We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought of everything”
Review of No 131

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 131
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A small but perfectly formed hotel. The staff are all amazing, and we felt very welcome indeed. Room was immaculate, food in the restaurant delicious, and breakfast was excellent. Our 3 year old daughter loved it, and was made to feel very welcome by the staff. The complimentary croissants and orange juice outside the door was lovely in the morning, and the location was ideal for shops, small independent retailers and parks.

Special mention to the size of the bed, which was very generous, the comfort of the duvet and pillows, and the bathroom, which was lovely. Lots of old features, which have been very carefully kept to add real character.

The bar was also very well stocked with a wide range of high quality drinks, and the barman (Shane) was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel will put you in a slightly larger room if you have children, but as it was, our little one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mediabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very warm welcome. Staff are friendly and capable. Room very warm and well thought out. A real gem in a world where chain hotels spend millions only to look the same. Dined at the restaurant. Wood-fired squid and steak was seasoned and cooked to perfection. Knowledge of cocktails was superb. Beautiful products from 100 acres.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missh180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very nice two night stay at this hotel. It's very nicely finished to a very high standard, with lots of lovely touches (though in our room practical storage space seemed to have been sacrificed for the sake of aesthetics). The only negative (more constructive feedback really) is that they need to sharpen up the service standards in the restaurant. The staff there were very friendly, but service was inattentive and not up to the standard you'd expect from such a well appointed hotel, not to say the prices being charged for the food. Also, we found our table was uncomfortably close to other diners.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gastrocuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived (noting my Sat Nav. did not get the correct street ). Wonderful reception - parked outside as no available parking - collected a voucher from reception - directed to park in street behind hotel - took ages (glad it was not raining). Shown to room by wonderful front desk staff - room was good, furnishing of high quality - quirky but entertaining features - alas no A/C and window opened to the noise from the bar below.
Food excellent. Bar staff excellent, breakfast good - as were the staff at breakfast. Alas, check out -efficient - but alas I had to drive around the block and give the car pass back- its meant to be a hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really smart. Feels like a private members club but with no fuss. The detail in the furnishing and finishing is top drawer and the service was amazing both in the restaurant and in general. Restaurant food was good and they've got a great selection of drinks. Bar downstairs was decent but attracted an older crowd (30 plus, this could have been due to them militant bouncer) so wouldn't recommend for younger crowd looking to get rowdy and dance the night away.

Would've been full marks but for our room being hotter than the surface of the sun! If you stay I'd ask for room that isn't on the top floor (10 and 11 I think) as I think they're situated above a furnace.

All in all I'd highly recommend and would definitely stay there again but in a different room!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ryan_wareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was there for a business reception and the staff were efficient and helpful. The food was sublime and the interiors are really gorgeous.... a really beautiful environment to enjoy. For a business reception the microphone were not good, but such a small thing to moan about when the rest of the evening was so good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is got to be one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many quality Hotels over the years
The bedrooms blow you away with furnishings that's sit perfectly within the rooms
The large roll top bath is to die for.
The restaurant it self is cool relaxing and serves foods like Lobster and squid, which was perfectly cooked
You will not go wrong staying at this Hotel
10/10

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loverosieroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,033 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 131

Address: 131 Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £107 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No 131 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.131 is a Georgian Townhouse set on the promenade in the heart of Cheltenham. A home from home, classic on the outside, contemporary British on the inside. On the upper ground floor you'll find the elegant restaurant, bar and drawing rooms with 11 individually designed and spacious bedrooms gracing the floor above. The epitome of relaxed luxury, each feature sumptuous Egyptian bed linen, beautiful 100 Acres products and either roll top baths or walk in showers. Choose a grand Georgian bedroom overlooking Cheltenham's leafy gardens or a cosy hideaway with an antique Rogeat Lyon rolltop bath hidden in the eaves. Created by interior designer and owner Georgie Pearman, every detail has been accounted for with Egyptian cotton bed linen from Three Thieving Magpies, unique pieces of furniture and original artworks from William Kentridge, David Hockney, Sir Peter Blake, Banksy and Henry Hudson. Each room blends classic comforts with modern essentials. All rooms come with iPod docks, Nespresso machines, HD TV, Sky, and a mini-bar stocked with treats from local farmers and producers Our produce throughout is carefully sourced from British suppliers as close to home and Organic where possible, handpicked by our passionate Chefs. Whether it's an indulgent supper you're enjoying or a comforting brunch, the fresh ingredients bring the dishes to life. Downstairs discover our courtyard gardens and bar, our own little Den of iniquity, strong house cocktails, strong liquor and relaxed dining from breakfast, lunch until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your No 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing