We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business meeting - great job” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Business meeting - great job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I recently booked a sales conference to be held at the hotel. When you are making arrangements for a group and you require the full facilities and expect them to run perfectly then any mistakes are seen as a reflection on you. Fear not. From start to finish everything was top class. The initial contact who did the organizing , perfect with nothing too much bother. The meal in their brassiere which I have to say was equal to any top London establishment. The room reserved for the conference was fantastic.Attention to detail was first rate. All the staff were polite and helpful. Great value for money. Yes we will be back and for any person reading this review , then fear not and just go and you will also have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    196
    53
    16
    4
See reviews for
34
299
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed there through work for a second time. Rooms in good cndition and very clean. In my bathroom, found it difficult to actually get in the shower as the bathroom was pretty small. Its an old terrace which I think was knocked into one and it is full of staircases up and down. If you are not so mobile, worth checking access.

Didnt eat there as very close to lots of places walkable.

Parking was limited, either on street if you are lucky or pay and display

Used the cocktail bar briefly , wasnt verly impressed - one bottled beer on sale? I assume lots of cocktails though. Had to set off early so didnt see a breakfast but they did offer a packed one without being asked, which was good

Would go back though

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a really fabulous hotel. The staff are extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is great, a couple of minutes to the town centre. Room service is speedy and the food delicious. We stayed in a junior suite, well worth the extra as the room had everything you could need: fridge, safe, hair dryer, iron etc. nothing to fault the staff or hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

.. on a street within a minute of The Promenade. Our top floor room was attractive, modern, well equipped and quiet. No lifts though. Monty's Brassiere, in the same building, was justifiably popular. The only drawback was we came on a race weekend (unwittingly) which made the room expensive, otherwise it would have been a five-star experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimEwbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

we stayed at The George on Sat 30.11.13 & can highly recommend. We booked a small double which was located at the back of the hotel & was quiet, nicely decorated with everything we required. The staff were friendly & helpful from arrival. We parked in the public car park opposite until a space was available behind the hotel & the lads in the bar kindly looked out for/made a space available. Breakfast was good & again helpful staff. Location is excellent, couple of minutes straight into the Promenade & 5 minutes up to the Voojan Indian restaurant where we had a good evening meal. Lovely hotel & most importantly staff.

Room Tip: small double at the back (200s) was absolutely fine & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed there with a few friends in early November. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The bedrooms were well equipped with comfortable beds and immaculate bathrooms. Bath-robes were supplied. The small restaurant adjacent to the ground floor had an excellent menu for the money (we had an early evening deal) and the breakfasts were scrummy. Our requests for less of this or more of that were generously met. A most enjoyable stay and I hope I can go there again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the rear on the first floor and although there was little view, it was nice and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Friendly hotel conveniently situated for the town centre, where the shopping is excellent. Very clean smallish double room. Excellent plentiful breakfast with good service. Evening meal in Monty's Brasserie was tasty and very good quality if a little expensive.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing