We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here on the 29th June for one night. There is a car park but the spaces are probably the smallest we have ever seen in a car park with limited numbers and access in and out not the best. The gentleman on reception booked us in and gave plenty of info regarding places to eat where you can get discounts by showing your room card and hotel registration and also marked up a map showing us how to get to the main shopping area. The decor of the hotel reminded me of the sixties with coloured plastic tables and chairs in the dining area and large patterned wallpaper. When we entered our room we were met with pale blue and white everything. Curtains at the windows looked like sixties carpet, long woolly and blue. Couldn't fault the cleanliness and the bathroom was a good size, exceptionally clean with plenty of piping hot water. Unfortunately, the bed creaked whenever you moved in the night. Breakfast was continental in the main with everything you would expect. There was also a limited hot choice of sausages, bacon and boiled eggs. It is a good value for money stop over for one night but we wouldn't have wanted to stay for more than a couple,of,nights at the most. Would we stay there again? Yes, but only for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia_knapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as we're were dining in Cheltenham with friends. Hotel met my request of having adjacent rooms for all three couples and staff were helpful and knowledgable. Breakfast was satisfactory with two hot options of sausage and bacon, hard boiled eggs, Danish pastries, cereals and fruit plus juices and hot drinks. Great value and also received an e-mail the day we checked out for another 15% off our next booking. Would use again. Don't expect the Ritz and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Where to start - upon arriving the secure car park was a positive start. Once checked in (average service - nothing more to say) we walked up the stairs only we could not access the corridor for a good 5 minutes as the key card wouldn't work. After the 109th attempt, huzzah! It worked... Only to come across the same problem with our room door and then for the rest of our stay. What a headache. Rooms were not clean, bathroom floor was dirty (hair etc) and the curtains wow... What where they?! Very dated. This hotels location is good... However dont expect to get any sleep at night as the clubbeds walk by from local club Kukui... And infortunately for us a group of youngsters spent the night shouting knocking on each others doors and shouting out in the corridor for a good few hours... The bed was very uncomfortable... For £59 and £6 parking fee - it made me feel sick tbh... Not worth the money and would not recommend to anyone... Avoid if I were you, travellodges are bad but far better than this

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJCiaranB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel looks dirty from the outside the windows in desperate need of cleaning, the car park is hopeless, you press the button and get no response, the decor inside reminds me of the local hospital A & E dept, plastic moulded & tubular steel chairs and tables, the lift is totally confused and states the apposite to what's happening, my card key needed 4 tries to get onto the corridor, the room was like a clinic, I was expecting to see a nurse enter at any moment. The Mattress was just springs laid in a wooden frame it was so thin you caught your legs on the edge of the wood, if you could mange to keep the windows open and when it's humid you need to, you will however then be exposed to the racket of screaming drunks who appear to frequent the street for all sorts of reasons until quite late, by the time they clear off its time for the seagulls to take over, I skipped breakfast, the cooked option was perched on two warming tins, the machine coffee didn't work, the powdered milk got clogged up evidently. To call it the big sleep I totally misleading, frankly I would be surprised if you slept at all, the housekeeping wasn't much better, a dirty sink, dirty spoons and a paint smeared glass sliding door to the bathroom finished the stay off, the final insult was to pay another £6 to park my car overnight in the cramped underground car park.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless your desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmh156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked as a stop over on a weekend break in the cotswolds it was intended as a place to sleep after a night out in cheltenham.
The pictures online make it look very trendy but unforunetly that hotel is in eastbourne. However this one is good too. We arrived early and bagged a parking spot under the hotel. There arent many so get there first, its on £6 a night. The reception staff were very friendly and checked us in quickly. The room is surprisingly large and we had a great vuew of the city as we were on the fourth flour. The decour is interesting but thats what appealed to me. The bed was very comfy though.
After a night on the town we had a good sleep and awoke on sunday ready for the breakfast that was inculded in the price. The breakfast room was busy but we still found somewhere to sit and enjoy the spread, bacon butties are great for a hangover.
This is the first time i have stayed with this chain and honestly i enjoyed it. I wouod stay with them again and if your thinking of a night in cheltenham then book here as its so central.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butchers_boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on a Wednesday night as we were going to a gig at the Town Hall. We paid £55 which included breakfast. Upon arrival it was clear that this hotel is perfectly situated for shopping being just off the Main Street and also very close to the Town hall. There is underground parking which is on a first come basis and costs £6 per night. In the reception area there is a very vibrant decor ( the hotel is one of three in the UK and is owned by John Malkovich the actor and partners) our room although funkily decorated, was slightly battered with the heater on the wall showing burn makes, the windows were old metal framed, the furniture had recently been painted but the chips and cracks had been painted over instead of furniture being replaced! The bathroom was also a tad shabby and our curtains were a sight to behold- being full length blue fur!!! Having said all this the room and bathroom was very comfortable and clean. I have two particular foibles, one being the size and quality of bath towels, the other the cleanliness of the kettle.... The big sleep scored 10 out of 10 on both points. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and should be commended on his customer service. Security was good with key cards needed for access to room floors. We didn't have breakfast as it was served too early being a weekday. All in all as long as you don't mind shabby chic a great budget hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoopschick1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stopped here for one night on a walk on the Costwold Way. Hotel is failry central and a five minute walk from the main late nighlife. The reception staff very friendly and very helpful. They booked us a table at a local restaurant (and we benefitted a 10% discount as a result) and managed our arrangements for forwarding on our luggage.

Rooms are clean and bright. Bathroom clean but would benefit from shelving to put toiletries on. Teas and coffee was available but no fridge or cold drinks, which I expect is standard for this level of hotel. Breakfast was a buffet affair and included all the usual cereals, yoghurt, toast and a pastry. There was also hot bacon and sausage with boiled eggs. Not sure of the meat content of the sausage but I suspect it was fairly low. Bacon was a little tough also.

Overall the pleasant surroundings and staff made for quite a pleasant ovenight stop. Given the price bracket, (£102 twin) the overall impression was good for a short stay but the brekfast quality could be improved. Staff including the one poor guy managing the breakfast room could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissiemc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £42 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citrus Hotel Cheltenham is located in the Centre of Cheltenham. The hotel offers a choice of 59 bedrooms, 2 meeting rooms, and on-site Bar and Restaurant. We offer great value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home – whether you’re visiting us for business or leisure. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham prides itself on being simple and very modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone – from the businessman or overseas traveler to families looking for a well deserved short break. Check out our great value short break offers and promotions – available to book direct. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs, broadband access*, WiFi*, room safes, hairdryers, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham is dog-friendly and charges apply, please contact the hotel for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing