We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where they get the name big sleep from ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where they get the name big sleep from ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent a weekend at this hotel, upon arrival the hotel looked really cheap and unfriendly. The room was clean and acceptable until you spent time in there and noticed the damp windows. Bathroom was adequate but the door was terribly flimsy and there was not much point of having a door. Not sure where they got the name big sleep from as i didnt sleep and heard doors banging all night. Take your own hairdryer as it throw no heat out and just blows your hair round a bit.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktrilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Owner at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    235
    133
    63
    36
See reviews for
66
244
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at The Big Sleep on a wednesday and thursday. Basic hotel, friendly reception staff, good location as good walking distance to town and restaurants. However, woken in the night by shouting and shreiking in the street, this occured on both nights then at 8 on thursday morning by electrical contractors banging and crashing around as they parked their van under our window at the back of the hotel to work up the road. Had to sleep with the window open otherwise too hot. Not nets on windows so had to dress in the bathroom as windows of other buildings across from the hotel felt like you were on stage. Shower either was two strong jets or a mediocre set of jets so difficult to wash longer hair and bathroom door would not shut so could be embarassing if with a friend and not your partner!! Modern, basic but too basic for us. Would rather pay more and get more comfort. The room is not one that you wish to come back to early if the weather is cold. Paid £55 per night so after reading other reviews don't think we did too badly pricewise.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if they have them and keep your windows shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonRose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the big sleep cheltenham about a month ago. we rented the suite for 80 for the night.. the bed wasnt comfortable (main thing about a hotel room) bathroom was clean. a few hairs on the side which is hard to not see when everything was white. furniture was scratched and worn (the furniture is cheap so dont see why it cant be replaced) the tv only picked up one channel (football..) we ordered room service and they had none of the cakes advertised which was a bit poor for a monday night. i know its cheap accomodation but advertising a suite kind of suggests quality. i work in a hotel myself and would expect the same standards in a big chain but guess not. a bit disapointed overall, would recomend if you just need somewhere to crash but not for a nice night in.

Room Tip: The suite isnt much better than the standard rooms. pay more somewhere else if you want luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Owner at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

So the big sleep (so so if the seagulls would shut up) they have parking spaces in basement of building be careful if you have a large car as it is very tight, Plus they do charge 5 pound per night,, the hotel reception and eating area is bright but could do with a bit of a facelift and the chairs could do with a good clean, for the room nice a big but again could do with a bit of a facelift, ( i do not agree with letting pets in hotels ) but then again i did book there knowing this. So it all its expensive for a night (70 pound for night) but it is cheltenham so it was one of the cheapest i could find as we went there in a group, One thing breakfast was good but be careful as not the biggist room in the world, so if you do just want a night in a bed and is cheap yeah not that bad, but on the other hand have spent that kind of monies and have had a lot more,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trikeyofftokenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is clean and service is with a smile. The location is right in the centre of town but that comes with its problems as well as its convenience.
We paid £85 a night to stay in a suite. On arrival the hotel corridors and rooms smelt musky. The room itself I think was kitted out my Ikea. Very basic room indeed and all we got for a suite was a larger bathroom although this was not a separate room at all. More like open plan. The decor was ugly and the curtains???? Wooly!!!

The real problems came late at night. The hotel is just around the corner from some nightspots and we were kept awake most of the night by the drunken screams and hollering from the streets below. Made worse by the fact that there was no ventilation other than the windows which we had to keep open. This was on a Monday, although the Tuesday was much quieter. There was also an annoying whining noise which I think was coming from the ventilation
System which clearly wasn't working. A ventilation switch on the wall didn't do anything.

Breakfast was dreadful. A selection of cereals, pastries with bacon and sausages and hard boiled eggs.

The coffee was from a machine and awful. Undrinkable in fact. The Pastry I had was dry and hard.

The second day we didn't bother eating breakfast at all and checked out instead.

If we had paid a budget rate for this budget hotel it would have been better value for money. Maybe £50 for the room we had is more appropriate.

Wouldn't stay here again. :0(

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulder_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have just stayed here for 2 nights. After reading the very mixed reviews on here we went with an open mind. The hotel is very quirky and not really sure if it works. the room was pleasant, large and perfect for a short break. The hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a good spring clean. the curtains are certainly different!!!!!!!!!
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice though the girl who worked there did have trouble smiling. The staff on the reception were lovely and very helpful in finding us places to eat. their recommendation was perfect.
The hotel is so central to cheltenham and yes you do get noise from the clubs but it doesnt last for long and after all that retail therapy sleep came easliy.
We will certainly be staying here again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Its worth doing a comparison of prices for hotels in the centre of Cheltenham. This one wins hands down and is in a cracking position, literally a couple of minutes walk from the main shopping centre.
OK, it is a bit quirky and probably not to everyone's taste but we liked the woolly back curtains and the rectangular decor. The room was clean and excellently cleaned each day and we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The place is starting to show its age a bit especially in the slightly grubby aluminium window frames and if you want to get your giant limo in the underground car park you may spend some time trying to get it to fit - but overall this place is so much cheaper than anything else in the vicinity that its a no-brainer.
Self-serve breakfast is great - lots of choice and unlimited quantities.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnieclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing