We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is not perfect-very hot with no air con and the parking is a bit hit and miss-but I must mention the breakfast which was as good as any I have tasted in many years in the tourist industry.All the ingredients were top quality and cooked beautifully to order.If you leave without trying the Old Spot sausages you will regret it for evermore!

Room Tip: We had 113 which was fine but in the front and possibly noisy(although we slept like logs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRAZILLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    205
    57
    17
    4
See reviews for
37
309
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Firstly, great parking facilities for central Cheltenham. Reception staff so helpful & friendly. We arrived early & nothing was too much trouble. It was my birthday so the hotel upgraded us to a very spacious superior double room. Our remaining 3 couples were very happy with their rooms. Breakfast was excellent, we also ate in monty's restaurant which was superb. We took advantage of the Friday fizz deal which didn't disappoint. I would suggest this hotel is excellent value for money & the refurbishment has made an impressive enhancement. The location is perfect for the promenade & the ever popular Montpellier area. Thanks to all staff .... Note to self .... Avoid cocktail bar next time as so dangerous!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleystansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here en route to another destination. We adore Cheltenham which made our choice even better due to its central location and car park. Helpful staff and what more could a girl want - a cocktail bar and restaurant adjacent. Great food and drink, wonderful atmosphere. My only disappointment............I was hoping to see a lovely dog behind reception though unfortunately some miserable person had mentioned him negatively in their review - BRING HIM BACK - most people wouldn't mind after all he isn't lying on their beds or drinking their mojito's!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairelouiseblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, decent breakfast and nice cocktail bar with live music - all positives. Hotel is a little tired - although its been refurbed and the decor is modernised - the room was musty and so hot. Now it was a hot day, but no AC and this made a big difference. I'd stay again for the location, but not much else

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worsley, manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second visit to the George and again we had an excellent stay. Lovely room although a bit noisy at the front with traffic, people and the seagulls!!! But we still slept well! Great evening meal with free bottle of prosecco because we booked at Montys, thought that was a nice gesture. Excellent food! Location for Central Cheltenham excellent, we will be back!

Room Tip: No lift so top floor could be a struggle for people with walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiszniewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The 'luxury double' room looks nothing like the pictures on the website. It was more like the kind of room you would expect from a budget bed and breakfast (the kind that is even more basic than a travel lodge).

The room was so small the door did not open fully, and you had to move furniture around (and walk like a crab to get around the bed). The curtains were thin sheets of yellow cloth with mould at the bottom. The TV mounted on the wall at the bottom of the bed looked like an 11 inch ATM cash machine screen or maybe more like a laptop screen (without it's keyboard), imported from the middle east.

The only positive thing I would say about this 'hotel', is that the photographer and graphics artist that designed the website did a jaw dropping job at portraying this budget (converted house) as a luxurious 'hotel'.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
At the George Hotel we have four room types; Small Double, Classic Double, Deluxe Double and Junior Suite.
The room that you booked and that was confirmed to you by email was a Small Double, this is, as the name suggests a smaller room.
The Small Double has a 5 foot double bed, good desk space, 19” LCD TV with DVD player, ensuite bathroom.
The room has a voil roller blind and black out curtains. I have checked the room that you were supposed to stay in, the voil roller blind looks brand new, and the curtains are immaculate, not even a suggestion of damp of discolouration.
The door into the room opens to around 120 degrees, and you can easily pass by the furniture.
The photos of the Small Double room on the hotel website are very accurate and if anything make the room look smaller than it actually is, also the dimensions of the room (4m x 3.5m) are noted within the descriptions of the room.
I am sorry that the hotel was not what you expected and I hope that you managed to find a hotel that better suited your needs.
Jeremy Shaw
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The George is so accommodating and run so well me and my family absolutely love staying there.

We will be stating there again and again I'm sure.

Thankyou so much for looking after us so well and making us feel so welcome.

See you soon the George!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyPineapple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing