast - the food was gorgeous ! everything was full of flavour. Our room was a little small (in the basement level) but clean and presentable. Parking was good and the walk into town a little far but manageable,the road was quiet and leafy. We would think of returning to this hotel if we came back to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzybear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Glad you enjoyed your meals at Cotswold Grange – we have a very capable and versatile head chef. Although the rooms in the side annex are compact they have been designed for all conveniences having flat screen TVs; a writing desk; hospitality tray; stool; bedside tables and lamps – and in most cases are comfortable for short stays. We would be happy to welcome you back for another stay at Cotswold Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    152
    76
    25
    13
See reviews for
72
271
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

From other reviews about this hotel, I gathered that the secret is to get a good room. Well, we were lucky - we had a lovely room. The only drawback is that once you get beyond the reception, dining and bar area, the decor is in need of updating and our room was no exception. I read on another review that the hotel has been taken over fairly recently over by a couple and we could therefore reasonably assume that it is a work in progress and that in time, the whole hotel will look as good as the ground floor.

As other reviewers have remarked, location is in a quiet residential area which means no noise at nights. It is also only a short walk into the city in one direction and a short walk to Pittville Park in the opposite direction.

We found the staff very friendly and obliging, a refreshing change from the formulaic approach of the chain hotels. The breakfast experience was good, with a comprehensive range of choices and beautifully cooked and presented hot food.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I would love to visit when the decor has been brought fully up to date!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your comments – we are working through an exciting refurbishment program – glad you liked what we have done with the bar and dining room on the ground floor - we will be doing a few more rooms over the next few months – do come and stay with us again to see what has changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I used the Cotswold Grange in readiness for a business meeting early the next day and i am delighted with my choice.

Set in its own grounds in a leafy road in the attractive Pitville area of town this tidy hotel has smart rooms, good quality bedding and fitments and an air of class.

It will be my hotel of choice for all future trips to Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Book through late rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks for your comments – we’re very happy that you were delighted with what we offer at Cotswold Grange – a period property in a wonderful location on a tranquil tree-lined avenue with comfortable bedrooms. The property was once a grand private residence and has many interesting and imposing features such as the main cantilevered staircase and very high ceilings on the ground floor. Thanks for making Cotswold Grange your hotel of choice in Cheltenham and we would always suggest contacting us directly to get the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it was a surprise booked by my partner.we were impressed by the photos on website which represent the bedrooms as nicely decorated in a contemporary,boutique style. This is NOT the case at least for the two rooms we saw. The reception rooms downstairs are lovely and the grand exterior and entrance made us feel that it was a 4star hotel and had no reason to think the bedrooms would be any different. We were given our key and on entering the room, we were quite shocked. I feel that as regular travellers we have a good idea of what 4 star accommodation should be and this is not it. The room was very bare. There was a bed, a dark wooden bar-type table with 2 old chairs. There were also 2 extra beds, like bunk beds, so it was a family room rather than a double.The bathroom was much nicer than the bedroom and looked modern and fresh.Everything was clean but it was very bare and basic.The bed had no pretty cushions or plush bed throw,just a very faded floral cover but as I said,the duvet, pillows and sheet were pristine. The walls were yellow woodchip and had a floral border around the top of the room. The bathroom and bunkbeds had been built into the room in a strange way and the partition walls did not reach the ceiling so was like an extra boxed off section sitting oddly at the end of our room.Overall it felt like we were staying in an empty bar due to the dark wood,bar at one side and wallpaper. It needs furnishing and updating to make it a 4 star,comfortable room which is up to the standard of the reception rooms. We were hoping for a romantic double room in a luxury hotel but were sadly disappointed. Because we had seen lovely rooms on the website,we thought we would ask if it was possible to see another and swap as our room was not what we'd hoped for.we were given keys to a room in a newer part of the hotel which was decorated in a more contemporary style but the view was below the ground level so just a grass hill and the room was tiny. The bathroom had brown tiles with an accessible shower. We had already paid so stayed in the original room as it was bigger with a nice bathroom. Neither room was representative of what we had seen on the website. Also,though another room was offered,the problem was not discussed further and our concerns addressed. I just feel that the website misrepresents the rooms and has picked and chosen the better bedrooms and bathrooms to depict. If the hotel is being renovated,the website should reflect that some rooms,charged at the same rate as others,are not all the same standard. The breakfast was lovely and the hotel was clean but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddyrol22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Sorry you were disappointed with your room - we do have a range of rooms which we do try to convey on the website – you can always express a preference at the time of booking and we’ll do our best to allocate the preferred room. We did offer you another room decorated in a more contemporary style but you declined as you wanted the larger bedroom on the first floor. We’re not sure what more we could have done ‘to address your concerns’.

Our tariffs reflect where we are at the moment with our product (we do not charge boutique / luxury room rates) and in offering clean comfortable ensuite rooms in a great location with a restaurant; bar; on-site car parking; free broadband Wi-Fi internet access; and garden – we believe that we present good value for money in Cheltenham assessed against other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in a double room and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were tastefully done., very modern, bright and airy and the bed's huge and very comfortable. Only problem really with the room was that the bathroom was a little bit old and needed re decorating but otherwise was clean with a good shower. Staff there were nice, and breakfast was lovely. Would stay again!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Happy that we exceeded your expectations and that you liked our new bedrooms – the bathroom is still in the older style - however it is very functional and as you say there is a good shower. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cotswold Grange in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a small villa type house converted into hotel and run by a young couple. They are very courteous and so are the remaining staff.

The hotel is located in a peaceful residential area (gets eerily calm at nights) but is a bit of a walk from the town centre.

The food is quite decent but beware the chef doesn't work on Sundays, instead the lady who runs the hotel does the cooking (which wasnt bad at all)

Rooms are clean and well appointed. The bed is very cozy and comfortable. I wouldnt mind going back at all.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor. The other choice is in the basement which I wouldnt prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Glad you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the good service and peaceful location we offer. All our food is actually prepared by the Chef – on Sundays and Mondays we have a smaller menu with comfort food such as fishcakes; lamb tagine; chicken curry on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We came to Cheltenham for a bit of a pampering before taking part in Race for Life. The hotel had been booked by my brother for me as an early birthday treat and he had gone by the hotels website to see the standard of the rooms. He thought he had booked a nice little boutique type hotel but when we arrived and saw our room we were sadly disappointed. We rang reception immediately and asked if we could change rooms but were told that this would not be possible. We could not leave and go elsewhere as the money had already been paid. THe photos of the bedrooms on the website are misleading as there is much of the hotel that is out of date and desperately in need of a refurb. The furniture and decor is out of the 1970's apart from the public areas - hall and bar are very nice and most of the dining area but attention to detail is lacking such as the radiator covers, table cloths etc. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly but bar prices were a little on the high side. Generally it presented itself more as a B & B rather than a hotel. I would't go back unless they addressed their pricing for the poorer rooms or redecorated them to an up to date modern standard like they have done in the bar area.

Room Tip: Make sure you are no where near the top floor or in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinksmiffy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Sorry you were disappointed with your room – we do have a range of rooms which we do try to convey on the website – you can always express a preference at the time of booking and we’ll do our best to allocate the preferred room. It was not possible to show you another room on the day as we were fully booked and all our guests had already checked-in.

Our tariffs do reflect where we are at the moment with our product and in offering clean comfortable ensuite rooms in a great location with a restaurant; bar; on-site car parking; free broadband Wi-Fi internet access; and garden – we believe that we present good value for money in Cheltenham assessed against other hotels.

We do hope to see you again at Cotswold Grange as we’re working through an exciting refurbishment program (glad you liked the new bar) and making improvements all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing