We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The George Cheltenham”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The George Cheltenham”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed for a weekend break in early November. The hotel is well placed for the town centre it has parking for a number of cars even if spaces are a little tight.Our room was one grade up from basic, it was clean with refurbished well equipped bathroom. The hotel has a small lounge, tight dining room and coctail bar. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and of the highest quality as was the evening meal on the Friday night, although the tables are a little too close together.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireGarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    205
    57
    17
    4
See reviews for
37
309
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed one night at the George a year ago and have been eagerly awaiting a return visit, it did not disappoint! We had a lower grade room this time but it still had everything you required, and being at the back it was so quiet I thought we were the only guest's, even though the hotel was full! We ate at Monty's on two nights out of the three as the choice was amazing and so was the food.We both had great fish dishes on the first night, and Beef wellington and Venison on the last night. Most of the staff were still the same one's as last year which is most unusual in the hospitality trade and they were all so helpful and friendly. As we took advantage of the special break deal the value for money was unbelievable , we thought they had under charged us! If possible the breakfast's were even better than last time, I should know I run a guest house.
Only one small problem, the mattress needs replacing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are really quiet, especially on the top floor. No one either side or above you, su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Really nice hotel but staff were all excellent. Really friendly and nothing too much trouble. Had an excellent dinner in Montys. Not cheap but we did treat ourselves and had a great meal. Breakfast excellent. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at the George for 3 nights,taking advantage of their 'stay two nights and enjoy a dinner at Montys restaurant' with an option of a 3rd night for a reduced price. It was excellent. The hotel is perfectly placed close to the Promenade and Montpelier boutique shopping areas of Cheltenham and all the small bars and cafes that come with them. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and take the time to show an interest in your stay. We were upgraded to a junior suite as it was our anniversary and were also given a bottle of Prosecco,very nice. he room is spacious with fantastic high ceilings and the bathroom is worth the money alone for the free standing bath. Montys is quite simply the best restaurant in Cheltenham,the food is superb and the wine list is good. Breakfast at the George was my highlight and its cooked breakfasts were the best I had eaten in a long time. Left all my contact details for further offers with the hotel and cant wait to return!

Room Tip: A junior suite is a must for any romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordandLadyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I've stayed a number of times at the George and each time I look forward to my return. For those business travelers who are used to many nights on the road the George staff always makes an effort to make you feel at home. Whether its opening the bar for a nightcap or loaning you an umbrella during a rainstorm the staff is always top notch. I stayed recently for two weeks and recommend the George for any stay in Cheltenham.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank akoruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As a birthday treat we get to leave the children with their grandparents and have a night out to ourselves. We usually look for a very nice hotel with a good restaurant. My wife selected Cheltenham for our night away and eventually selected The George Hotel and Monty's.

The hotel's location was excellent, right in the centre of Cheltenham. We arrived early so managed to park easily, but I'm not convinced all the hotel's guests would be able to park at the hotel.

As you would expect at a good quality hotel the staff were very polite and welcoming. The building itself is obviously old with lots of nooks and crannies and the stairs can be a bit narrow, which isn't a problem for us but may be a concern to less able visitors.

Our room was huge and excellent, with everything you could possibly want, including a large flat-screen TV. The high ceilings obviously created the feeling of space. The bed was similarly huge and very comfy. The bathroom was monstrous with a huge shower and a roll-top bath with a "pillow" on one end.

Overall the room was very good, but there were some blemishes. The windows were only single glazed so traffic on the dual-carriageway could be heard. The bath, though great, appeared to have a leak, possibly from the overflow. It appears our room was above Monty's, which meant an early night was pretty much out the question given the noise from the dinners and those in the bar.

I must add that Monty's was simply superb for an evening meal (see separate review) and breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Nice modern rooms in the hotel but no lift which is where this hotel falls on not getting a 5 star reveiw from me.
very clean rooms with a big comfy bed, although I wasn't too keen on the pillows. We had to walk up 4 sets of stairs with lots of heavy baggage. We were offered a hand with our bags but still, if your not very able, then would not recommend because of the stairs.

This hotel is in a great location, 2 mins walk from all of the shops.

The restaurant attached to the hotel "Monty's" was fantastic. Ther food was great, the best steak I've ever had. and the service was fantastic too!
Breakfast was even great. I had eggs ans toast and a yogurt with cereal on top......best yoghurt I've ever tasted too!

Room Tip: Take a pillow or ask at reception to see if they can provide you with more. We had 4 pillows on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing