We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly”
Review of Burlington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burlington House
Ranked #18 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely and friendly”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for one night while house hunting. Rita was full of advice for us on the best areas of Cheltenham! Our room was clean, modern, nice hot shower and quiet. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Very friendly, modern and good food! Top marks!!

Room Tip: We were in the double at the back of the building - had the back window open, could hardly hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we see you again at some time in the future.

Rita & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
67
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for one night while travelling home from our holiday in Wales.
Rita and Fred provided a very friendly welcome. They organised for us to change our room to a larger twin instead of a double to accommodate the travel cot they provided for our daughter.
The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated and the en-suite was a good size. The room was also exceptionally clean.
Rita set up an iron for me to use in her laundry in the basement and she even provided our daughter with milk for her bedtime bottle.
Our full English breakfast was very tasty and a good selection of fruit and ceral was also provided.
I will be recommending Burlington House to any friends or family looking to stay in the area as this is a lovely B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K4TE_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind remarks. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Rita & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at the Burlington House, Rita was very welcoming and did not bat an eyelid when we came back looking as if we had fallen in the river after our beautiful June summer weather.
Although it did not cause a problem - the room we had has its own private bathroom, in which you can lock your toiletries in, although this was not necessary, but it is across the landing.
The pleasant atmosphere on first entering and during breakfast was just so relaxing. It was a real pleasure to stay there. Rita gave us lots of information on the no.94 bus which proved very useful. The town is a flat 20-25 minute walk away, but the aforementioned bus stops virtually outside and can save sore feet!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1ways10st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be seeing you again at some time in the future.

Rita & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A very warm welcome from Rita! A home-like experience in Burlington House. Each room here has its theme color with very nice decorations. Rita gave me good ideas of Chelthenham, and we chatted like a friend. Breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERICK L, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at Burlington House .When we arived Rita welcomed us and showed us our room which was very nice ,very clean wonderful furnishings and facilities. The centre of cheltenham is only a 20 min pleasant walk where there are numerous bars and restaurants.The next morning Rita cooked us a fantastic breakfast .Overall to summarise a wonderful stay at a very nice location .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpseddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERICK L, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward, hopefully, to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

All we needed was a nice bed and breakfast to break up the long journey from our home in Manchester to our honeymoon resort in Cornwall. What we got, thanks to the hospitality of Rita and Fred and the beautiful look of the room was an amazing start to our honeymoon and the two of us looking forward to returning.They made an extra special effort for our stay and even gave us a congratulations card, bubbly and chocs! The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious and served with a chat and lots of smiles. We can't recommend the Burlington House strongly enough, it's a must if your in the area. A+++ !!!

Room Tip: The black and white room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanith_FRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERICK L, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully, looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

When you stay here....you dont get a bed and some breakfast....you get an experience !!!
Rita & Fred are 2 of the warmest caring and attentive hosts you could ever wish to meet hotel or no hotel !
I was given high quality service and was even asked how i wanted my individual items cooked for breakfast - this is NOT the norm for customer service in the uk and everyone else needs to take note !
The room was outstanding, very trendy and loud decor which i loved, and you even have a choice of several DVDs to play in the room.....
The bed was the most comfy i have ever slept in in my life ! and the breakfast was extremely high quality (Gorgeous mixed fruit salad & Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs cooked to perfection)....
Rita even went to the shop for me to get me some Soya Milk as I dont have dairy.....
Service second to none....all done with pleasure and some down to earth conversation thrown in too !
All in all......faultless !

Room Tip: doesnt matter !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERICK L, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#10 of 23 in Cheltenham
561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House

Property: Burlington House
Address: 418 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burlington House is a Victorian property refurbished to a very high standard, offering select guest accommodation on a B&B basis. We gained a Silver Award in July 2009 to enhance our four star rating. Situated on the main A40 Cheltenham to Gloucester Road, close to GCHQ, we are less than one mile from junction 11 of the M5 motorway and Cheltenham Spa railway station. We are also just over one mile from Cheltenham’s famous Montpellier district with a good selection of restaurants, wine bars and shops. We have off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Burlington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing