We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel !!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel !!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The room"s were spotlessly clean, staff friendly and very helpful. The breakfast in Monty's brasserie was delicious :) Cannot fault this hotel, we would definitely recommended.
Perfect location for the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    211
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
38
318
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Arrived a little stressed and late for a wedding. The receptionist immediately helped out with a number of things, which put us straightaway at ease. All through our stay, the staff were faultless in their friendliness, professionalism and personal attention, which is a HUGE breath of fresh air. Our room, top floor, was very comfortable, if occasionally a bit noisy from revellers on the street returning home (it WAS a sunny bank holiday!). Monty's brasserie (breakfast and dinner) bats SO MUCH MORE HIGHLY in food and service terms that the decor would suggest!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great hotel, excellent location, nicely furnished. We only stayed for one night in a small twin bedded room which was quite roomy plus we were given access to an additional lounge area. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate at Monty's restaurant located in the hotel. Quite pricey but tasted good. Staff were a bit harassed and rushed and it didn't help that the band in the downstairs Cocktail Bar was so loud towards the end of the evening that you couldn't hear yourself think!! Restaurant staff generally seemed not to be enjoying their work which was a shame. Otherwise would have given it a 5 - overall excellent.

Room Tip: Parking available but limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed at the george in a pleasant room at the top of the hotel, (a little noise from late night revellers, as we had the window open as the room was quite warm) but a really comfortable bed and good shower.
Hotel were very accomodating in allowing our daughter to host abirthday breakfast party for twelve, pleasant room, choice of hot dishes and pastries toast and yoghurts etc.
Very pleasant and helpful staff, would stay there again, as it is incredibly central for Cheltenham.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel is in a good location, you can walk into town and there is free parking outside the hotel. The room was lovely but quite small for what we expected (we stayed in the junior suite) the bathroom is very big and very nice.

Our welcome seemed a bit frosty, although the staff were in no way rude, it did feel like they were perhaps looking down on us because we are fairly young (early to mid 20s) there was never an urgency to serve us at the bar even though the staff didn't look particularly busy.

Breakfast was lovely, it is right above a cocktail bar so was a bit noisy at night time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Went there with my now Husband for his work. Beautiful hotel, Great restaurant on the first floor. Friendly / helpful staff as well. Within walking distance of everywhere. We have been in Cheltenham now twice. The first time here and the second at another hotel. Would recommend The George in a heartbeat. Bigger room than the other hotel, however they are small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

only stayed one night as travelling through,but really nice and spacious.Excellent food and plenty of it.The room was fine only a little warm for our liking and the window in the bathroom was broken so could not open it to cool down.Good bar and restaurant,with a nice downstairs cocktail bar.Lovely smiling service from male and female members of staff.We really enjoyed the short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmalade6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
538 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing