We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Chester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good location”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is in a lovely and quiet location close to the town center and the Pittville Park. It is a little dated in places but none the worse for that. There's a lot of stairs up to the top floor but once there the bedroom was OK with a bath/shower. The latter excellent.The double bed however was slightly small and the duvet too thick for summer. We removed it and just used the cover as a sheet with the bedspread if needed. The room was actually a family room with 2 single beds in a small offshoot room. The pillows were great.
Breakfast was very good: an excellent range of choices with good service. The porridge was much appreciated. And the tea/coffee/biscuits in the room were good quality and we were well supplied.
Can't comment on the other meals as we ate in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you can cope with: few stairs or lots. Warm room or cool (Up or down).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    147
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
69
256
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were very disappointed to find out that our standard double room was located in the basement in what must have been the servants' quarters in the past. The room had recently been redecorated and the furniture was nice, apart from the very hard and uncomfortable mattress.
The bathroom was very basic, there was no shower cabin or bath, just a shower curtain. You had to stand on the bare stones for a shower. Very uncomfortable.
The breakfast was very ice though, with quite a lot of choice, and served in a beautiful room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkraspberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This place was fabulous from the moment we stepped in the door. After a grubby start in kensington, London, this was a breath of fresh air. The room was clean, fresh and very comfy. Staff were very helpful, and breakfast was yummy. What a lovely English experience. Well priced too - we travelled with two young (11,7) children

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We wanted a lovely hotel with character for a one night stay while we attended a concert at the Cheltenham Centaur. Location-wise, we couldn't have chosen much better as the hotel was a mere 5 minutes away from the venue and had a very convenient private car park as well. Our room was lovely, very clean and comfortable and following the concert we had a great night's sleep followed by a well-cooked and plentiful breakfast. The staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful, giving us loads of information about directions, parking in town, where to eat and suchlike. I also felt the price was very good value. Overall I think we made a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I've just spent a week at the Cotswold Grange on business in the area and I can't recommend it enough. The building is stunning, the service is excellent and the food is outstanding. If you want a modern hotel with modern decor then go elsewhere, if you want to experience a grand old building with period features, good food and friendly service then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haderslev, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed three nights at Cotswold Grange and enjoyed the hospitality, nice food and atmosphere. The location is in one of the best living areas of Cheltenham and very central with only 15 minutes walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keller N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way back up north from Bristol. I found the hotel on the Internet and I have to say we were a little disappointed when we checked in, but I think we just had high expectations from the photographs on the website. We were aware that the family rooms were of a more traditional decor and ours was, so we can't really complain on that. The king size bed was huge and very comfortable and the bunk beds were ok. Our teenage kids thought the 'sun shine' lights were hysterically funny. I think younger children would have been more appreciative! The bathroom was ok, but had a very dated look. Plenty of hot water and complimentary toiletries, so again nothing much to complain about. We all slept very well, it was not noisy and our room had a nice view at the back of the building. Breakfast was very good. We were served by the owner who was friendly enough, but was obviously busy so didn't have time to chit chat or give us any information on the local area. It would have been nice if she had stopped to chat to the guests more. There was plenty of choice on offer and we were asked whether we wanted tea, coffee, toast etc. All in all, we would probably return but maybe book into the newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is in a great location and it is a nice 20 minute walk into town.

Room Tip: Remember that not all of the rooms have been refurbished, so please don't be too disappointed if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing