We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd...definitely style over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Having heard positive things about the Big Sleep in Cardiff (where we live) I thought the Big Sleep in Cheltenham would be a nice option for an overnight stay whilst in town for a friend’s wedding. Our first impressions were good, the hotel is in a central location and there’s overnight parking underneath the hotel. The staff at reception were friendly and the hotel breakfast room bright and colourful with Orla Kiely wallpaper. Our room was ok, but not really much better than a Travelodge or Premier Inn…just with patterned wallpaper and ‘funky’ furniture, but the bathroom was really clean. It’s a shame there are no blinds at the window, so you either had to have the big wooly curtains open (they looked and smelt like sheep!) and risk being seen changing by the house opposite, or get ready in a cave-like room! The hotel seemed to be a popular choice for hen parties and I can see why, but there is a nightclub nearby that played music until the early hours so not great if you need a good night’s sleep. With just a little bit more thought about what guests need from a hotel, rather then just focusing on the décor this could be a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenTraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was our second stay at the Big Sleep and we weren't disappointed - much better than it's 'budget' rivals. Fab central location with everything within close proximity. Rooms are spacious and brightly decorated. My only 2 issues are: 1. not all buttons worked on the tv remote (both stays) 2. I left my phone charger in the room, 3 phone calls to the hotel and no-one called me back and I've now been told it mysteriously hasn't been found. Therefore I'd recommend locking all valuables in the safe if housekeeping cannot be trusted with a phone charger! Working in the hotel industry this is the first time a phone charger has never been found and returned to me

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This is a no-frills hotel that is pretty comfortable. The rooms are a good size, as are the bathrooms, the shower was effective, the bed was fine, the bedding very good and the windows opened. It's smack in the middle of the town, too. There's no air con, and the first night was quite warm - so reception helpfully sent up a fan, which was appreciated. Breakfast is included in the low price, and includes cereals, yoghurt and a basic cooked breakfast - not wonderful, but fine. We were there in the week and the hotel was empty-ish, so the breakfast room was also empty. There's a £5 a night charge to park the car in their garage -again, this was fairly empty. Things might well be different at the weekend - when there might be more street noise too. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: At the end of the corridor away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Despite the reviews i found this hotel perfectly suitable! Wonderful central location and good room with TV. No problems sleeping, only issue is that the decor may not be to everyone's taste but it won't affect your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydiaibbotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

There is always a slight paradox with city centre hotels in that the closer to the centre they are, the more likely you are to be woken at 3am by either guests coming in or rowdy people in the street outside. We found neither here, despite staying on a Saturday night, so that's a thumbs up for a start. The car park was full when we arrived but as we had read the reviews and knew you had to pay, we found a nearby municipal car park at a comparable price - not ideal if you have lots of luggage and/or young children but fine for us. It would be good if you had an option to book a parking space when booking the room, and there is no indication that the car park may be full when you arrive.

Staff are very efficient and friendly. Room was large and funkily decorated. It made a nice change from the coffee and cream Next catalogue look which you find in so many hotels. I think if you are going to go cheap and cheerful you might as well go colourful as well, very refreshing and there was a sign on the building saying it had won some kind of building refurb award.

To echo the previous reviewer on breakfast, it was pretty chaotic and the coffee was pretty disgusting. At the very least, the buffet needs to be laid out along a full wall, not in a corner. What we got near was fine, and I would prefer to do battle with it than have the price of the room inflated by the use of waiting staff.

The TV was having some problems, apparently due to the recent digital switchover, but the volume also kept going up when it was off, which isn't good in a hotel (although it proved the soundproofing is working).

Overall, I would definitely recommend for a night or two.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

There seems to be a dearth of hotels near the town cente in Cheltenham, but this one is ideally located. There is a small carpark beneath the hotel charging £5 a night which we thought was reasonable. Staff are efficient and friendly, checking in and out was quick and hassle-free.

The rooms are light and airy, and even quite spacious, which we weren't expecting for an "economy" type hotel. Furnishings are comfortable and minimalist. Have to mention though, I'm not usually fussed about decor but wth were they thinking with the curtains?! They looked like they were made of teddy bear fur, ugly dust traps. No inner curtains so you have to keep the teddy bear fur shut all morning until you are up and dressed or the lucky neighbours opposite will get an eyefull. (We don't go for nets these days but there are a lot of nice alternatives, why do so many hotels miss this?).

There isn't any issue with noise, although we heard latecomers in the corridor arriving back after 1am-ish, there is good soundproofing between the rooms.

The majority of guests were young couples in their 20's but there were also a few young families and older coples (40+ like ourselves) so we didn't feel out of place.

Breakfast food was nice but the system is chaotic; the L-shaped buffet in the corner just doesn't work, with people crammed together to be able to get access to anything. I didn't bother with the hot items (bacon and sausage) even though it looked good, or fruit juice as I just couldn't get near it. The coffee was surprisingly awful.

But all in all, a good experience and we would be happy to stay in a Big Sleep again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ceeljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great location and convenient (if limited) car park. Good rates. Excellent staff- very friendly and helpful.
Our room had a broken toilet flush. We told reception and were immediately moved to another room.
The bathroom wasn't great- it was big, in a wet-room style layout, but the shower literally swamped the entire bathroom- almost to the carpet of the bedroom!

The Walls are thin and you can hear pretty much everything- so not ideal if you're after a romantic getaway or decent nights sleep. Having said that, the location is great and perfect for large groups (hen and stags for example).

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rastamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £40 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citrus Hotel Cheltenham is located in the Centre of Cheltenham. The hotel offers a choice of 59 bedrooms, 2 meeting rooms, and on-site Bar and Restaurant. We offer great value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home – whether you’re visiting us for business or leisure. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham prides itself on being simple and very modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone – from the businessman or overseas traveler to families looking for a well deserved short break. Check out our great value short break offers and promotions – available to book direct. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs, broadband access*, WiFi*, room safes, hairdryers, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham is dog-friendly and charges apply, please contact the hotel for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing