We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 20 May 2012

On arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful and sorted out car parking in their underground car park. There are 29 spaces available on a first come first served basis at a cost of £5 per night. If you move your car, you might lose your space. You can also leave your car there at a cost of £1 an hour after check out - a bargain compared to street parking costs!
Our room on the third floor was spacious and clean. The curtains which have been mentioned previously are odd to the say the least but the furniture was funky and it was different than the usual bog standard hotel room. The bathroom was reasonably clean but soap scum around the bath let it down - this is a hard water area and as we used to live in the town we know it can be a problem but it is easily resolved and should have been. The bed linen was spotless and the bed reasonably comfy.
Noise was a bit irritating but the website does mention it so you are warned beforehand. Bars and clubs are close by and people were shouting in the street at closing times. The other problem is the door which separates the bedroom corridor from the stairs. It is locked and a key card is needed to open it (great idea for security) but it being opened and allowed to slam shut by other guests drove us crazy especially the girl hammering on the door at 2am as she had forgotten her key card. Nothing the hotel can do but my advice would be ask for a room at the far end of the corridor away from this door and hopefully you will not be disturbed.
Breakfast was included in the £49 room charge and was a lovely surprise. We'd expected cereal and toast but there was also pastries, croissants, hot food, juices, hot drinks and fresh fruit. There was plenty available and the quality was good. Much better than a lot of high end hotels we've stayed in.
This hotel is a great place to stay if you are visiting the Cheltenham area for a couple of nights - any more and the street noise would start to grate - unless you are visiting the bars etc yourself!! We would definitely stay there again before other buget hotels in the area

Room Tip: Get a room away from the security door at the start of the bedroom corridor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Walked into the room to be greated to a horrendous smell which even after leaving the windows open (until the music out side become unbareable at 5am!) Did not help. Carpet needed a good Hoover and the curtains were the uglyest monstrosity I've ever seen. Carparking is VERY minimal and also chargeable which I hadn't realised. Staff were uninterested and blunt. Would not want to stay again

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selfhuggingjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Overall graet value and the staff were extreamly helpful, we were in the area for a race and they found a secure area inside for our bikes and made us a pack up breakfast as we had a very early start.

Only down side was the near by bars and night clubs meant there was alot of poeple shouting on the street out side fron 1-4am

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Booked at the last minute based on the good reviews. Once we arrived we were greeted by a great service and brilliant room. Clean, tidy and stylishly modern. Very impressed and a great nights sleep

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very good location in centre of Cheltenham. Very friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Room was comfortable enough and overall no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Wasnt sure what we were really getting when we booked online, but we were really pleased, so much so, we booked an extra night!
Well positioned for an easy walk into the town, although bars and restaurants are literally just round the corner, also, you get discount in some of the local places if you show the flyer your'e given!!
Rooms are functional but very modern and clean as is the bathroom which had the option of shower or bath.
Nice little 24hour bar!!
Breakfast is self service, as you would expect, but only sausage, bacon or boiled egg!!
No beans etc, but good continental choice, including danish pastries :)
The only bug bear was the key cards which didnt work very often but the very helpful staff soon got things sorted.
This was extremely good value for money, £109 for 2 nights, plus parking

Room Tip: cant really help as our room overlooked a small street, but doubt you get much of a view anywhere, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Staff at the Big Sleep Hotel were very polite and friendly. They supplied us with a map of Cheltenham and a list of restaurants where we would get discount if we showed our room cards, plus an extra 'where to eat booklet', these were very helpful.
There is a 24hour bar to the left side of the reception area and to the right is a funky seating area leading to a brighly coloured dining area.
Our bedroom was thankfully a toned down blue colour, with all the basics catered for. We were pleased to find there were toiletries in the bathroom and a hairdryer. We were also pleased to find that each floor was only accessible with your room keycard, which made us feel secure.
We had a room at the back and found it to be lovely and quiet. There was adequate ventilation and the room temperature was contollable, we found it just right.
We liked the fact there was a safe in the room and that there were extra pillows provided in a protective dust case. We liked the thick towels provided.
The breakfast was excellent for a budget hotel! A very good choice of cereal, yoghurts, fruit, toast, bacon, sausage, croissants, pastries, and boiled egg. Along with coffee, tea, milk and fruit juice.
The hotel is situated in a central position within easy reach of the shops and restaurants and just 5 minutes from the coach/bus terminus. The train station is around a 30 minute walk. There is a car park for the hotel but it does seem quite small, and I think there is a charge for this.
Guests have use of a nearby gym free of charge, but we didn't have time to have a look at these facilities, even so, its a nice added bonus in the price!
All in all this hotel, even though a bit like an upmarket Travelodge, is a pleasant friendly place to stay, especially if you get it for the budget price of £35 (we paid a little more as booked last minute).
The room could of been a little cleaner in the corners and on the windowsill, but nothing too bad. The bedding and bathroom were clean. The decor wasn't to our taste with the fluffy 'carpet like' curtains and plastic chair which was marked with crayon? But it wasn't something that would put us off going again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ittlepuddytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £40 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citrus Hotel Cheltenham is located in the Centre of Cheltenham. The hotel offers a choice of 59 bedrooms, 2 meeting rooms, and on-site Bar and Restaurant. We offer great value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home – whether you’re visiting us for business or leisure. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham prides itself on being simple and very modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone – from the businessman or overseas traveler to families looking for a well deserved short break. Check out our great value short break offers and promotions – available to book direct. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs, broadband access*, WiFi*, room safes, hairdryers, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham is dog-friendly and charges apply, please contact the hotel for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing