We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Don't very often write reviews but thought I would for this hotel. We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and found it very nice indeed. I'd read many reviews on this hotel before booking and found they are all very mixed. The hotel is a little dated, but it's in a house dating back to 1830s so would be a little odd if it was all modern. We had a room in the extension to the side of the hotel and found it very nice. We ate at the hotel on our first night and it was very nice indeed and it was only bar food that we could have as the restaurant wasn't open that evening, with the bar food being great I'm sure the restaurant food is lovely too and as for breakfast it was lovely.

The owners were very helpful whenever we asked them something they had the answers for us. We had two very peaceful nights sleep in a very comfortable king size bed with lovely clean white bedding that smelt fantasic, along the the towels all fresh and clean.

Thank you for a lovely two nights and for being helpful.

Room Tip: Extension rooms are very nice and we found them very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki1965186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    143
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
244
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We found the website very deceiving. We booked the hotel for our weeks holiday expecting something very different having been on the website. When we arrived, first impressions were that of a very dated hotel. The very old dull carpet on the narrow stairs, and landings, did not lead an enthusiastic path to our room, and once in the room, the impression did not improve. The room itself needed curtains that fitted, so we didnt have to put a pillow there to stop the draft. The bathroom suite was so old, it had black water mould round the edge of the bath, tiles cracked, grout missing, and black mould on the ceiling. If the whole of Cheltenham hadnt been booked up, we most certainly would have moved immediately.
The one possitive to our stay however, was the breakfast was good, and the dining area was clean. Also, the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are looking on the website, request a room you see on the website, and also an updated bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I realise we are going to pay over the odds in Cheltenham when there's a race meeting on, but £169 per night is really taking the mickey! Our room wasn't too bad, although there are a lot of stairs to contend with, however our friends were unfortunately staying for 2 x nights in a dismal room which was desperately in need of some decent bedding and curtains and a new bathroom! Next doors shower made a noise like a hoover!
The breakfast was good!

Room Tip: Basement rooms have been re-furbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was our third stay and as always a good one, having asked for a larger bed we were pleased to be given one, and very comfortable it was too. The breakfast choice is not extensive but more than adequate and enjoyable. Since our first stay some three years ago work has been carried out to the hotel and on the whole a good job has been made of it. I would recommend this hotel for a number of reasons one of which is having plenty of parking, another is its situation regards ease of walking into the town center as well as the obvious reasons of cleanliness, nice food, plus good service all at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor has newer freshly decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a fine old building which seems at one time to have been converted into a hotel. It looks like it has recently undergone a re-vamp and personally, I feel its such a shame that the bold use of dark colours around the place doesn't work. the bar in particular has dark purple and greys and isn't a very relaxing place to be. the room was at best average as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed one night here for our anniversary. Excellent little hotel, immaculately presented and nice decor. Great staff, very polite and helpful. The hotel provided a very nice cooked to order breakfast and had it's own small bar. Bedroom was spacious and well equipped, but we found the bed a little too soft! Overall, very nice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed at the Cotswold Grange Hotel (though I thought it more of a nice B&B) for one night. The Hotel looks very pretty from the outside and it's walking distance to the town centre. We ate out in the evening so I can't comment on the evening meal. The room was very nicely decorated but I thought the bathroom a little dated (the paneling behind the toilet/basin looked old fashioned), I didn't really mind though as the room was warm and the bed was comfortable. We found the breakfast was nice, cooked to order and served fairly quickly. Check in and out was easy enough and the staff were very polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing