We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit proved to be as good as we remembered”
Review of Burlington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House
Ranked #18 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petrolia, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our return visit proved to be as good as we remembered”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fred and Rita are very knowledgeable about Cheltenham and the area and provide a wonderful relaxing bed and breakfast experience. The breakfast is awesome and sets you up for the day. The rooms and bathrooms are of a high standard and very comfortable. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: All three rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
66
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Situated just outside the town, the rooms are tastefully furnished and modern, free wifi is available as well as freebiew tv. The owners are friendly and very helpful, it is conveniently located on a regular bus route which runs every 10 mins in the day and every 20 mins in the evening, its worth purchasing a day pass as its only a few pence more than a std return. Montpellier is a short distance away and offers a good selection of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Booked to stay here while exploring Cheltenham and Gloucester for potential living. I have very high standards of cleanliness and this place met them in every way. Stayed in the twin room with my son and he barely wanted to leave the comfort of the room. Bedding was all exceptionally clean, just like the rest of the room. Towels were spotless and fresh and shower was electric so no problems with cold showers or lack of pressure. Tea and coffee in room along with lovely packets of biscuits. Every detail is carefully taken into consideration in this place. The breakfast in the morning was exceptional and everything on the table spotless. I cannot find any faults! I am a non driving and the owners kindly gave me a lift to the station with my heavy luggage on checkout. I was also given great advice and lent bus timetables. Although situated outside of Cheltenham I found it very easy to get around by bus from the B and B. Overall a wonderful place with very lovely owners.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you find what you are looking for in the areas you are searching. We hope to see you again in the future.

kind regards,

Rita @ Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Just returned from a weekend in Cheltenham at the Burlington. The proprietors were away but the couple left in charge were lovely. Our radiator was not working in the bathroom but this was sorted out immediately. The price of a taxi to our party venue was extortionate and so we were whisked away in their car to the venue without any fuss. Breakfast was glorious and their friendliness was above and beyond the call of duty! Thank you. Will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Booked in with partner and in-laws for a stressful day of house-hunting. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating and the bedroom was very comfortable. We had no problem with the shower pressure as previous posters have done.

Breakfast was top-notch and they recommended several nice places to go and eat in Cheltenham town centre.

Lovely, would not hesitate to stay next time we're down.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWeeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Second time we've stayed here and highly recommend it, the owners are lovely, the rooms are great and the breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We travelled around the UK and Ireland with my sister and her husband in August 2011 on our first overseas holiday and I have to say our first experience in a B & B was a delight.
Rita and Fred were the most welcoming hosts and their B & B is gorgeously decorated. The bedrooms comfortable and breakfast yummy, Rita serves the best scrambled eggs with salmon!
The accomondation is also only a short drive to the town and very handy to the tourist drives.
From here we toured the Cotswolds which we loved, very quaint little villages, have to be seen to be believed. A lovely part of England.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar1232011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
581 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#5 of 70 in Cheltenham
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House

Property: Burlington House
Address: 418 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burlington House is a Victorian property refurbished to a very high standard, offering select guest accommodation on a B&B basis. We gained a Silver Award in July 2009 to enhance our four star rating. Situated on the main A40 Cheltenham to Gloucester Road, close to GCHQ, we are less than one mile from junction 11 of the M5 motorway and Cheltenham Spa railway station. We are also just over one mile from Cheltenham’s famous Montpellier district with a good selection of restaurants, wine bars and shops. We have off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burlington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing