We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy and uncomfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in Cheltenham, since we knew we'd not be in the room for very long we picked a cheap central hotel.

Firstly the decor was so tacky and cheap. The strange glass sliding door bathroom which came off the runner frequently was odd enough without the curtains that looked like a few cookie monsters had died to make them.

The hotel did nothing to help us check in earlier than 3pm and the car park was so difficult to manoeuvre into it was crammed with tiny spaces. Nothing here was complimentary. The parking is £5 per night plus £1 per hour extra if you need to park before a 3pm check in. The wifi was £1.99 an hour! I genuinely didn't realise that places still charged for wifi none of the other budget hotel chains do.

The TV was broken in all of our three rooms due to a problem with the signal that they were waiting to get repaired. Since we had an hour to kill we asked if we could get free wifi to watch TV online and were told we couldn't because the problem with the TV was beyond their control.

The bed was very uncomfortable I could feel the springs through the mattress.

We were woken up at 3am by drunken shouting that sounded directly outside our window. Very noisy location.

The rooms seemed clean enough and the staff were professsional if not overtly friendly. I would not recommend staying here. There's a Holiday Inn around the corner that I'll be staying at if I ever need to come back to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach96417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    241
    137
    63
    36
See reviews for
67
253
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

It does what it says on the tin. Excellent location and very helpful staff on the front desk. The key cards for the rooms are a bit annoying and has a feel of fort Knox, the carpark is incredibly small and costs a fiver to park in. Breakfast is all you can eat though which is a perfect cure for a hangover. Overall not a bad place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Shocking staff reception , after driving for hours, it's not much to expect something that resembles a friendly welcome rather than a cold " you just interrupted me watching Jeremy Kyle" glare! Lacking in every way except for the proximity to night nice which basically sounds like its in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trsw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed. When we turned up it turned out my room had been booked for the wrong date, 2 weeks in the past. Staff did absolutely nothing to help except make me book another room at full price, and were unsympathetic and smug. The walls are so thin we could hear people coughing and rustling plastic bags in the next room, and there were thumping basslines coming in through the window until the early hours. Breakfast was cheap and nasty meat, warm yoghurts and the worst coffee I have ever tasted. Contacted "customer service" for a refund and it turned out the guy I had been dealing with had LIED ABOUT HIS NAME, as they had no record of any staff working there with that name!!! Customer service just as smug and unhelpful as the liar on the desk. It's really terrible here and I wish I had never set foot in the place as it has led to nothing but frustration and disappointment. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Questifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stay in The Big Sleep every year at the same time, on business, and it has always met my needs well. The rooms are large and clean. The breakfast was lovely with a wide choice of pastries, bacon, sausages, eggs, yoghurt, cheese, cereal, juice, coffee, toast, etc.

I was surprised to see so many people at breakfast, since it was so quiet that I had assumed that the hotel was half empty. Oh, and I loved the huge flat screen TV and friendly room service.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. After a long international flight, followed by work the next day, the hotel delivered just what I wanted: a big sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

If Timmy Mallet brought out an interior range in the early 90s, I'm convinced it wouldn't be as bad this. Combine that with the kind of furniture suitable only for a new born baby boy and you're getting close to our blissful retreat.

There was what can only be described as 'a rug' pretending to be a curtain hanging vertical across the width of the room, much like the it was a costume dress cupboard for Monster Inc. This combined with thin and slightly sticky carpet tiles. Not forgetting the faint aroma of sick meets bleach lingering in the air.

It was a cheap option, but not a pleasant one.

Positive points - location, car parking underneath and friendly staff. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartley87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel in a good location to explore the centre of Cheltenham. The staff were friendly and made you feel very welcome. Rooms were a fair size and clean although the fluffy curtains were a bit weird. Buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold food.

There was a slight problem with noise from the surrounding bars at night and the seagulls did wake up early but you do expect some disruption staying in the town centre.

Would definately use again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadlerkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing