We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night on 18th August with 19 year old daughter in adjoining room. £70 for 2 rooms including a buffet style breakfast - can't be bad, even if the brekky is on the basic side.
The hotel is quirky but to be honest we liked that. The rooms are comfortable and a good size but the beds are not all that comfy. The bathroom is excellent.
The location is great. Literally a 1 minute stroll into the centre of Town. 15 minutes from Montpellier.
Car parking in the secure underground car park is good for £6 all night but get there early as space is very limited.
All in all great value for money.
Enjoy the furry curtains!!!

Room Tip: Windows are single glazed so even with them closed you can hear everything outside; albeit the hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Loobyloo126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Big Sleep for a Hen Do. The hotel was 'fine'. The rooms were clean, apart from the hideous furry curtains that seem to attract dust...having said that they do block out the light well. The hairdryer was rubbish - wish I'd brought my own. Our room was at the front of the building so heard plenty of drunken fights and the constant sound of seagulls...would not recommend rooms at the front of the building for good sleep.The carpark was small, and full whilst we were here, so we weren't able to use it.. compared to the carparks around the hotel the £6 fee was reasonable. Breakfast is a buffet...pastries, sausage, cold boiled eggs, bacon, cereals, fruit, yogurt and toast...I was pleased with the amount of choice. The bar is 24 hours, but on the Friday night had no vodka, and even though it is 24 hours, don't expect to get served quickly. The hotel is in a great location for activities in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Room only cost £39 a night (breakfast included) but was perfect if all you need is a clean, tidy, good location place to stay for the night.
Note: if you want to park a car, it costs an extra £6 a night.
Breakfast was buffet.
Efficient service.
Room was 'modern chic' with furry curtains!
We were using it simply as a base for a night stop over and was perfect for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Still not sure if we liked the hotel or not... It's very much a matter of taste. Very futuristic, furry curtains and very BLUE with modern font everywhere. We chose is because it looked odd, but different. However you couldn't get a cleaner hotel. Very smart, very roomy and very impressed, and the bed was comfortable.
Very central - but seagulls are so loud!
If you are up for a bit of a change or just curious, I would recommend checking it out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A good location in town centre. Basic but clean accommodation with an adequate breakfast. Nice to have parking but not sure about the £6 per day charge. Not worth paying full price for! Always look for a deal to include breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This one is a case of the website makes it look better than it is. Saying that it wasn't that bad, I've stayed at far worse places! Receptionist was friendly on arrival. Room on 3rd floor was very pink. Not my colour at all but oh well. Tacky furry curtains! No fridge in the little cupboard that said "cool". A bit of exit mould in the bathroom wouldn't have gone amiss but generally clean. Location was central. We only stayed for one night and it did the trick. Parking was £6 overnight which was fine. Breakfast was ok with choice of cereals, yoghurt, pastries, toast and there were sausages, bacon and hard boiled eggs, as well as juice, tea and coffee.
Overall it was alright, nothing flash, a bit quirky, but a place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed three nights at The Big Sleep in room 314 in early August. The hotel has been created in an old office building. The rooms are of a standard hotel layout and on the generous side with space. The bathroom is clean and functional with a bath and good shower. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast had both bacon, sausage and boiled egg as well as cereal, toast and pastries. It is very much like a generous IBIS with "Barbarella" '60s retro décor - curvilinear, formica, bold pastel colours and..... sheep fleece curtains ! We thought it was good value.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms appear to be all on the street side - which can be noisy with revellers. Odd nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £44 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing