We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could and should do better!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Could and should do better!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had a large room with a great walk in shower/bathroom/loo. Shockingly this facility did not have an extractor fan! However the room overlooked a busy main road and the traffic was very audible. Another problem is that the curtains were poor at excluding the light including that from a hotel flood-light! Doh. Fortunately the place wasn't too busy so there was no noise from slamming doors etc. I suspect this place could be pretty noisy when it is full as no thought seems to have gone into ensuring doors close silently as opposed to bang shut. When will hoteliers realise that what visitors want is quiet rooms and the option to sleep in the dark? The bed was comfortable and spacious.
Staff are well trained and pleasant so a big up to them. Breakfast was good. The hotel seems to use a most and air freshner with a most peculiar smell. At least I hope it was the air-freshner. The location of the hotel is convenient for the town centre. Parking wasn't an issue. With a bit of attention to the issues raised here this could be a very good hotel but a the moment it isn't.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room at the back of the hotel if I bothered by traffic noise. Could als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to read that there were aspects of the George Hotel and Monty’s that you were happy with and we appreciate your kind comments especially about our staff.

With regards to the extractor fan in bathroom of the Junior Suite, all of our bathrooms have extractor fans, however, it appears that the previous guest had turned off the extractor using the override switch above the bathroom door. This has prompted us to now put in a procedure to make sure that these switches are checked when the room is serviced.

With regards to the flood lights, we do have a practice in place that they should be turned off at 11pm every night by the Night Porter, I am sorry if this did not happen during your stay. Following your comments, we will now make sure this procedure is followed and we will also have a look again at the angle of the flood lights.

The curtains in the bedroom were designed with our guests comfort in mind and they should completely “black out” the room. We will ensure that all curtains are still closing well and effectively.

The hotel was fully booked during your stay so I am delighted that you felt that it didn’t seem to be too busy or too noisy. Fortunately we rarely experience problems with noisy guests and banging doors.

Thank you for your comments without which we would not have the opportunity to put things right. We do have a maintenance team on site, so any problems that do arise during a stay can, if mentioned, normally be put right.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the George Hotel on your next visit to Cheltenham.

With kind regards

Jeremy Shaw
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    200
    54
    16
    4
See reviews for
36
304
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The room"s were spotlessly clean, staff friendly and very helpful. The breakfast in Monty's brasserie was delicious :) Cannot fault this hotel, we would definitely recommended.
Perfect location for the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Arrived a little stressed and late for a wedding. The receptionist immediately helped out with a number of things, which put us straightaway at ease. All through our stay, the staff were faultless in their friendliness, professionalism and personal attention, which is a HUGE breath of fresh air. Our room, top floor, was very comfortable, if occasionally a bit noisy from revellers on the street returning home (it WAS a sunny bank holiday!). Monty's brasserie (breakfast and dinner) bats SO MUCH MORE HIGHLY in food and service terms that the decor would suggest!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great hotel, excellent location, nicely furnished. We only stayed for one night in a small twin bedded room which was quite roomy plus we were given access to an additional lounge area. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate at Monty's restaurant located in the hotel. Quite pricey but tasted good. Staff were a bit harassed and rushed and it didn't help that the band in the downstairs Cocktail Bar was so loud towards the end of the evening that you couldn't hear yourself think!! Restaurant staff generally seemed not to be enjoying their work which was a shame. Otherwise would have given it a 5 - overall excellent.

Room Tip: Parking available but limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed at the george in a pleasant room at the top of the hotel, (a little noise from late night revellers, as we had the window open as the room was quite warm) but a really comfortable bed and good shower.
Hotel were very accomodating in allowing our daughter to host abirthday breakfast party for twelve, pleasant room, choice of hot dishes and pastries toast and yoghurts etc.
Very pleasant and helpful staff, would stay there again, as it is incredibly central for Cheltenham.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel is in a good location, you can walk into town and there is free parking outside the hotel. The room was lovely but quite small for what we expected (we stayed in the junior suite) the bathroom is very big and very nice.

Our welcome seemed a bit frosty, although the staff were in no way rude, it did feel like they were perhaps looking down on us because we are fairly young (early to mid 20s) there was never an urgency to serve us at the bar even though the staff didn't look particularly busy.

Breakfast was lovely, it is right above a cocktail bar so was a bit noisy at night time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Went there with my now Husband for his work. Beautiful hotel, Great restaurant on the first floor. Friendly / helpful staff as well. Within walking distance of everywhere. We have been in Cheltenham now twice. The first time here and the second at another hotel. Would recommend The George in a heartbeat. Bigger room than the other hotel, however they are small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing