We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House
Ranked #24 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights with my disabled Dad who occupied a disabled access room on the ground floor - it worked perfectly! Easy access with facilities to assist Dad during his stay includig large 'wet room' ensuite. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, Peter and Anne were extremely amenable and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Liked the small touches including the home made bread and preserves offered, also tips for places to visit as we were staying here to visit the Cotswolds and the A40 provided a direct route out to the beautiful countryside. The only very slight issue was a visitor in the room above mine arising somewhat noisily at 6am every morning, something obviously outside the control of the hosts! I would still stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is so rewarding when our disabled facility makes someone's stay bearable. We will have to make sure that you are upstairs the next time you visit.

Anne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
42
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault it ... great location on the A40, and really easy to find. We were given a warm welcome by Peter who carried our bags and greeted us with tea/coffee and biscuits. He offered maps of the areas and gave tips on places to visit, restaurants etc. We occupied the twin room at the back of the house which was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything we needed from wonderful white fluffy towels to lots of toiletries and a hospitality tray. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious and well presented. Beautiful fresh fruit salad and preserves all prepared by Anne. Any combination of all the normal ingredients which make up a Full English Breakfast are offered and the produce is local and fresh. This couple can not do enough for you !!! It's easy to walk into Cheltenham town centre in the evening .. probably about 15/20 mins on foot. Thank you to Anne and Peter for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayLou11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
What a great review! It ticks all the boxes. Thank you.

Anne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here for one night as a midway stop on our way down south. Very welcoming and comfortable. The small touches make it a lovely place to stay. Only a short stroll into town to get something to eat in the evening and a lovely cooked breakfast before we headed off in the morning. Liked that we had access to back door so we could come and go as we please. Lovely to meet the new puppy too :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annannanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

There are good B & B's and there are bad ones,but this was in a class of excellence that we have rarely found on our travels. Ann & Peter are most attentive hosts and know just how to respond to their guests right from the point of arrival onwards. From the welcoming cup of tea to the clean and well equipped bedroom there was nothing to fault and everything to praise. I will single out the breakfast which comprised of well sourced food combined with just the right portion allocation. Well done indeed and I assure you that we will pass this way again.

Martin & Hilary Wellock

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinWellock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Cheltenham. We paid £65/night (including breakfast) for a double en suite room.

Bridge House is a mid-size B&B with five rooms and friendly, welcoming owners. It's approximately a five minute walk from the station and 20-25 to the town centre (or you can get a bus from just outside Bridge House). The B&B part of the establishment has its own separate entrance with a key pad lock (you're given the code when or just before you arrive) - this means you can easily come and go as you wish or even (as in our case) arrive quite late at night.

Our room was a good size and clean with a comfortable double bed. The en suite was a little small and basic, but perfectly functional. My one complaint would be that the room was quite warm and when the window was open we were disturbed by traffic noise, so if I were to stay again I would request a room at the back.

Breakfast was served in the dining room around one big table, so an opportunity to meet and chat to other guests (although whether this is good or bad depends on your preferences I guess!). There was a good choice of cereals and fruit, followed by any combination of full English breakfast items. Anne's scrambled eggs are highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Bridge House is located within walking distance from the train station and offers a warm, cozy environment, great hospitality, and an excellent breakfast! We were warmly welcomed and the hosts made sure we had everything we needed from directions to recommendations for dinner and even wine glasses! Our room was quite comfortable and extremely clean. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0074travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Arrived quite tired after a long bus/train journey. Peter took my suitcase to my room (very unusual these days) Nice touch! Anne greated me with a lovely pot of tea and biscuits. I was then shown to my room, which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and comfortable. Everything worked, which was a nice change. Plenty of tea, coffee, bics etc. Shower was wonderful and complimentary shower/shampoo. Had 2 wonderful nights sleep and 2 great breakfasts. Absolutely nothing I could fault. (First time ever) I would highly recommend this Guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerald69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.8 mi away
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
#15 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#7 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Lypiatt House
Lypiatt House
#25 of 71 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#5 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Property: Bridge House
Address: 88 Lansdown Road, Cheltenham GL51 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our family run B&B and discover for yourself our warm and welcoming hospitality. Each one of our five en-suite rooms has been personally built and furnished, to our own design, to create a home from home atmosphere for your comfort. We have two rooms on the ground floor, one specifically designed for anyone in a wheelchair visiting the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing