We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
285
191
87
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
191
87
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteltown centrea quiet residential areawalk in showerwet roomleave the cartop floorunderfloor heatingplenty of parkingfirst floora lovely staypittville parkgreat bathroomnice breakfastsmall roomcomfortable roomno lift
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Cotswold Grange was chosen by us primarily because it was in easy walking distance of Cheltenham Racecourse, where we attending the Greenbelt Arts Festival. Whilst the price was reasonable we were clear we were paying for a bit of luxury too.
Wandering into the hotel initially I was a bit underwhelmed, the immediate feeling was the hotel was a bit dated. Over the course of the week that feeling diminished and the true nature of the place was able to shine through.
The hotel is luxury because of it's two outstanding features - the attention to detail in cleaning and the quality of the food.
The bathroom wasn't just cleaned each day, it was cleaned to the highest standard I think I've ever seen with little touches such as the end of the toilet roll being tucked in in a decorative manner. I felt pampered through the little signs of attention to detail I could see.
The breakfasts were filling with a good choice, as well as the buffet items to start with the range of cooked choices varied from the more traditional full English to American pancakes with syrup.
The classical music played during the breakfast period gave a gentle feel to the atmosphere.
The ethos of the hotel was clearly it was an oasis of calm and the early closing of the bar each night reflected this. Coming in at 11:30 you knew you had to be considerate to others, it encouraged good behaviour. Yet it didn't think we should all be in bed early, a blackboard was left out letting us know the times of breakfast the next morning.
So yes, it is a bit old fashioned but that is the beauty of the place which shines out once you get beyond the décor, it gives good old fashioned service and is clearly based upon good, old fashioned ideas of consideration for others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your glowing review of the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visit here, as you found out from observations following your recent stay with us, we like to make every effort to maintain high standards and quality service which we are known for, and we’re delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering all our guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future and please do enjoy a drink on us in our Cotswold bar.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a lovely 2-night break at the Cotswold Grange; it was peaceful and relaxing, the bed in our room on the first floor was enormous and very comfy. Yes the building is an older property, but had character and charm. The hotel was clean and bright and the staff accommodating, helpful and friendly. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel - both were excellent. Service was of a high standard in the restaurant and breakfast room & discreet which we liked. Thank you and we hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lms212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

I am very pleased to read your wonderful review of your holiday with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham and would like to personally thank you for choosing our hotel above the many options available in Cheltenham – we’re so glad you appreciate the special unique charm of Cotswold Grange.

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and facilities. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery Cotswold Grange is renowned for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Once again, thank you for recommending Cotswold Grange on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back with a drink at our Cotswold Bar.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent - just the type of accommodation we were looking for. Friendly staff, superb breakfast, comfortable room and great location with good parking. Highly recommended for entrants in the Prescott Hill Climb - safe parking for cherished cars. Several entrants staying at the same time as us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 551613Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your glowing review of the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham. We’re in a great location for the Prescott Hill Climb – just a short drive away – and we often have the pleasure of welcoming car enthusiasts.
Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and facilities.

We strives to be the best value and friendliest hotel in Cheltenham. It sounds like you noticed this during your stay. We take great pride in our work and we enjoy engaging each and every one of our guests.

Your comments are very much appreciated and I will certainly ensure that they are shared with the team here.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we do hope that you will join us in the bar for a drink on us the next time you visit the Cotswolds.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel, which is fairly close to the town centre, is run by very friendly and efficient staff, our room was a bit old fashioned but nice, and our breakfast was really well cooked and there was a good choice. Would definitely go there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham.

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular your acknowledgement of the quality of the hotel's facilities and services extended to you.

Here at the Cotswold Grange we strives to uphold the highest possible standards in everything we do and is reflected in the wonderfully positive feedback we have been fortunate to receive.

Once again, thank you for recommending Cotswold Grange on Trip Advisor, we hope so see you in the near future and please next time you have a drink on us.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a pity about this hotel...it has a great location with, excellent car parking. The staff are lovely, the breakfast is just first class with simply no skimping. Nice quality bath towels and comfy beds (albiet a little small), but it is so tired looking and has that neglected feel about it, with old furniture that needs replacing, and old carpets...what a shame...it could be a real gem, if it had more investment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews