We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 9 April 2009

The George Hotel was chosen in preference to the Queen's. I stayed in a Junior Suite (there isn't a Senior Suite by the way). The welcome from reception was outstanding and the room and bathroom of a high standard. Breakfast service was desultory but the food itself was good. The room faced on to a busy road and would have benefited from double glazing. Similarly the lack of air conditioning would be an issue in warm weather as opening the windows would not be an option owing to high noise levels. I glimpsed the interior of another room during cleaning. As a double it appeared rather small. Overall my stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2009

This hotel is perfectly placed for the shops in Cheltenham. We got a brilliant deal for £330 for 2 nights, full breakfast, plus a meal in the superb Montys right next door , with wonderful food , big surprise how good it actually was... The hotel is as good as you can want.. the people are friendly and the rooms are excellent. The bathrooms are like a dream. Parking is free and at the front of the reception, .. Try that in Bath, which was our first choice.
We'll be back there soon.. dont regard that rubbish about the staircase decoration, I didnt notice, It doesnt matter.
Test is, 'is it better than you expected' answer is very definately.. Yes.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisnPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We stayed one night in a junior suite. The room certainly has the wow factor and we loved the decor. The bathroom was stunning, fab lighting, nice modern bath and huge wet room style shower. All the furnishings were superb although we found the pillows a little flat and uncomfortable.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the option to have free continental breakfast in bed was a treat.

We didn't eat at Monty's but did get a bottle of wine from the bar and it was very pleasant and a nice atmosphere. If you are looking for an amazing restaurant in Cheltenham, try The Daffodil, its incredible.

Our only real issue was the noise from the road - we were in one of the rooms situated at the front of the building and this noise disturbed our sleep. The traffic starts early and is heavy until about 8.45am. There was also a fair bit of noise from slamming doors and housekeeping in nearby rooms. Having said that we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again but would ask for a room at the back of the building.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed the weekend in room233 luxury double and it was really nice yes rooms are compact but fab decor good size flatscreen tv s, dvd player,you can borrow dvds from reception free if in luxury,superior or a suite.
You can also have your breakfast brought up to your room in any of these rooms free of charge it is continental but was very nice and its great because we were on the third floor and there are no lifts which was a nitemare.They cant have a lift put in because its a listed buliding, we were told but not sure if this is true as info came from another guest.
Didnt use montys restaurant in hotel but it was always full,so thats a good sign it looked very nice. We choose to go out if you exit the hotel out front turn left walk to the end of the block and turn left walk to end of the road about five mins you come to a junction look over to your left and across the road is henrietta street as you walk into that street on the right is the food and bar quarter with frankie&bennys,chinese restaurant,chiquitos,indian ,Burger restaurant and a few others.
Back at the hotel the staff are all quite young and friendly and the only thing i would change is the beds for more comfy ones they have spent alot doing this place out but the beds could be better or put mattress toppers on the luxury higher priced rooms at least.The bathroom was very good size with bath and shower but if your on the short side you ll need help to get on and off the toilet everything was lovely and clean.
There is traffic noise in front rooms as hotel still has the original windows they were draughty too so shut the curtains it does help but only thing is the radiators are behind them it does warm up though.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Wireless internet was very patchy and - when connected - slow. Apparently only some rooms are within range of a wireless access point. So if you are dependent on a good internet connection bear that in mind.
Small, badly designed rooms. Wall mounted TV only watchable from the bed.
Car parking out front is very tight on a narrow service road parallel to the main road. Entry and exit to this narrow service road can be difficult. Usually it is possible to drive across the ajoining footpath and kerb to and from main road, but not really what you would expect at a four star hotel.
One morning there was no hot water available at 7AM. Someone had forgotton to turn on the immersion heater !! . Overall, poor value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the George for Valentines weekend. Unfortunately we left it till the weekend before to book and only had the choice of a small double - beleive me it is a very small double! The rooms were well equipped and the location of the hotel fab - right near everything you need. The staff are very friendly and helped us with any queries. The cocktail bar downstairs had some of the best cocktails I have tasted, they also have live music which is a nice touch. We went to Montpelier Wine Bar for dinner - I wouldnt advise it, perhaps we were unlucky but the service was shocking, ruined our evening in fact!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Stayed on an extended Valentine's weekend. A very central location in Cheltenham, with limited free on site parking. Our room was very comfortable and modern with the best lighting combinations we've seen in a room, from romantically subdued to full on, stage glare, if required! The bathroom was similarly up to date and well lit. Flat screen TV with satellite channels. Robes, safe, tea & coffee facilities. Front of house staff were attentive and pleasant. The hotel looks to be updating as the corridors and stairs leading to the rooms seemed from a different era to the rooms themselves and the public rooms downstairs.

Breakfast was in the hotel brasserie Monty's and we found it well cooked with good variation, both hot & cold choices, in a pleasant airy room. We ate in the hotel restaurant from their Valentine's night set menu, but found this expensive and uneven in quality.

200 yds left out of the hotel gets you to the Promenade, with the town's House of Fraser store leading you onto the main shopping centre. A good choice for a weekend break in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £69 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing