We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed in Cheltenham”
Review of No 131

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
No 131
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We've eaten a few times here now, and absolutely love it. It has a really clubby masculine feel, brilliantly done, just like the Wheatsheaf . The decor, music, lighting and food are brilliantly thought through. It might have had a few teething problems, but now seems to have settled into its stride. The tuna/ avocado starter is a masterpiece. Not sure what it would be like on a friday or saturday night, when the bar downstairs becomes a mecca for the Cheltenham set....can't comment yet as haven't been in on those evenings.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for No 131
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were supposed to stay here with some friends and booked 2 rooms via booking.com on arrival there was only 1 room , I think this was the fault of booking.com but a big disappointment however the manageress Eve was very helpful and found us alternative accommodation, we did however stay at 131 for drinks and dinner - first class great good and atmosphere , our friends also enjoyed the stay
We will be staying again despite the setback thank you Eve for helping us out next time we will book direct

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Everyone has fantasised at some point of owning a bar, restaurant or hotel, haven't they.? I do almost all of the time and most of the time those thoughts are provoked by a bad experience dining out or staying away… compelled to write the wrongs.. what could be bettered, how you would do it so differently.. how can it be so hard.??!!

Very occasionally those thoughts are inspired by a fantastic experience where something really has been done just the way you wanted it to be done, an exceptional bit of service or just a 'Proper' drink.!

Then oh so very occasionally.. dreams are shattered because whilst you were busy thinking of all of those amazing things you'd do that everyone would love.. someone (THANK GOD>!) has done it first and BETTER.

Genuinely from top to toe.. inside and out No 131 doesn't just tick every conceivable box but rewrites the rule book. A place where style is equally balanced with substance and there is a massive helping of both. Exceptional and genuinely warm service, fabulous rooms with effortless style, small touches that can only have been added not to improve the top line of a balance sheet but just because its nice to be nice and its the right thing to do.!!!!

Crazy 8's - a bar and restaurant pitched so perfectly that there wasn't enough time left to enjoy the room properly… exactly what you want.. great draft wheat beer to start proceedings… brilliant charcuterie board with Chablis 1 and an unbelievable hot seafood platter with Chablis 2.. all sat outside on a warm summer evening and (aside from sand between your toes) it simply it doesn't get better than that.!

All round hats off for a place that must be visited by everyone.. but particularly those who like me once dreamed of such things.!

GO GO GO GO GO.!

Room Tip: Room number 6 was amazing.. i imagine the rest will follow.!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on the night of April 27th for my birthday and booked Room 6 ( Best in the House..I'm told ) and it certainly was a joy to stay in such a wonderfully proportioned and well thought out room. The price we paid for it was extremely good value for a hotel of this standard - this may have been a special rate for the time of year.

Attention to detail was everywhere and my only (small) moan is that, like many places I have stayed in, there was no mirror over the 'desk' / dressing table for us ladies to do our hair!

Little touches like the flask of milk and hot chocolate, the gorgeous toiletries, thick soft towels (large bath sheets - perfect), the ipod docking station, hot water bottles left in the bed, the state of the art TV which can be hidden away at the touch of a button, all adds to that feeling that you really are in a special place.

The Crazy Eight Bar was quiet the night we stayed but we understand this is very busy at weekends. The décor and furnishings throughout are high class and extremely beautiful - no expense has been spared to make your stay enjoyable. Staff were superb, attentive but not intrusive and dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. We had the Beef Wellington and I highly recommend it. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Room 6 is Fabulous - overlooks the main street. Large claw bath in room and massive bathroom with wa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had three wonderful days/nights in this beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect, and the hotel have many thoughtful touches that made our stay very memorable and romantic. Staff were amazing. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a one night stopover, beautifully decorated and restored building and lovely room. We stayed in an 'excellent' room which was large and beautifully and stylishly renovated with lovely high quality touches. I would say Babington House standard at least. Great lighting, great toiletries, flask of hot chocolate left at turn down etc.
Ate in the restaurant which we enjoyed.
The service from Eva on reception was really outstanding , we arrived much later than we thought and had phoned ahead. She was sort of waiting for us, helped with bags, parking, making sure we got to the room and then dinner while we were faffing between me and my husband , fabulous attitude.
She didn't know, but we were on our way to a funeral, with slightly complicated arrangements for leaving our kids behind, her attitude made everything seem so much easier.
Will definitely come back, as it would make a fab weekend away.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank holsandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at 131 last night and it was fabulous, probably the best hotel I've stayed in; not only was it amazing value but the service was second to none and the hotel gloriously styled and furnished. The little touches like a warm hot water bottle, flask of hot milk and hot chocolate sticks left in our room as part of the turn down service made it a really lovely stay.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was top notch, not cheap but really great (the fillet steak and beef dripping chips were to die for).

All in all we had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 131

Address: 131 Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £116 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No 131 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.131 is a Georgian Townhouse set on the promenade in the heart of Cheltenham. A home from home, classic on the outside, contemporary British on the inside. On the upper ground floor you'll find the elegant restaurant, bar and drawing rooms with 11 individually designed and spacious bedrooms gracing the floor above. The epitome of relaxed luxury, each feature sumptuous Egyptian bed linen, beautiful 100 Acres products and either roll top baths or walk in showers. Choose a grand Georgian bedroom overlooking Cheltenham's leafy gardens or a cosy hideaway with an antique Rogeat Lyon rolltop bath hidden in the eaves. Created by interior designer and owner Georgie Pearman, every detail has been accounted for with Egyptian cotton bed linen from Three Thieving Magpies, unique pieces of furniture and original artworks from William Kentridge, David Hockney, Sir Peter Blake, Banksy and Henry Hudson. Each room blends classic comforts with modern essentials. All rooms come with iPod docks, Nespresso machines, HD TV, Sky, and a mini-bar stocked with treats from local farmers and producers Our produce throughout is carefully sourced from British suppliers as close to home and Organic where possible, handpicked by our passionate Chefs. Whether it's an indulgent supper you're enjoying or a comforting brunch, the fresh ingredients bring the dishes to life. Downstairs discover our courtyard gardens and bar, our own little Den of iniquity, strong house cocktails, strong liquor and relaxed dining from breakfast, lunch until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your No 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing