We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, spacious rooms, noisy...”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, spacious rooms, noisy...”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at the George for three nights, on business. It was the first time we had visited Cheltenham, and the hotel proved a good base for our trip.

Happily, we were upgraded to a superior room, on the first floor. The room had plenty of space, was newly refurbished, with all of the usual facilities. Complementary bottles of water were a nice touch, as was the huge bathroom. If you're a light sleeper, steer clear though. The single glazed windows, busy road out front and lots of Students on Sunday night made for a rather noisy night. The doors also slam on every hotel room, so pack your ear plugs!

Breakfast was in 'Montys'. We chose not to eat in Montys for dinner as the prices were pretty steep, and it looked a little but too formal / quiet for our liking. The cooked breakfast was average. Scrambled eggs tasted a bit strange, but the smoked salmon was good. Stick to the cold buffet and you'll be grand. Service was very attentive.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the back if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    208
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
38
313
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have stayed here twice now the first time in a junior suite the second time in a standard room. Both were lovely well decorated and well laid out. All the staff are really polite and helpful and have a good knowledge of the area. Breakfast is first class. Drinks are a little expensive but nothing out of the ordinary for a town centre hotel. Location is really good very close to the town. Def go again and would recommend

Room Tip: Pay the extra the suites are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1-Sharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here. Really liked the room, comfy and spacious. Bathroom bigger and better than we expected. Ate in Monty's and thought it was all very good. Lots of fish. Sweets worth a try as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Attended a 40th birhday do at this hotel in August 2012, a group of 15 ladies. We had a private dining room and all stayed one night (Saturday) sharing twin rooms. The rooms were very comfortable, bathroom clean and the whole hotel is smartly furnished. The food was fantastic and all the staff were really friendly and helpful, making it a special weekend. They even baked my friend a birthday cake (which was delicious)! Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice. We also enjoyed Monty’s later in the night as well, live music made for a great atmosphere.

We got a really competitive 'group rate' including our rooms, breakfast, evening meal and a free cocktail which overall worked out as very good value for money. The hotel's central location also makes it great for a short weekend break as its very close (5 mins walk) to Cheltenham's shops, bars etc.

Overall a really good hotel, handy location, friendly staff and very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed Jubilee weekend on one of the many varied packages which the hotel offers. Parking at the rear of the hotel, as advised when booking, first impressions were not good, entering through a service entrance and squeezing past bags of laundry to climb a steep staircase to reception. Things did improve after that though. We had a Deluxe room which was well appointed and the bathroom in particular was super. If the room had been any smaller though we would have felt cramped so we were pleased we upgraded.

The complimentary dinner in Montys was a delight and it is genuinely complimentary as you can have anything off the menu even the most expensive dishes. Our waiter thoughtfully moved us to a quieter table when a party next to us became a little rowdy which was a nice touch. There was live entertainment in the downstairs bar afterwards which rounded the evening off nicely.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down service wise. The food was great but even though the room was only half full we waited well over 30 minutes for it to arrive on both days we stayed. A complete contrast to the superb service we received at dinner the previous evening.

As others have noticed you have to pay a service charge on the value of the free meal which seemed a bit odd but is obviously their policy, and also we were initially charged for items which were included free in our package although this was quickly amended when we pointed it out. They have so many different packages with different elements the staff must get confused as to what is included and what is extra.

I would happily return to this hotel and recommend it to others. If some of these minor issues could be addressed it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have stayed here a number of times over the past few years and find that for a busy town centre hotel it maintains its' standards remarkably well. We usually take a mini-suite, but all the rooms appear to be well appointed. Breakfasts, included in the room price, are generous and very good. Parking outside the door is a real boon. On top of all this, the attached Monty's Bistro offers delicious and really enterprising food. There may well be other good hotels in Cheltenham, but as long as these standards continue we'll continue to be well looked after at the George.

Room Tip: Try to use the special offers,particularly Sunday night, to upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My partner booked this hotel as we wanted to have a one night break towards the end of the school holidays (17/08/12), and what a choice she made....absolutely first class...reception and check in was very quick, the room was a small double rear facing and big enough for our needs..the bathroom was clean and modern...the room was a little on the hot side but as we are having a very clammy/muggy period of weather in the UK, this was understandable but with an electric fan to use, we overcame that issue..
There were a few spaces for off road parking directly in front of the hotel but I can imagine its first come first served, however there is a pay n display straight opposite and also one behind the hotel..
Walking into town was about five minutes and a magnificent place it was..
Our only gripe and very minor which had nothing to do with the hotel was that the museum and art gallery was shut for rebuilding..
Superb hotel, would defo stay again and probably will do in the winter...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing