We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Budget but comfy”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on a Wednesday night as we were going to a gig at the Town Hall. We paid £55 which included breakfast. Upon arrival it was clear that this hotel is perfectly situated for shopping being just off the Main Street and also very close to the Town hall. There is underground parking which is on a first come basis and costs £6 per night. In the reception area there is a very vibrant decor ( the hotel is one of three in the UK and is owned by John Malkovich the actor and partners) our room although funkily decorated, was slightly battered with the heater on the wall showing burn makes, the windows were old metal framed, the furniture had recently been painted but the chips and cracks had been painted over instead of furniture being replaced! The bathroom was also a tad shabby and our curtains were a sight to behold- being full length blue fur!!! Having said all this the room and bathroom was very comfortable and clean. I have two particular foibles, one being the size and quality of bath towels, the other the cleanliness of the kettle.... The big sleep scored 10 out of 10 on both points. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and should be commended on his customer service. Security was good with key cards needed for access to room floors. We didn't have breakfast as it was served too early being a weekday. All in all as long as you don't mind shabby chic a great budget hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopschick1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    259
    148
    73
    37
See reviews for
78
270
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stopped here for one night on a walk on the Costwold Way. Hotel is failry central and a five minute walk from the main late nighlife. The reception staff very friendly and very helpful. They booked us a table at a local restaurant (and we benefitted a 10% discount as a result) and managed our arrangements for forwarding on our luggage.

Rooms are clean and bright. Bathroom clean but would benefit from shelving to put toiletries on. Teas and coffee was available but no fridge or cold drinks, which I expect is standard for this level of hotel. Breakfast was a buffet affair and included all the usual cereals, yoghurt, toast and a pastry. There was also hot bacon and sausage with boiled eggs. Not sure of the meat content of the sausage but I suspect it was fairly low. Bacon was a little tough also.

Overall the pleasant surroundings and staff made for quite a pleasant ovenight stop. Given the price bracket, (£102 twin) the overall impression was good for a short stay but the brekfast quality could be improved. Staff including the one poor guy managing the breakfast room could not be faulted.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissiemc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have stayed here three times to go to an event at Cheltenham racecourse with our son, now fifteen, who has severe disabilities. It is rare enough to find a hotel that has a family room with adapted wet-room, but The Big Sleep goes much further. Simon and his colleagues make us feel welcome and comfortable, and anticipate our needs before we know them (such as reserving a table at breakfast that is accessible with a wheelchair). It is these sort of little things that make so much difference when travelling with our son and thanks to the hotel we have all enjoyed a great weekend. I should also mention that the room was large, the beds very good and the price reasonable- we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHelenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent the bank holiday weekend to visit the Cotswolds. This modern basic hotel is ideally located with a large family room. Modern & clean yes, chic & stylish no - it is cheap industrial carpeting and floors and plastic colourful chairs in the breakfast room. Service is minimal but friendly - parking is secure but inadequate (we parked off road second night ). For a base to explore Cotswolds, it is adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I paid £49 for a double room on a Saturday night. The room was surprisingly nice, the hotel is very central and was quiet, with overnight underground parking for £5 too. I thought it was all very pleasant. The family rooms are very spacious. Can't comment on breakfast as didn't have it. If I needed to stay in Cheltenham again I'd happily go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sqwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

In the centre of town this basic modernist hotel also has reasonably priced 24 hour parking. There is also an basic but acceptable slightly more than continental breakfast with bacon and sausages available. All in all good value for one or two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ea217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel was cheap and cheerful. Situated close to large shopping centre. Rooms clean bed comfy bathroom clean fluffy towels. Bar area very small but was suffice for us. Breakfast basic but good. Sausages egg bacon cereals yoghurt croissants juice etc. staff all very friendly. If you want a basic cheap friendly hotel this is fine. We would recommend and return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl_poplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cheltenham
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing