We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous, great-priced break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wyastone
Ranked #7 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fabulous, great-priced break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at The Wyastone on Saturday 25 Feb, having chosen it based on the reviews left on here. It didn't disappoint, the room, a courtyard suite, was stylish and spacious and the bed was super-comfy. The bathroom was lovely, with a double-ended bath, and with plenty of room. The staff, in particular Emily, were absolutely lovely - a pleasure to chat to, and we definitely felt that nothing would have been too much trouble, truly the sign of a great place to stay. The location was superb, a 10 min walk into the very centre.

The only negative was that the walls of the rooms in the courtyard seemed thin. On one side we could clearly hear, even with our TV on, the conversations of a rather loud couple, accompanied by lots of cheering and hollering to go with a rugby match, which was amusing as it was late afternoon. At 11pm though, it was less entertaining when we could hear the man guffawing every few minutes. He was obviously having a lovely time. On the other side, we heard the soothing rumble of a snoring man all through the night. While this wasn't a huge problem, it did make you feel like you had to whisper or have the TV down low in case you disturbed anyone with your noise, which isn't ideal.

All in all, we would come back, and really enjoyed the stay, but if you're a light sleeper, maybe request a room in the main house, rather than the courtyard.

Room Tip: Courtyard suites have thin walls, opt for a main house room if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrindleyShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    44
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
172
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for a one night stop over on the 10th February and found the hotel to be very comfortable, quiet and extremely convenient for the amenities that Cheltenham has to offer. Although it was a freezing night the hotel was warm and cosy. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very clean and tastefully decorated; it had a sumptuous super king-sized bed, with crisp cotton sheets. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed. Breakfast was delicious with good quality ingredients and plenty of cereals, yogurts, fruits etc to choose from. The owners were very friendly and attentive with high levels of service. The parking was easy (and free). This is a gem of a boutique hotel and we would definitely recommend it for a relaxing break in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: we had a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancunianpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the Wyastone Hotel for my birthday Feb 2012. From pulling up on the driveway until leaving we cannot fault our stay. The hotel is family run and has the little touches which make your stay just that little bit more special than large hotel chains.
We were early getting there so let the owners know we had arrived, parked the car and walked into town which is a short walk away, excellant. We returned later to be shown to our room and offered a jug of milk to have a cuppa rather than the plastic cartons of milk which are in your room. The room was lovely, very spacious and exceptionally clean. Our room was overlooking the courtyard and fishpond. We decided to go out later and after speaking with the young lady (sorry cant remember her name), were advised which restaurants and clubs were good and which ones to avoid. She even called a restaurant to book a table for us and offered to call us a taxi. We returned after having dinner (snow came and so didn't go to a club). Bed had a very comfy mattress however was two beds pushed together. I have mentioned this to the owners and they are on the case of purchasing a new bed for this room. It had not been changed before as people had commented on how comfy the mattress was. Our only other small issue was that the bathroom was cold, but this was probably down to us not turning the heater up high enough and it was well below freezing at the time. Again the owners are aware of this and are looking into it. Other than that no issues, a great nights sleep and fab breakfast. Cereal and fruit to start and a croissant while I waited for cooked breakfast. I loved the way the breakfast was set out so neatly on the plate it tasted as good as it looked. On the whole a great weekend, lovely owners, ideal location for easy access to the town and surrounding area, great room and food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at The Wyastone for a week in July and used it as a base for exploring the Cotswolds, Cheltenham and the local area. We loved every minute of our stay here. It certainly lived up to our expectations. Karen and Michael were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very nicely presented. The rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. The breakfast room was just gorgeous with views out onto the leafy green street. The breakfasts were the best we had enjoyed in all the UK and were cooked to order! I used the complimentary pass daily at the swimming pool at Cheltenham Ladies College about a 5 min walk away. Met the locals, enjoyed this exercise and thought it was a great arrangement. As we were a long way from home and had been on the go for 4 weeks the free WiFi was very much appreciated. Free parking on site was great but there was always plenty in the street. Very central to excellent restaurants and cafes - our favourite was the Italian at the end of the street! Highly recommend a stay at The Wyastone!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at The Wyastone for two nights just before Christmas and we could not have been made more welcome.
Karen and Michael were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

The room in the main house was spotless and very quiet and had a comfortable large bed with a well cleaned bathroom.

Breakfast was amazing with fantastic choices.

We were advised by our hosts to try Flynns for dinner which was close by and a very good choice.Whilst here we did our Christmas shopping in Montpellier.

Altogether a really 5 star stay and we hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Wifey & I stayed at the Wyastone for a weekend away in Cheltenham as a post Christmas treat. We picked the Wyastone on the back of reviews on tripadvisor and have to say everything we read was correct. Lovely big clean room, we had a courtyard room no 17, which was very nicely decorated. Excellent eggs accompanied a very good filling brekko. Dont think twice just book this hotel & enjoy it as we will again.
On another point Cheltenham is a great little town with some fantastic bar etc but also some expensive shopping if Wifey has her buying head on. You have been warned, you can do dent the credit card very easily here but then you can rest assured that you will get good value for money at the Wyastone along with great hospitality.

Room Tip: Courtyard room 17 is apparently top of the tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Wyastone for one night during December in room 4, for a friends wedding. I picked this hotel based on the reviews it has received, however it surpassed our expectations! The staff and owners were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, with a huge Super King bed (super comfy). All areas of the hotel are decorated to a high standard, with period features.
The breakfast was delicious, with a large selection, my partner was extremely impressed with soya milk on offer! We didn't really have chance to sightsee, but this hotel is situated in a lovely area and very central to bars/restaurants etc
I would highly recommend this hotel and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomoofinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Property: The Wyastone
Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing