We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend”
Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wyastone
Ranked #7 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Both myself and my friend have recently stayed at the Wyastone and absolutely cannot fault anything about this hotel. What a lovely lady Lydia is, and couldn't do enough for our stay. All the staff were lovely, pleasant and polite. The room was exceptional, and I cannot fault the cleanliness.
We found the courtyard so beautiful and relaxing, we even gave up our night on the town, and sat in there for a relaxing evening. The breakfasts were out of the world, wow what can I say. Thank you for our incredible weekend......it did the trick!

Sam & Elise

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we are made up that the weekend away with your friend did just the trick! The courtyard on a summers evening really is lovely- we just hope that autumn does not come too soon! I will pass on your super comments to the rest of the team about the staff, rooms and breakfast- wonderful feedback.

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    45
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
177
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for the weekend and the hotel was just beautiful. In a great location near everything we wanted and Lydia is just the loveliest host and works tirelessly. It shows she runs a great establishment! Shared lots of information on where to eat, drink and shop! Hotel exceptionally clean, breakfast wonderful and the courtyard is as pretty as a picture. If you're heading to Cheltenham, a stay at this hotel is a real must!!! Planning to return in the not to distant future
:-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you and your friend had an enjoyable stay with us and we are delighted that you are planning a return visit in the future!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived on Friday after tired after a very full day, the welcome we recieved coupled with the knowledge of the local amenities was fabulous.

Our room, a superior double was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The soft furnishings were tasteful and of good quality bedding clean and beds very comfortable. I was delighted to see a local artists beautiful work displayed throughout the hotel, and also in our room. We were supplied with tea coffee etc and also two fresh bottles of spring water every day. Another lovely surprise as we were lucky to have a glorious weekend of hot weather were the windows opened! so often I've stayed in hotels and been unable to open the windows.

The bathroom again tasteful in decor and clean, with shower gel, shampoo, hand soap and moisturiser available if needed along with soap, shower cap and of course freshly laundered towels and face cloths.

The room also had an iron and ironing board neatly put away within the large wardrobe.

Staff and owners of the Wyastone could not do enough to ensure our comfort, the breakfast table and room had a small hand picked beautiful spray of flora picked from what is such a well designed and adequetley planted courtyard garden which we had access to relax in.

Breakfast was beautiful, fresh coffee, fresh fruit and cereal, freshly cooked breakfast to order, local quality produce and nothing sitting in warming plates for hours on end. Again we were made to feel very comfortable, cups topped up regularly with coffee or pots of tea as we liked.

This has to be my absolute favourite hotel in the uk so far, worth every penny and we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Wow what a wonderful review- a big thank you from us all! Kate Dove is the local artist that we are lucky enough to have displaying her artwork the Wyastone- we love it too! so pleased that you were able to see our stunning courtyard in all its glory, we currently have grapes, apples and pears growing not to mention out super hanging baskets!

We hope to see you both soon.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from the Wyastone Hotel, and I can honestly say it was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in, it was in the courtyard and was very spacious. The hotel was spotless throughout, and breakfast was lovely, everything made to order and extremely fresh.
The personal service from Lydia and Natasha made it extra special, thank you very much - good location for shops, bars, restaurants. Looking forward to coming back soon....

Room Tip: Room 17, spacious and very comfortable large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
What a super review- thank you! As a Townhouse we are able to offer a personal service that is not always possible in larger hotels so we are so pleased that we made you feel welcome. Our breakfast produce is locally sauced and delivered daily so you are right it is wonderfully fresh! We are just about to start picking our wonderful Courtyard pears which will be making an appearance on the breakfast buffet soon.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back!

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in Wyastone for one night in June and was made to feel welcome from start to finish. Arrived late but it wasn't a problem. Stayed in a courtyard room that had excellent facilities-particularly impressed by the large TV!
Breakfast was made to order, no need for seconds as the helpings were ample and all the staff I met said hello and made you feel welcome. Pity just to have stayed one night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Superior Courtyard rooms- they really are very spacious! It is indeed a pity you could only stay one night so you must return and stay for longer next time.

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was wonderful. great position within walking distance to Montpelier Terrace for the cafes and vintage shops and also the main shops. Very near Cheltenham festival too. would highly recommend.
breakfasts were wonderful and the staff were excellent. Bed comfortable and room great. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna19852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review we are beaming! We are delighted that you found our Super King beds to be lovely and comfortable and they you enjoyed our cooked breakfast!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a lovely, comfortable hotel! Everyone was welcoming and the owner Lydia was absolutely delightful, so friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the trendy bars and restaurants of Montpelier. The Wyastone has a well deserved reputation for their delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for your super review, it has made our day! We are lucky to have such a wonderful team here at the Wyastone and I am so pleased you found everyone to be friendly and welcoming- do come and stay again with us soon!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Property: The Wyastone
Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing