We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep up the good work”
Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wyastone
Ranked #6 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during the heatwave mid July, in the family room. This room is very spacious and well equipped. Blinds on the Windows are insufficient though, room was too light in the morning, and the shower gave not a lot of water.
Breakfast was the best during our journey, especially the bacon is very good!
Lounge and breakfast area are nicely decorated. Staff is very friendly and Lydia is the best host! Location is excellent for visiting the Cottswolds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Fantastic comments thank you. Delighted that you found our breakfast so tasty, we agree the bacon is rather delicious! The lounge and breakfast room have been recently decorated in the last 2 months so very pleased that you like the transformation.

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Wyastone is the benchmark for other hotels and b&b establishments to follow.
The bed was fabulous. Breakfasts were very good. Lydia was very welcoming and charming. One day while I was feeling travel tired and weary, Lydia offered me a cup of tea to perk me up. It was most appreciated. One wish; keep the fridge on so the beer is chilled when desired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your review and wonderful comments. It was a delight having you stay with us. You can't beat a good English cuppa to perk you up so glad it did the trick! Hope the rest of your travels went well.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Well run, clean and tastefully decorated. Ideal location for exploring Cheltenham - we will be back if only to buy the paintings - the hotel has an 'artist in residence' whose paintings are for sale. Bedrooms are well equipped , simply decorated with very comfortable beds. Pretty courtyard, for pre dinner drinks or just relaxing. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_MN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon when you return to buy one of the paintings!?

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Wyastone over Sat/Sun and couldn't fault it for comfort, friendliness, cleanliness, service and location. The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere too! The Wyastone's location cannot be beaten as it's quiet yet just a short walk to the shops and restaurants, while Cheltenham itself is a great base for exploring the beautiful countryside around it. A lovely, elegant hotel where nothing is too much touble (Lydia was the perfect hostess) - we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Wow what wonderful comments thank you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Wyastone Breakfast, freshly cooked to order with great local produce is the key we think! Our location is truly perfect- we agree! Lovely and quiet but so close to Montpellier for eating, drinking and shopping of course. We agree with you, Cheltenham really is perfect to use as a base to discover the beautiful Cotswold Villages surrounding us. Myself and all the staff are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Strictly, the Wyastone is not a hotel. It offers top-class guest accommodation in a very convenient location for all Cheltenham's attractions, and can be regarded as setting the standard for B&B. The Courtyard Suite we had was extremely spacious, modern and well-equipped, the beds very comfortable, and the hot water in the bathroom came through quickly at all times of the day, which cannot be said of some very expensive hotels. Breakfast was copious, the service very friendly and efficient, and there was nothing the owner wouldn't do to make sure that the stay was enjoyable. We thought the tariff not unreasonable by comparison with that charged by Cheltenham hotels of a similar standard. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acko_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are very flattered to be ' setting the standard ,' Hot water is guaranteed 24/7 which we also think is very important so we are pleased that you mentioned this. We have a great team here at the Wyastone so the positive comments about friendliness and efficiency have been passed on- thank you one again!

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great family run hotel with the highest standard of rooms and nice little bar just within walking distance of Montpellier's night life (restaurants & bars). Perfect place to stay for a Cheltenham break. Execllent value. It even has a car park!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EG_TINSHED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you find our room rates reasonable and our car park is definitely a bonus!

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here with the girls for a WE to catch up and chill out. Location is perfect, 2 mins walk from Montpellier area with bars and cafes. 10 mins to shops and plenty of other restaurants and bars.
Hotel service was great, nice lounge, garden area and rooms. We had a twin room at the top, others had a room for 3 in courtyard. The rooms were spacious, bathroom a little small but totally functional. Nice toiletries and crisp white bedding and towels.
Breakfast was excellent, cereals, continental and cooked. Any options catered for. Staff friendly and very helpful. Small bar there too although we did not need to use it.
You can use gym and swimming pool facilities in Cheltenham Ladies College opposite. We didn't but excellent option for a small hotel. Great find, very reasonable price, strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We are delighted that you you enjoyed your stay with us in June and found our Superior Courtyard Room to be comfortable and luxurious. Our courtyard is looking beautiful at the moment with lots of roses and hanging baskets in full bloom. We are looking forward to welcoming you both back next year!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,066 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £100 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing