We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Positives - Excellent location very close to the centre of town. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean room with modern / funky style, makes a change from the usual Travelodge. Good shower with hot water. Surprising variety for included breakfast. Room cleaned daily. Safe in room. Twin room had desk with chair, plus a lazy chair.

Negatives - uncomfortable, lumpy & soft mattresses. We fixed one by putting a blanket between the mattress & the sheet but the other soft one was replaced by another when mentioned to reception - although it didn't feel much different.

Also, extremely noisy on a Saturday night - not necessarily the fault of the hotel (it's amazing how inconsiderate people are at 2am) but maybe some strong notices around the hotel might help, reminding people to return quietly & that other people are sleeping.

Overall, this is a good place to stay - good value for centre of Cheltenham. A few tweaks eg new mattresses would go a long way to making this a "very good" place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Lucy C

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheletenham.

All comments, both postive and negative are taken as a constructive comments and are acted upon where necessary.

I hope that should you be in this area again that we would be able to welcome you back?

With kind regards,

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed on several occasions. This is greate value. Near the centre of town. It is basic. The beds are low-slung and great.

Breakfast is a buffet, but I hardly bothered with it, Me and my companion loved it when it snowed.

Very fond memories of my time spent here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Daniel T

It is always good to see that returning guests still take the time to review the Hotel and we are very pleased that we are still providing the service that you receieved after your first visit, all those years ago!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards,

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed at a "luxury" B+B earlier in the trip and wish we'd saved the extra money and stayed here! Comfortable room, very helpful and friendly staff and in a central location, all at a very good price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorrelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear sorrelle s

The Management and Staff here at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, appreciate and would like to Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to the Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you found The Big Sleep Hotel was exactly what you were looking for during your recent visit to the area.

We are a 'limited service' Town Centre Hotel and do not try to portray ourselves as anything more than what we are and I am pleased to hear that what the Hotel has to offer was just what you were looking for during your brief visit to Cheltenham.

I hope that if you do visit this part of Gloucestershire again in the future that you will consider staying with us again?

With kind regards

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager
reception.cheltenham@thebigsleephotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is fine, the room was mostly pretty clean & decorated nicely. The only problem I had was when I went to get into bed at on Saturday night, I pulled back the cover and I found 2 wet patches on the sheet! I rang down to the reception. There was a man on his own there who was very nice, but he wasn't really sure what to do about the problem. Anyway, he brought up some new sheets. I had to strip off my own bed and make it up again!!! I was tried turning the mattress over but it was absolutely soaked on the other side. Anyway, luckily I found a plastic bag, so put that over the wet and covered it with loads of towels. I put the new sheet on. When I went to put the new duvet cover on the man had accidentally bought 2 sheets rather than 1 sheet and 1 duvet cover! I'm not one to keep complaining to I fashioned a duvet cover out of the sheet. It's not something I really want to be doing in the early hours, when this should have already been sorted. When I complained the next morning, the guy on reception just said he'll tell the manager and ensure that housekeeping were aware. Great, but that didn't help me!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 406 had the dreaded wet mattress!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buzzzzz089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Lizzie L

The Management and Staff here at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, appreciate and would like to Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to the Hotel.

Further to my comminucation and investigations into your comments, I hope that the subsequent action taken was satisfactory for you?

With kind regards

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager
reception.cheltenham@thebigsleephotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Cheltenham festival so no doubt paid a lot more than you normally would. Room is very basic but clean, reception staff were friendly and when we wanted to know about restaurants couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast again basic but sufficient. Bed comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank bessie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear bessie07

The Management and Staff here at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, appreciate and would like to Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to the Hotel.

I hope that if you do visit this part of Gloucestershire in the future that you will consider staying with us again?

With kind regards

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager
reception.cheltenham@thebigsleephotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Booked a room on the same day of arrival and was pleasantly surprise with the cheap price of a room and the standard of the hotel. Very good value for money. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay with decent breakfast this is the place to go. As expected, it was very basic but was very clean and had all you need (set of towels, shower gel, hand wash, tv etc.). I would happily pay twice as much for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VarunaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear VarunaP

The Management and Staff here at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, appreciate and would like to Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to the Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you found The Big Sleep Hotel was what you were looking for during your recent visit to the area.

We are a 'limited service' Town Centre Hotel and do not try to portray ourselves as anything more than what we are and I am pleased to hear that what the Hotel has to offer was just what you were looking for during your brief visit to Cheltenham.

I hope that if you do visit this part of Gloucestershire in the future that you will consider staying with us again?

With kind regards

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager
reception.cheltenham@thebigsleephotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here in February for 2 nights for work reasons, hotel is very nice with nice colourful modern decor, and great facilities. Soaps, shampoo etc all provided in the room, as well as hairdryer, iron etc. room was quiet, with no exterior noise, a bit of noise from people in corridor but nothing too bad. Comfy room, bed was very comfy, and good temperature with heating and/or windows. Read in some reviews that heating is left off when you arrive, this was true of my stay as well but not an issue as the room really didn't need it and I opened the window as it was so warm!
Breakfast was good, plenty of selection of cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, and hot bacon and sausages. The breakfast room was very busy, but I did use it at peak time.
Reception was friendly, although not over helpful, i had no idea of where breakfast was served, and they didn't tell me there was a bar and small restaurant on site, literally just gave keys for the room and took my card details - pleasant but not overly helpful.
I didn't use the car park, if you are parking late and leaving early, there is a car park which is free 8pm to 8am just around the corner (Rodney Road), there are also spaces right outside the hotel which are free during the same period, and chargeable from 8am, great if you are leaving early. The hotel is so central you wouldn't need to use the car for a lot of things, great location for bars, restaurants and shopping. There is a Sainsburys small shop just on the main road, 2 mins walk, open until 11am.
Overall, great hotel, great location, and great sleep! Only complaint would be the lack of chattiness from staff, and also the stairs look like they should be a in swimming pool - very 'funky' decor!

Room Tip: Room 212 was one flight of stairs or lift up, and overlooked the road (and on street parking if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Fiona S

The Management and Staff here at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, appreciate and would like to Thankyou for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to the Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you found The Big Sleep Hotel was what you were looking for during your recent visit to the area.

We are a 'limited service' Town Centre Hotel and do not try to portray ourselves as anything more than what we are and I am pleased to hear that what the Hotel has to offer was just what you were looking for during your brief visit to Cheltenham.

I hope that if you do visit this part of Gloucestershire in the future that you will consider staying with us again?

With kind regards

Simon Dean
Deputy Hotel Manager
reception.cheltenham@thebigsleephotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £42 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing