We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

‚ÄúThought of everything‚ÄĚ
5 of 5 bubbles Review of No 131

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No 131
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thought of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A small but perfectly formed hotel. The staff are all amazing, and we felt very welcome indeed. Room was immaculate, food in the restaurant delicious, and breakfast was excellent. Our 3 year old daughter loved it, and was made to feel very welcome by the staff. The complimentary croissants and orange juice outside the door was lovely in the morning, and the location was ideal for shops, small independent retailers and parks.

Special mention to the size of the bed, which was very generous, the comfort of the duvet and pillows, and the bathroom, which was lovely. Lots of old features, which have been very carefully kept to add real character.

The bar was also very well stocked with a wide range of high quality drinks, and the barman (Shane) was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel will put you in a slightly larger room if you have children, but as it was, our little one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    103
    45
    25
    10
See reviews for
57
258
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very warm welcome. Staff are friendly and capable. Room very warm and well thought out. A real gem in a world where chain hotels spend millions only to look the same. Dined at the restaurant. Wood-fired squid and steak was seasoned and cooked to perfection. Knowledge of cocktails was superb. Beautiful products from 100 acres.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missh180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very nice two night stay at this hotel. It's very nicely finished to a very high standard, with lots of lovely touches (though in our room practical storage space seemed to have been sacrificed for the sake of aesthetics). The only negative (more constructive feedback really) is that they need to sharpen up the service standards in the restaurant. The staff there were very friendly, but service was inattentive and not up to the standard you'd expect from such a well appointed hotel, not to say the prices being charged for the food. Also, we found our table was uncomfortably close to other diners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gastrocuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived (noting my Sat Nav. did not get the correct street ). Wonderful reception - parked outside as no available parking - collected a voucher from reception - directed to park in street behind hotel - took ages (glad it was not raining). Shown to room by wonderful front desk staff - room was good, furnishing of high quality - quirky but entertaining features - alas no A/C and window opened to the noise from the bar below.
Food excellent. Bar staff excellent, breakfast good - as were the staff at breakfast. Alas, check out -efficient - but alas I had to drive around the block and give the car pass back- its meant to be a hotel !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really smart. Feels like a private members club but with no fuss. The detail in the furnishing and finishing is top drawer and the service was amazing both in the restaurant and in general. Restaurant food was good and they've got a great selection of drinks. Bar downstairs was decent but attracted an older crowd (30 plus, this could have been due to them militant bouncer) so wouldn't recommend for younger crowd looking to get rowdy and dance the night away.

Would've been full marks but for our room being hotter than the surface of the sun! If you stay I'd ask for room that isn't on the top floor (10 and 11 I think) as I think they're situated above a furnace.

All in all I'd highly recommend and would definitely stay there again but in a different room!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_wareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was there for a business reception and the staff were efficient and helpful. The food was sublime and the interiors are really gorgeous.... a really beautiful environment to enjoy. For a business reception the microphone were not good, but such a small thing to moan about when the rest of the evening was so good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is got to be one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many quality Hotels over the years
The bedrooms blow you away with furnishings that's sit perfectly within the rooms
The large roll top bath is to die for.
The restaurant it self is cool relaxing and serves foods like Lobster and squid, which was perfectly cooked
You will not go wrong staying at this Hotel
10/10

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverosieroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 131

Property: No 131
Address: 131 Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No 131 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.131 is a Georgian Townhouse set on the promenade in the heart of Cheltenham. A home from home, classic on the outside, contemporary British on the inside. On the upper ground floor you'll find the elegant restaurant, bar and drawing rooms with 11 individually designed and spacious bedrooms gracing the floor above. The epitome of relaxed luxury, each feature sumptuous Egyptian bed linen, beautiful 100 Acres products and either roll top baths or walk in showers. Choose a grand Georgian bedroom overlooking Cheltenham's leafy gardens or a cosy hideaway with an antique Rogeat Lyon rolltop bath hidden in the eaves. Created by interior designer and owner Georgie Pearman, every detail has been accounted for with Egyptian cotton bed linen from Three Thieving Magpies, unique pieces of furniture and original artworks from William Kentridge, David Hockney, Sir Peter Blake, Banksy and Henry Hudson. Each room blends classic comforts with modern essentials. All rooms come with iPod docks, Nespresso machines, HD TV, Sky, and a mini-bar stocked with treats from local farmers and producers Our produce throughout is carefully sourced from British suppliers as close to home and Organic where possible, handpicked by our passionate Chefs. Whether it's an indulgent supper you're enjoying or a comforting brunch, the fresh ingredients bring the dishes to life. Downstairs discover our courtyard gardens and bar, our own little Den of iniquity, strong house cocktails, strong liquor and relaxed dining from breakfast, lunch until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing