We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good sleep wish i could have stayed longer in the suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed one night in the suite with my Girlfriend and it was what we expected and more for what we paid :) lovely deep bath nice and big, a rain shower and a huge bed not so much of a view but it was nice and relaxing. breakfast was what you expect in a hotel cereal, fruit, pastry's etc and a pleasant reception

Room Tip: Suite all the way we also stayed in a budget room which is called a budget room for a reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

The plus points here were a good location and the idea of this hotel is fine but it has really seen better days. If you are going for a "no frills but fun" approach then the place needs to be clean and fresh, but this place is seriously battered and my room was not very clean, unfortunately. Staff were OK, and there was a LOVELY guy on reception this morning but the rest of the staff look a bit depressed, and no wonder as the first impression as you walk in is grubby, grey and a bit down at heel. The windows in my room were filthy, chunks had been knocked out of the desk and the beds are flat and like a student dorm, and the vibe of this place is just slightly "rough". The ironing boards in the hallway are so burnt and knackered that I am amazed anyone would touch them, let alone iron a shirt on them. Breakfast is just about OK but very cheap and not cheerful, and the whole breakfast room needs a lick of paint. Sorry not to be able to post a more positive review, as this sort of place usually suits me just fine, but ultimately - YUCK! All this for £60 for a Monday night. Had it been £39.99 I might have been a bit kinder!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ok so to start off, I stayed here as a freebie after my disgusting stay at the Big Sleep, Cardiff. Had the executive suite by way as a sorry so can't really comment on the standard rooms. However.... It's clean, its fresh, the reception staff were polite and helpful, breakfast was basic but plenty there (toast, pastries, yoghurts, bacon, sausage etc etc) the staff continually cleaned the food areas and topped up. Position of the hotel is ideal. The room was spotless, showers hot, nice big towels (really really really if I want to be pathetic the windows needed cleaning and the free shower gel smells like your nan, and that's being unfairly picky) you get discount at a few eating places by showing your room card abd paperwork.
Would I stay there again, yes. I really can't believe this hotel is part of the same chain as the Cardiff hotel, the contrast is remarkable! It's a budget hotel while a quirky deco twist (our room was pink with flamingo wall paper) give it a go!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great hotel for the price , spotless spacious comfortable rooms, and very helpful staff. The breakfast was extremely good for a budget hotel and the hotel is very central. Within easy walking distance of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIRDSTAFFORDSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a hen party. It's fine for this purpose as the location is really good - it's right in the centre of town. 3 of us stayed in the family room which was huge. This comprised of a seperate dining table & chairs and a seperate sofa area and then a double bed & 2 bunk beds. On first glance it seems ok, but when you look closely it could benefit from a deep clean. Everything was quite shabby looking and knocked about. The cream sofas were well worn (wrong colour in a budget hotel) and the furry curtains (as many have mentioned before) are horrendous and none of us wanted to touch them. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and unfortunately we didn't get a great night's sleep. It's fine for the purpose of a hen party, but if I was staying here for any purpose I would be extremely disappointed. The breakfast offering was pretty poor looking so we didn't bother. Parking very limited so get there early. Extra charge for this which I think was £6 for 24 hours so not too bad. Public areas were quite clean and tidy, just bedrooms need major renovations. Staff were very pleasant which was a major plus point.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAGGIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed whilst visiting Daughter at Uni.

It is basic, but clean and airy with everything you need.

Staff are very friendly and for the cost of the stay it was good value.

The breakfast was a help your self which I have no problem with, as the area was clean, efficient and organised.

Would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nightsl because I attended a course and was warned that parking was a problem, so I chose a hotel within walking distance of the course .

When I arrived I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful young man, I thought that I had chosen wisely! How wrong could I be.

The hotel was attempting to portray a trendy hip modern style but this was done on a budget and cheap things don't last. The whole place looked as if a good deep clean would not go amiss. The corridors are dark and dingy the rooms are noisy and due to location are overlooked by offices all around. The room itself was very tacky especially the blue fur curtains which I left open as I really did not like the look or feel of them goodness knows how much dust was in them.

The bathroom had a pleasant floor, however the designer had chosen to go up the side of the bath with it and it had sagged, not a good look. The closet did not have doors and the hanging area was too short for a knee length dress.

I tried in vain to make the safe work and failed on many attempts even with help from the staff, I gave up in the end.

The T.V was too small and the chill area did not contain the expected fridge even though it was labeled chill. Apparently that was just for show.

The bath towel had a huge knotted hair ball entwined in it which I had to cut out. There was mould on the windows and around the bath. The Capet and the bed had long hairs on and mine is short.

The bed was sooooo cheap every coil could be felt and heard, I actually slept on top of the duvet to try and sleep.

The general atmosphere was completely draining and I could not get away from there fast enough.

The only good thing was the staff who although sparse on the ground were all friendly and helpful.

Overall a cheap and unpleasant hotel. The actual cost was higher than both premier in and travel lodge both of which are better quality than this.

I will try and add the pictures I took so that you can see for yourself.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, if you actually want some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnW758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £44 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing