We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Sleep? Big Fight More Like!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Big Sleep? Big Fight More Like!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I suppose that I better first explain the title of my review. Whilst I don't blame the hotel for it's central location in the town, it is seriously worth taking into account the pros and cons that this causes.

After a (Saturday) night out in town, a few yards away from our hotel, my party came across the most violent 'cat fight' between a number of women that I think that I have ever seen. Hair pulling, gouging, spitting and swearing were all on show and whilst it provided some 'entertainment' to us and a few fellow residents returning to the hotel, it was indicative of the type of behaviour that took place nearby until the early hours of the morning.

Having read many of the earlier reviews we had opted for one of the executive rooms at the top of the hotel. It was certainly spacious, but just like the outside of the hotel, not particularly attractive. On a night like the one we stayed it also had the disadvantage of not having any air conditioning so the choice was between either having a sweltering sealed room or a slightly less uncomfortable one with the windows open to the noises outside. The choice is yours!

There are however positives to the 'Big Sleep'. Centrally located it is convenient for everything that the town has to offer. And although it has a strict 3pm check in policy they were prepared to store some of our luggage until that time. The reception staff were efficient and indeed in addition to the funky reception area that was one of the best aspects of our stay.

The buffet breakfast also included both tasty bacon and sausages if desired, which was a real bonus as I was under the impression that there were only cold options in the morning. The hotel food offered was also very reasonable price wise, although we didn't actually have any ourselves.

So overall, good but not great...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    256
    146
    69
    37
See reviews for
75
267
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from this hotel, we were disappointed that the car parking was not free of charge as it had on site parking. The man on reception was helpful he gave us a fan as it was so hot, when we asked for directions he was more than happy to help. We were a bit shocked by the breakfast my partner found a piece of mouldy bread, the hard boiled eggs were over cooked, the sausages and bacon were ok. Our room was nice and big and we found the bed comfortable, bedroom was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Furry curtains are nasty. No air in rooms either! Very very poor quality! Better 1 star hotels.3 star is wrong for this place! Avoid! The rooms are simply awful and a very disappointing stay had by us

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstyb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Cheap nylon carpets, cheap mattress, cheap wood chip furniture, pink room with light green and brown trim. Dirty irons and ironing boards that had filthy covers. Dirtied my shirt but fair play the young lady at reception washed it. No air con and massive windows that don't open fully stayed here when it was 90 degrees outside and just as hot inside. Look at review and thought it must be ok as it was 3.5 stars, how wrong I was. It's awful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justincdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel has a plaque outside saying it is a budget hotel. I had paid £80 for each night as a single person occupying the room. The room was OK and the hotel is very centrally located and that perhaps it is its first downfall. There is constant noise most of the night from drunks in the street, lots of shouting. Second downfall is the breakfast. It was abysmal. Besides the fact I had to chase up plates, knives, etc, they offer the barest minimum. A boiled egg is the only cooked item - or maybe there were sausages. There is nothing there you would want to eat. It is more like a hostel (but I gather nowadays hostels are good value for money). I would certainly not recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here on the 29th June for one night. There is a car park but the spaces are probably the smallest we have ever seen in a car park with limited numbers and access in and out not the best. The gentleman on reception booked us in and gave plenty of info regarding places to eat where you can get discounts by showing your room card and hotel registration and also marked up a map showing us how to get to the main shopping area. The decor of the hotel reminded me of the sixties with coloured plastic tables and chairs in the dining area and large patterned wallpaper. When we entered our room we were met with pale blue and white everything. Curtains at the windows looked like sixties carpet, long woolly and blue. Couldn't fault the cleanliness and the bathroom was a good size, exceptionally clean with plenty of piping hot water. Unfortunately, the bed creaked whenever you moved in the night. Breakfast was continental in the main with everything you would expect. There was also a limited hot choice of sausages, bacon and boiled eggs. It is a good value for money stop over for one night but we wouldn't have wanted to stay for more than a couple,of,nights at the most. Would we stay there again? Yes, but only for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia_knapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as we're were dining in Cheltenham with friends. Hotel met my request of having adjacent rooms for all three couples and staff were helpful and knowledgable. Breakfast was satisfactory with two hot options of sausage and bacon, hard boiled eggs, Danish pastries, cereals and fruit plus juices and hot drinks. Great value and also received an e-mail the day we checked out for another 15% off our next booking. Would use again. Don't expect the Ritz and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing