We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wyastone
Ranked #7 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Charming ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

We are from Sydney, Australia and stayed at the Wyastone hotel for 2 nights at the end of a 5 week overseas tour. It was very restful & relaxing, a perfect end to our trip.. The hosts, Karen & Michael ,did everything to make us comfortable. The full English breakfast was delicious. Their knowledge of local restaurants, all of which they have personally tried, is very helpful.
The town centre is 5 minutes walk away, along a charming, quiet,tree-lined street.
Susi & Ron

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank suron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    44
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
170
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

My wife & 2 children had a one night stay in this charming Victorian building in early July. The hotel itself is charming, with beautifully appointed rooms and facilities. Most of the rooms we saw have been beautifully refurbished and we're told the aim is to remodel them all by the Autumn of this year. Karen & Michael Reynolds, our hosts, could not have been more welcoming, accommodating or professional. Nothing was too much trouble, and just before we left, the breakfast we ate was fantastic! Given that we were visiting from the States, Mrs. Reynolds also treated out 2 boys to some "Authentic English Candy" - which they are still enjoying prior to flying back home. These are NOT your typical hotel owners, and this is not your typical hotel! It was a pleasure to stay and a real wrench to leave. If only all hotels were run this way...

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalPenDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Ever since our stay in March I have been meaning to write this review. All the previous reviews are accurate.
This is not 5 star with waistcoated room service. This is charming, friendly, obliging and extremely good value.
Very handy for Cheltenham town centre - 5 minutes walk.
Clean rooms, comfortable and a great breakfast.
My mother booked this for me and my family. Thanks Mum!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port talbot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

My wife and i have just had a one night stay at the lovely Wyastone hotel.
As soon as we arrived, we were greeted as old friends, booked in quickly and before the normal time. We were shown to our room, number 3, at the front of the hotel. The room was nicely decorated, had a tv., tea and coffee facilities and a huge bay window.
Before we embarked on our adventures around Cheltenham we asked for advice on restaurants etc. The staff could not have been more helpful, giving us a choice of several recommended eateries to choose from.
When we returned after a long day, the bar was kept open for us to have a nightcap, and a pleasant chat with the owners, Karen and Michael which was very nice. After a good nights sleep breakfast was delicious and plentiful, served with a smile and very efficiently.
We can heartily recommend the Wyastone for a good value stay in Cheltenham, 2 minutes walk to pubs and restaurants, and only 5 minutes to the shops.

  • Liked — friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andrew0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

I recently stayed for a week at the Wyastone in Cheltenham.
I highly recommend this hotel as it is close to the town centre and parks, but located in a quiet location away from traffic noise.
The owners were very helpful and pleasant people, who were complimented by their very professional staff.
I am a very fussy person - and would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

It also has wireless internet access.

  • Liked — Helpful Staff and quiet location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Horgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

I stayed at the Wyastone for one week during May on a business trip. The new owners Karen and Michael were very friendly and accomodating, as was there staff. Great location in lovely tree lined streets close to fine dining and only a short walk to the shopping precinct. Will stay again.

  • Liked — Close to Monpellier district
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mugundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

Being the first time staying in a hotel in the UK, I have to say it was a culture shock, but knowing what to expect from co-workers that have stayed in the area, it was perfect. It was exactly how they discribed it. I was the first to experiance their only renovated room, which the rest will be compleated by the end of the sumer. They did a very nice job making me feel welcome, the breakfasts were great and fresh, atmosphere was wonderful the staff were great and very accomidating. If you are looking for Hilton sort of feel this place is not for you.

Cheers

Jason

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet
  • Disliked — Internet in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Andromida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Property: The Wyastone
Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing