We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like the No Sleep hotel...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More like the No Sleep hotel...!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay on business. First impressions of reception were good, modern, funky and clean. Overnight receptionist was a very polite and friendly guy, so far so good.

However, the room was not to my taste at all. It seemed to have been decorated in an ironic retro vibe but they haven't got the style right so it just comes across as dated. The minimal retro grey and pink furniture is more dodgy 80's formica rather than the fashionable retro vibe which I assume they are going for.

The bathroom needs a refurb; it was grubby, mouldy and the shower head was full of lime scale. Cleanliness was poor. The towels though were very good quality. The carpet in the room was really low budget and I didn't feel comfortable walking on it without footwear as it didn't seem hygienic.

The bed was comfortable with good quality linens and extra pillows. The fleece throw was an unnecessary addition as it appeared grubby. The curtains were outrageous - skanky matted fake fur: weird. Single glazing meant that I hardly slept, it was noisy outside and this was a weekday.

Breakfast was good for the price. My main conclusion is that I would rather pay more money and have the place feel a lot more hygienic and a little less quirky. There's a lot to be said for a "sterile" atmosphere in a budget hotel, it gives a better impression of cleanliness. This place, in its current form, is not for me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    241
    137
    63
    36
See reviews for
67
253
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Not easy to find without a sat nav! This is a big hotel that operates like a budget hotel. Linen and towels were clean and good quality and although the bed was very low it was comfortable. Glass sliding door to the bathroom was not to our liking and it was not on the runners properly but at least their was a bath with a shower over!
Staff are helpful but very casual in their approach. Breakfast was somewhere between a continental affair and an English breakfast but seemed unfinished either way you looked at it!
A good central location is the hotels best attribute and it gave us what we wanted - a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldagetrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

i spent 1 night and to my horror another guest unlocked my door with his key card, i was running a bath at the time so i was horrified, when i called reception i was told there had been a computer error and it shouldn't happen again, needless to say i didn't sleep to well, then to top it off the breakfast was revolting,

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1 night. Picked it due to the cost and location. It is literally round the corner from all of the shops which we found very useful.
We booked a suite at £90 per night which I thought was great value. Lovely large room, king size bed and a big bath with separate walk in shower and toilet off of the bathroom. Room had everything we needed and it was at the end of the corridor so it was nice and quiet. We both slept really well.
Breakfast was fine and a good selection.
We used the hotel carpark which was £5. Compact spaces and not many.
Would defiantly stay here again due to the location and cost.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We got the last room in the hotel the weekend of Cheltenham Races - the price for the room had been bumped up considerably because of the high demand - £350 for a twin for two nights, with no refund if there was a change of plan. We had stayed at the hotel before and knew that the accommodation was largely fine, when we payed £200 for the same room in March, that seemed reasonable. What we got for the extra money was not something we were wanting - being kept awake for about 4 hours by very loud drunk Irish men who were swearing and cursing and literally falling against our door. When I told them to shut up they called me a very nasty name. The management did not do enough to sort the problem out, even though our room was about 3 doors from reception. Be warned!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 685Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Receptionist looked like he had been dragged off the street with breath that could strip wall paper. Hotel is worn and grubby with high noise levels from outside (single glazing not good for a city centre hotel) and ill fitting thin doors to the rooms which also let light in from the corridors. bed uncomfortable with ripped bedding. Nasty breakfast consisting standard cereals, toast concentrated juice but also stale danish and bad coffee with an option of dry looking sausage and bacon which not suprisingly I passed on. parking a car cost extra and if you have a large car you must park down an unlit, unsecure back street. Avoid.

Room Tip: if you want a good room choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights during the Festival and so it was very busy. The best part of the hotel was the staff who were uniformly friendly, helpful and positive. It is a shame though that the hotel is so shabby - clearly past its best in terms of decor. The TV in my room didn't work very well, the ornamental bed drape was grubby and the bathroom needed a good scrub. Breakfast was very basic, but plentiful. Also, I was staying alone and didn't like walking back late at night - the hotel is on a road that is definitely not Cheltenham's chicest! I would stay again, but I'd pack wetwipes!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing