We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed for Saturday night, room was spotless if not a tad sterile looking but quirky all the same. Parking was a very reasonable £5 p/n but limited in space and not just in the number of spaces available! Staff nice and friendly, and breakfast looked simple buffet style but appetising, regret now passing on it for a more substantial option in town which turned out to be dire! Only criticism I had was the water pressure was very poor both Sat evening and Sun morning, could just about get wet if I wanted the water hot at the same time. Would defo seek another Big Sleep out if looking for a budget hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    246
    140
    63
    37
See reviews for
70
257
42
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Having previously stayed at this hotel about a year ago and liking it my partner and I decided to return. Last time we stayed in a double room which was perfectly adequate considering the low price and fantastic location. We arrived an hour before check-in and our room wasn't ready, but we were able to leave our bags with the hotel whilst we wandered round the town for an hour. This time we decided to pay a little extra for a suite which was located on the top floor of the hotel. The room was much bigger than the double rooms, the bed was HUGE and the bathroom was pretty big too - It has an open-plan feel with a double ended bath behind the bed and a big walk in shower as well as 2 sinks (although one was leaking so we just used the other sink!) I would call this a basic suite and you get what you pay for - Some people may be disappointed but personally I thought it was good for the money, considering the size of the room, and the location of the hotel which is right in the centre of Cheltenham. The car park is only small and I was lucky enough to get the last available space when I arrived at about 2pm on a Saturday. Apparently there are 2 car parks very close to the hotel should you not get a space. The breakfast in the morning is ok - not fantastic but again you get what you pay for and if you fancy a full English there are plenty of cafes' round the corner in town! Cereals, toast, bacon, sausages and hard boiled eggs available as well as some croissants. Sufficient for us anyway.
I would say that as long as you remember that this is a budget hotel you wont be disappointed at all. You cant expect 5* when paying less after all. A great hotel to stay in if you just want a bed for the night. I would return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cheltenham is an expensive place. They get a lot of tourist trade for the Cotswolds and the horse racing and so all year round you'll be paying London rates for accommodation. £100 a night for a couple is normal here.

This hotel is a bargain. They've taken an old tax office building with old infrastructure and done a lovely job of updating it using a bold and modern design which means it doesn't feel like a budget hotel. The room was large and airy with huge windows which open. Everything was spotlessly clean and large bed was comfortable. We stayed on a Saturday night, on the 4th floor and with the windows open. Slept like logs.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice enough, though the tea was weak and bland and coffee was typical automatic-machine weak stuff. The lift was amusingly slow.

As a place to crash "big sleep", this is very nice and above your usual big chain standards. If you're here for a holiday experience, perhaps pay a bit more and stay in a B&B. Or get a normal Cheltenham hotel at £150 a night.

Parking - The hotel has 60 rooms but only 12 parking spaces. So plan ahead if you have a car, don't just turn up and expect a space. On-street parking is about £2 per hour up to 8pm. Also there is a little private car park nearby and the lady that runs it offered to let us park there at hotel rates (she's there until 6pm), but we got a space round the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor is quieter. Get there early if you want cheap parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were attended an event at the town hall and stayed over for a couple of nights at the Big Sleep. It is a budget hotel right in the centre of Cheltenham and was a very good price.

Found the staff friendly and helpful, offering advice of places to eat and various restaurants around the town offer a discount. The décor is sort of 1960 and we found the blue woolly curtains in the room fun. It does have car parking but the spaces under the hotel are impossible for anything but a moped.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy and had a hairdryer and a bath.

As it is in the centre of town we did get a little noise from the young going home on the second night (Saturday) but nothing too excessive.

Couple of minor things wrong such as a couple of the electrical sockets seem a little temperamental (would work sometimes and other not) and the plug in bathroom sink didn't work. One of the plastic chairs in the rom had a large crack in it.

The breakfast is Continental style but did also offer bacon, sausages and strangely hard boiled eggs. Breakfast had plenty of variety on offer and of a reasonable quality for this type of hotel.

We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wyrley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked last minute. Very reasonably priced for a city centre hotel. The rooms were spotless and the service was fantastic. Breakfast was good for continental and the car parking was very reasonable. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from reception as it was a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golf Del Sur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had a one night stay with our three grandchildren visiting family, Our room was very spacious with bunk beds and a Z bed and a very comfortable double bed there was also a self catering option,
Breakfast was very good with a choice of fruit juice bacon sausage and boiled eggs,We will be back again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felixpippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Central location in the heart of all the beautiful buildings of Cheltenham, but on a quiet side road. The building is a former tax office, and has been 'retro-fitted' in more ways than one. The theme is 1960s in an Austin Powers kind of way, but very basic. The owner was a formica manufacturer I believe, so most surfaces are formica. My room was a large size and covered in powder blue formica. o.k. double bed, though a bit low and again, formica round the sides. Furry blue curtains were in keeping with the theme of the room. Ensuite had a bath and over-bath shower; no problems.

Breakfast was 8-10am at the weekend, served in a bright primary coloured area near the reception. Help yourself to continental and a limited cooked range. No problems.

I wouldn't recommend this for a romantic getaway, unless you wanted a retro vibe; might be good fun for a 60s themed stag or hen do. The corridors were a bit loud with people coming in and out though at night. My keycard stopped working because 'they get wiped if they get in contact with a mobile phone or a credit card'.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing