We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of No 131

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No 131
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just come back from a three night stay at No 131 which was amazing all round. We were given Room 5 as an upgrade from our original room which was deemed too small and stuffy for us (my wife is heavily pregant) by Eva which was a lovely touch before we had even booked in !!

The room was lovely, nice size and beautifully decorated as is the whole hotel. The attention to detail in the decor is very evident.

The bathroom was amazing with two showers and lovely big and bright.

The turn down service was great and we stopped having puddings at dinner time due to the lovely cookies on offer as part of it along with the hot chocolate.

Parking in the road round the back was easy with the parking permit, plenty of spaces available.

Perfectly located for the town centre and also for the Cheltenham Food Festival which is a must if visiting in June.

Noise from the outside seating area below wasn't a great issue over the whole weekend even though we were directly above.

If you like artisan lagers then you must try the Bobby Beer that is available on draught.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening (book early as it is very popular) and the food was amazing. The most difficult part is deciding what to have from the menu.

All in all a wonderful place and highly recommended. We shall return when we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XRNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    103
    45
    25
    10
See reviews for
57
260
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a very lovely nights stay in this wonderful hotel. It's a great location, right in the heart of the city, close to the bars and restaurants. The staff were super friendly. Eva was so lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. So many thoughtful touches throughout our stay, and the turn down service with hot chocolate and cookies is a must!! Room 7 was beautifully decorated with everything you could possibly need. Highly recommend both the hotel and crazy eights bar/restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn_719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful decor and great location, would definitely stay again but a few teething issues currently, we stayed in a room overlooking crazy 8s bar which was noisy until the early hours so would ask for one at the front of hotel next time. Room very hot but turndown service with hot chocolate a great touch as is complimentary breakfast tray. Restaurant food lovely but let down by poor service although head waiter did apologise for waiter being uninformed, if those few things sorted then would give an excellent review

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom, Shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wonderful hotel and restaurant. The service, quality of food and accommodation surpassed expectation. For either a special occasion or alfresco dining, Crazy 8's delivers (situated within boutique hotel 131). We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with freestanding bath and mosaic tiled bathroom on the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coco6025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've stayed here twice now and enjoyed it on both occasions, although I must say our last visit, when we stayed in room 6, was the more memorable.
The building has been beautifully restored with great style and attention to detail It's a wonderful mix of Georgian architecture and some modern quirky touches.
All the bedrooms we've seen or stayed in have been splendid. Room 6 being the largest was my favourite by far. The others, though delightful in design, have been a tad small and all the rooms I've been in - 6 included I'm afraid - are lacking storage and wardrobe space and incredibly warm. Why this should be in what is an otherwise brilliantly designed establishment, I'm not too sure.
Yet despite this I wouldn't give less than 5 stars. Why? Because I can forgive the minor irritation of not having anywhere to hang my dress when everything else is delightful. Gorgeous beds, cushions and throws. Fabulous bathrooms or wet rooms. The most amazing lighting in every room - I don't know who did their lighting but it's great. A turn-down service that leaves cookies, warm milk and chocolate stirrers so you can make your own bedtime drink. iPod docks, great bath products and just about every possible item catered for in case you've forgotten something. Coffee machine, teapot and loose leaf tea - I for one have been converted! A great mini bar and snack selection. Wonderful tv and wi-fi.
The bar in the basement is fun and very well run. The public rooms filled with large comfy sofas, books and magazines.
The staff themselves are very friendly and accommodating. Whatever we've asked for they have tried to help.
Parking is not a huge problem and unlike some similar places we've stayed in you are not left to your own devices. On checking in you are given a permit to place in your windscreen and advised to park in the road directly behind the hotel - cut through a side alley and it's less than a minute's walk.
Location wise it couldn't be bettered really. Montpellier's shops and bars are round the corner and the town centre is a short stroll away.
It's still a very new hotel and even though I've enjoyed both visits I found the second one smoother
and more relaxing than the first. I suppose it's a bedding-in process really. Fantastic weekend and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at 131, the staff couldn't do enough for us, we had excellent room 6 which was amazing. Would we stay there again? Most definately. We felt totally pampered & spoiled.
The location was very central & the food was also excellent.

Room Tip: Excellent room number 6 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJJ299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A small but perfectly formed hotel. The staff are all amazing, and we felt very welcome indeed. Room was immaculate, food in the restaurant delicious, and breakfast was excellent. Our 3 year old daughter loved it, and was made to feel very welcome by the staff. The complimentary croissants and orange juice outside the door was lovely in the morning, and the location was ideal for shops, small independent retailers and parks.

Special mention to the size of the bed, which was very generous, the comfort of the duvet and pillows, and the bathroom, which was lovely. Lots of old features, which have been very carefully kept to add real character.

The bar was also very well stocked with a wide range of high quality drinks, and the barman (Shane) was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel will put you in a slightly larger room if you have children, but as it was, our little one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 131

Property: No 131
Address: 131 Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No 131 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.131 is a Georgian Townhouse set on the promenade in the heart of Cheltenham. A home from home, classic on the outside, contemporary British on the inside. On the upper ground floor you'll find the elegant restaurant, bar and drawing rooms with 11 individually designed and spacious bedrooms gracing the floor above. The epitome of relaxed luxury, each feature sumptuous Egyptian bed linen, beautiful 100 Acres products and either roll top baths or walk in showers. Choose a grand Georgian bedroom overlooking Cheltenham's leafy gardens or a cosy hideaway with an antique Rogeat Lyon rolltop bath hidden in the eaves. Created by interior designer and owner Georgie Pearman, every detail has been accounted for with Egyptian cotton bed linen from Three Thieving Magpies, unique pieces of furniture and original artworks from William Kentridge, David Hockney, Sir Peter Blake, Banksy and Henry Hudson. Each room blends classic comforts with modern essentials. All rooms come with iPod docks, Nespresso machines, HD TV, Sky, and a mini-bar stocked with treats from local farmers and producers Our produce throughout is carefully sourced from British suppliers as close to home and Organic where possible, handpicked by our passionate Chefs. Whether it's an indulgent supper you're enjoying or a comforting brunch, the fresh ingredients bring the dishes to life. Downstairs discover our courtyard gardens and bar, our own little Den of iniquity, strong house cocktails, strong liquor and relaxed dining from breakfast, lunch until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your No 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing