We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Great Wyrley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Customer Service”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked last minute. Very reasonably priced for a city centre hotel. The rooms were spotless and the service was fantastic. Breakfast was good for continental and the car parking was very reasonable. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from reception as it was a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    250
    142
    65
    37
See reviews for
72
261
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golf Del Sur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had a one night stay with our three grandchildren visiting family, Our room was very spacious with bunk beds and a Z bed and a very comfortable double bed there was also a self catering option,
Breakfast was very good with a choice of fruit juice bacon sausage and boiled eggs,We will be back again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felixpippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Central location in the heart of all the beautiful buildings of Cheltenham, but on a quiet side road. The building is a former tax office, and has been 'retro-fitted' in more ways than one. The theme is 1960s in an Austin Powers kind of way, but very basic. The owner was a formica manufacturer I believe, so most surfaces are formica. My room was a large size and covered in powder blue formica. o.k. double bed, though a bit low and again, formica round the sides. Furry blue curtains were in keeping with the theme of the room. Ensuite had a bath and over-bath shower; no problems.

Breakfast was 8-10am at the weekend, served in a bright primary coloured area near the reception. Help yourself to continental and a limited cooked range. No problems.

I wouldn't recommend this for a romantic getaway, unless you wanted a retro vibe; might be good fun for a 60s themed stag or hen do. The corridors were a bit loud with people coming in and out though at night. My keycard stopped working because 'they get wiped if they get in contact with a mobile phone or a credit card'.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a Budget Hotel, it says it clearly at the entrance. It is in the heart of the town and its cheap, so if you don't want a bit of noise or some lesser facilities try The Queens Hotel and pay 5 or 6 times more. Cannot understand why people stay at budget hotels then expect all the facilities etc of the Ritz. The furniture /decor is basically blue and white and stark but perfectly acceptable for most people, after all you are not staying in your room all day. Bathroom is spacious and clean, no lock on the door so whistle loudly if you do not want to be distubed. Breakfast pretty much standard hotel brekkie but bacon just as I like it ,I went back for more - twice actually - the eggs were hard boiled but at least I did'nt get fried egg on my shirt. The hotel as you may have guessed, is in the town centre, the staff are friendly, helpful and pleasant, the bar is basic but it serves drinks at reasonable prices, what else could you possibly want. Duiring our stay the llft gave up the ghost and we had to plod up the stairs but the reception offered to help us with our bags, but she who must be obeyed, said I needed the exercise so the offer was refused. One final point, the curtains were out of this world, blue woolly curtains, beleive me, you could,nt make it up. Please Big Sleep Hotel can you send me a pair, 72 inch drop 60 inch wide. This budget hotel really cuts the mustard.

Room Tip: Presuming the rooms are basically the same any roomn will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilmorelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Its very modern with almost wacky interiors (powder blue fluffy curtains). The rooms are a good size. The breakfast is simple continental. It has on site parking, its in a very good position in the town centre. The most impressive thing about this hotel is the price, £50 per room makes this good value for money (even if the lifts didn’t work!)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This hotel is in a very central part of cheltenham and although it is a budget hotel it was perfectly suitable for our needs.The room was clean and the bathroom was nice and spacious. I loved the blue furry curtains! The breakfast room was bright and cheerful wlth plenty of choice to eat. I would say the bacon was the best i've tasted in a long while. For the price we paid we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

This place is ok, that's about it. My double room was £50 and that's probably about the right price. The hotel has a great location and on site parking - note, if you drive a 4x4 you will struggle to park it! The open space decor and room decor are bright but not what I would call contemporary or funky - think more play school. That's it, it's a bit like a seven year olds understanding of contemporary! I had an ok night sleep, ok breakfast, and it was cheap and cheerful - didn't expect any more for £50.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jameslewis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing