We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Went there with my now Husband for his work. Beautiful hotel, Great restaurant on the first floor. Friendly / helpful staff as well. Within walking distance of everywhere. We have been in Cheltenham now twice. The first time here and the second at another hotel. Would recommend The George in a heartbeat. Bigger room than the other hotel, however they are small rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

only stayed one night as travelling through,but really nice and spacious.Excellent food and plenty of it.The room was fine only a little warm for our liking and the window in the bathroom was broken so could not open it to cool down.Good bar and restaurant,with a nice downstairs cocktail bar.Lovely smiling service from male and female members of staff.We really enjoyed the short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marmalade6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

As with so many 19th Century buildings, The George Hotel is limited by the construction techniques of that time, and therefore the room sizes are somewhat small. This is even further restricted by modern planning restrictions and ‘listed building’ status as to what you can or can’t do with the property of this type.

So, to this effect, the rooms are therefore perhaps a little small by modern standards, the corridors are narrow and there are numerous steep staircases, and obviously there no lift either.

Decor in the stairs and corridors is disappointing, and if you’ve parked at the rear of the building and used the back entrance, you could be more than a little concerned as you climb the stairs to reception.

However, the reception and public rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a contemporary style, but still retain many period features.

Parking and internet are free, but given the rate paid for a small room, they couldn’t, or shouldn’t be charged any extra for.

Most of the staff are young, and all were polite, helpful and amiable. They all seemed happy in what they were doing, and not just “going through the motions.”

Monty’s bar and restaurant provide a very pleasant venue for pre or post dining drinks and socialising, and there is an additional cocktail bar down in the cellar over the weekend. Both the cooked breakfast and the food in the evening was to a high standard and reasonably priced.

Bedrooms were perhaps a little small as previously mentioned, but for a single traveller or a couple for a night or two, more than adequate. Bathrooms were clean and functional, and both room and bathroom were simply but pleasantly decorated. Tea and coffee in the room and a complimentary bottle of water, but no mini-bar.

I have stayed here on three occasions recently and would happily do so again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked the a dining room at The George to hold a wedding meal in, and found the staff at The George to be very welcoming, attentive but discreet. Our meal was fantastic, every guest enjoyed their meal thoroughly. We booked the Junior Suite for our wedding night, and we touched by the thoughtfulness of the staff to leave a card in our room. The room was huge and the bed was very comfortable. For me, the best part of the suite was the huge freestanding bath, and my husband loved the walk-in shower. Breakfast offered a varied selection, and the only thing that let it down was the sausage, it was not to our tastes. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to a junior suite at the front of the hotel. The room was comfortable with a very big bathroom that had recently been refurbished to a modern standard. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. I would not classify this room as a junior suite but we were quite satisfied for a one night stay. The staff were friendly and attentive and the hotel is right in the heart of Cheltenham within walking distance of the retail and business area. Parking was right out front or at the rear of the hotel which was very convenient. We ate in Monty's Bistro in the evening and for breakfast and the food and service were excellent. A great location if you want to be in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Wow, an amazing, welcoming and stylish hotel close to all the shops, bars and attractions. Everything about this hotel is excellent, the car parking is right outside, the staff are professional, friendly and could not do enough for you, the rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and excellent value for money, the location is perfect, the hotel has its own cocktail bar and restaurant called. monty's which I have reviewed separately (amazing). I highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a central, stylish and thoroughly glorious relaxing stay in Cheltenham.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Overall, I'd have to rate this hotel as 'average' because that pretty much sums it up.

I stayed in a Junior Suite. The selling point would definitely be the bathroom, with a lovely stand alone bath and a great shower, but the bed was lovely and the decor was nice as well.

However the room is overall very similar to rooms I've stayed in at a lot of other hotels where the rooms were advertised as 'rooms' not 'junior suites'. It has a couple of armchairs and a desk, but this is not unlike many other rooms I've stayed in. There's also a sofa, but I think this wasn't really necessary; it was far too close to the television to sit on and watch the tv, and it made the room feel smaller. One thing that was missing was a mini fridge, a feature I would have expected in a room which calls itself a 'Junior Suite'.

Unfortunately the room wasn't cleaned to an acceptable standard. On arrival, we found a used contact lens on the bathroom floor, and a dead bug in the bedroom which had clearly been there at least a few days.

The hotel itself was in a nice part of Cheltenham, which was great and very convenient, but if you find yourself in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel there is a lot of noise from the busy road below, which was a shame.

Breakfast was nothing more than average; the hot food was ok, but the pastries were hard. Given that every table with the exception of one was empty in the large breakfast room, you might have expected the guests to be spread out a bit to give some space and privacy, but the guests who came in after us were seated right next to us which made dining uncomfortably cramped.

The staff were polite, but no more than they had to be. We weren't asked how our stay was when we checked out, which is something you come to expect, and certainly makes you feel more like a valued customer. Had we been asked, we would have mentioned some of the above comments upon leaving.

We stayed here at a last minute discounted rate and for that price it was ok, but I certainly wouldn't have paid full price for this room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £69 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing