We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget option with handy town centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 16 December 2012

You get what you pay for, but this is good value if you are looking for somewhere withing walking distance of the town centre or your jaded by Premier Inn purple. There is limited and cramped parking in the basement but at £5 its worth it. The griound floor is pretty spartan but livened up by citrus coloured furniture in the breakfast area. Staff were on the ball and courteous. The room was a reasonable size, bathroom had a glass door (funky designers!) and everything was in reasonable nick. Windows are single glazed and, although we were not disturbed, could be a problem on party nights. Breakfast is inclusive. Although not raising spirits for the day ahead, there was a reasonable selection and the member of staff on duty replenished stocks and kept tables cleared.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay on business. First impressions of reception were good, modern, funky and clean. Overnight receptionist was a very polite and friendly guy, so far so good.

However, the room was not to my taste at all. It seemed to have been decorated in an ironic retro vibe but they haven't got the style right so it just comes across as dated. The minimal retro grey and pink furniture is more dodgy 80's formica rather than the fashionable retro vibe which I assume they are going for.

The bathroom needs a refurb; it was grubby, mouldy and the shower head was full of lime scale. Cleanliness was poor. The towels though were very good quality. The carpet in the room was really low budget and I didn't feel comfortable walking on it without footwear as it didn't seem hygienic.

The bed was comfortable with good quality linens and extra pillows. The fleece throw was an unnecessary addition as it appeared grubby. The curtains were outrageous - skanky matted fake fur: weird. Single glazing meant that I hardly slept, it was noisy outside and this was a weekday.

Breakfast was good for the price. My main conclusion is that I would rather pay more money and have the place feel a lot more hygienic and a little less quirky. There's a lot to be said for a "sterile" atmosphere in a budget hotel, it gives a better impression of cleanliness. This place, in its current form, is not for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Not easy to find without a sat nav! This is a big hotel that operates like a budget hotel. Linen and towels were clean and good quality and although the bed was very low it was comfortable. Glass sliding door to the bathroom was not to our liking and it was not on the runners properly but at least their was a bath with a shower over!
Staff are helpful but very casual in their approach. Breakfast was somewhere between a continental affair and an English breakfast but seemed unfinished either way you looked at it!
A good central location is the hotels best attribute and it gave us what we wanted - a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldagetrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

i spent 1 night and to my horror another guest unlocked my door with his key card, i was running a bath at the time so i was horrified, when i called reception i was told there had been a computer error and it shouldn't happen again, needless to say i didn't sleep to well, then to top it off the breakfast was revolting,

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1 night. Picked it due to the cost and location. It is literally round the corner from all of the shops which we found very useful.
We booked a suite at £90 per night which I thought was great value. Lovely large room, king size bed and a big bath with separate walk in shower and toilet off of the bathroom. Room had everything we needed and it was at the end of the corridor so it was nice and quiet. We both slept really well.
Breakfast was fine and a good selection.
We used the hotel carpark which was £5. Compact spaces and not many.
Would defiantly stay here again due to the location and cost.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We got the last room in the hotel the weekend of Cheltenham Races - the price for the room had been bumped up considerably because of the high demand - £350 for a twin for two nights, with no refund if there was a change of plan. We had stayed at the hotel before and knew that the accommodation was largely fine, when we payed £200 for the same room in March, that seemed reasonable. What we got for the extra money was not something we were wanting - being kept awake for about 4 hours by very loud drunk Irish men who were swearing and cursing and literally falling against our door. When I told them to shut up they called me a very nasty name. The management did not do enough to sort the problem out, even though our room was about 3 doors from reception. Be warned!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 685Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Receptionist looked like he had been dragged off the street with breath that could strip wall paper. Hotel is worn and grubby with high noise levels from outside (single glazing not good for a city centre hotel) and ill fitting thin doors to the rooms which also let light in from the corridors. bed uncomfortable with ripped bedding. Nasty breakfast consisting standard cereals, toast concentrated juice but also stale danish and bad coffee with an option of dry looking sausage and bacon which not suprisingly I passed on. parking a car cost extra and if you have a large car you must park down an unlit, unsecure back street. Avoid.

Room Tip: if you want a good room choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
681 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £42 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing