We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burlington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burlington House
Ranked #17 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First class B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very well presented; breakfasts good; and the travel advice very helpful. Fred printed out some information about a day tour of the Cotswolds for us that resulted in a really good day's outing. The house is on a bus route into Cheltenham - about 10 minutes or so into town; that made dining in town easy as we didn't have to worry about driving back. As with many English B&B's the room was up quite a few stairs but we were given assistance to get our bags up and down so not a problem for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
66
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Burlington House recently and were pleased to be greeted by Rita and Fred whose hospitality is warm, relaxed and friendly without being too over-bearing. They have obviously made every effort to provde facilities and a service which is of an extremely high standard. The Breakfast was first class and the rooms were very tastefully decorated and comfortable. We'll definitely be back next time we're in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Try and get the route with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WimbleSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for one night while house hunting. Rita was full of advice for us on the best areas of Cheltenham! Our room was clean, modern, nice hot shower and quiet. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Very friendly, modern and good food! Top marks!!

Room Tip: We were in the double at the back of the building - had the back window open, could hardly hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we see you again at some time in the future.

Rita & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for one night while travelling home from our holiday in Wales.
Rita and Fred provided a very friendly welcome. They organised for us to change our room to a larger twin instead of a double to accommodate the travel cot they provided for our daughter.
The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated and the en-suite was a good size. The room was also exceptionally clean.
Rita set up an iron for me to use in her laundry in the basement and she even provided our daughter with milk for her bedtime bottle.
Our full English breakfast was very tasty and a good selection of fruit and ceral was also provided.
I will be recommending Burlington House to any friends or family looking to stay in the area as this is a lovely B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K4TE_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind remarks. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Rita & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at the Burlington House, Rita was very welcoming and did not bat an eyelid when we came back looking as if we had fallen in the river after our beautiful June summer weather.
Although it did not cause a problem - the room we had has its own private bathroom, in which you can lock your toiletries in, although this was not necessary, but it is across the landing.
The pleasant atmosphere on first entering and during breakfast was just so relaxing. It was a real pleasure to stay there. Rita gave us lots of information on the no.94 bus which proved very useful. The town is a flat 20-25 minute walk away, but the aforementioned bus stops virtually outside and can save sore feet!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a1ways10st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddy74, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be seeing you again at some time in the future.

Rita & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

A very warm welcome from Rita! A home-like experience in Burlington House. Each room here has its theme color with very nice decorations. Rita gave me good ideas of Chelthenham, and we chatted like a friend. Breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERICK L, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at Burlington House .When we arived Rita welcomed us and showed us our room which was very nice ,very clean wonderful furnishings and facilities. The centre of cheltenham is only a 20 min pleasant walk where there are numerous bars and restaurants.The next morning Rita cooked us a fantastic breakfast .Overall to summarise a wonderful stay at a very nice location .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpseddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERICK L, Owner at Burlington House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward, hopefully, to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
1.2 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#5 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ravenhurst Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House

Property: Burlington House
Address: 418 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burlington House is a Victorian property refurbished to a very high standard, offering select guest accommodation on a B&B basis. We gained a Silver Award in July 2009 to enhance our four star rating. Situated on the main A40 Cheltenham to Gloucester Road, close to GCHQ, we are less than one mile from junction 11 of the M5 motorway and Cheltenham Spa railway station. We are also just over one mile from Cheltenham’s famous Montpellier district with a good selection of restaurants, wine bars and shops. We have off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Burlington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing