We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light and bright”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Fentons Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Light and bright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very light room, awful bed equals a very poor nights sleep. Met on arrival and shown to room. Decided to eat in. Meal acceptable. Wifi did not work in bedroom, only in bar. Breakfast was less than appealing. Did not have full breakfast after watching other diners meals arrive. We chose to go elsewhere for our second night in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: You will need sat nav to find the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that there were aspects of your experience with our restaurant that did not meet your expectations, however as you can read from previous reviews our food has had many wonderful comments, is freshly made onsite by our head chef and much of it is brought local from the Cotswolds / Gloucestershire . I would like to express my personal apologies that you left the hotel feeling dissatisfied but I would suggest had you discussed with us during your stay I’m sure we could have resolved to your satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to Cotswold Grange Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Holly Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    145
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
252
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This B and B was absolutely lovely. The room was spacious and well laid out and the building overall was lovely.
The staff were so friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was lovely.
Overall very impressed with the hotel and we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
I am very pleased to read your wonderful review of your small break with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham and would like to personally thank you for choosing our hotel above the many options available in Cheltenham.

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and facilities. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service that Cotswold Grange is well known for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Once again, thank you for recommending Cotswold Grange on Trip Advisor, we hope so see you in the near future and please next time you have a drink on us.

Many thanks
Holly Elizabeth Naser
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a beautifully restored mansion in the heart of Cheltenham - close to the main restaurants and amenities. It is owned by a hospitable couple who care for the needs of visitors. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The bed was a dream.... I have seldom slept this well while I am travelling. The Inn was being used for a business function when we were there, and the reception was being catered by the owners..... flexible and competent. The breakfast in the morning, was the usual English breakfast, but was prepared and served nicely.

This accommodation is worth booking.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking lot were fine. Noise from the street was minimal as this Inn is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham and for your kind acknowledgements of our hotel, and our high level of customer service provided by our team.

We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service which we are well known for, and we’re delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you the near future and please have a drink on us the next time you visit.

Best Wishes
Holly Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Not impressed with the town itself. Very hard to navigate around town. Glad we only stayed 1 night. Hotel was charming. Very old but rooms were clean and spacious for England standards. Breakfast was nice and prices in the bar were average.

Room Tip: Not sure what the upstairs rooms were like but we were in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubble914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our hotel and facilities to your satisfaction. I would like to add that we would have been happy to highlight all the great things that Cheltenham has to offer – from the great Regency architecture to the boutique shopping and wonderful parks.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Best Wishes

Holly Naser
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We chose this hotel for its close proximity to town, a pleasant 15 minute walk. Also close to Cheltenham Racecourse, steam railway and Pittville Park. The hotel is a large period property with original features but a little tired in places. We were disappointed with our room which was in the basement, presumably the former servants' quarters, the approach to which was gloomy and slightly run-down. Our standard double room was very small and, although prettily furnished, was dark, with one small window, the view from which was the surface of the adjacent road! We needed the lights on most of the time.The bathroom was in need of up-dating with dark brown tiles wet-room style, which proved to be the case because with only a shower curtain which didn't reach the floor, everything got wet, unfortunate for the next person in the bathroom using the oddly placed toilet. Cleaning was done, but the bathroom was missed on one day with talc still on the floor and toiletries not replaced. On the positive side the dining room was light and airy and breakfasts were quality and plentiful. Staff were rather quiet but helpful when asked, the owner in particular was very reserved.

Room Tip: Rooms 21-30 are in the basement, ask for one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we do appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham and for your nice comments of our hotel building and quality breakfasts.

As a small privately run hotel we are well known for our warm hospitality and focus on customer service.

Please be assured that I have discussed your feedback with my team to remedy any shortcomings.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Cotswold Grange is a charming hotel in a central location with good parking facilities. Clean and comfy with excellent food and friendly staff, recommended hotel as it is family run so informal quiet and calm with a sweet ,sunny garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, we make every effort and take pride in maintaining high standards of housekeeping service which Cotswold Grange is well known for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Furthermore I’m fully pleased you enjoyed our restaurant food we’ve worked hard to design a seasonal menu and source some good quality produce from the Gloucestershire area.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future and please do enjoy a drink on us in our cosy bar.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing