We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House
Ranked #23 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First time staying here as dropping daughter off at Uni for her first year, Bridge House was easy to find and a pleasure to stay at, attention to detail in the bedroom was lovely, very clean and commfy, the wife and I have stayed at a number of B&B's over the last three years on city breaks and Bridge House is punching above its weight!!!!, very friendly & welcoming, great advice on evening dinner ideas, you would never know its on a main road room was really quite, have seen other reviews about trains, I would say what trains? one of the best night sleeps away from home ever!!! and then there was breakfast, very well done, we liked it so much we have booked already for a return visit to the see the daughter in late October, which says it all as have never been back to same B&B before!!!

Room Tip: make sure you book early to get a room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve71uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We are so pleased to have gained another satisfied customer.
Thank you,

Peter and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
43
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackfoot, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 3 wonderful night in at Bridge House B&B in Cheltenham. We were warmly welcomed, offer a hot beverage, and shown to our room. The room was everything we expected. The breakfast was huge and delicious. We were doing genealogy work and Cheltenham was so centrally located to all the villages we planned to visit. There was more than ample parking, the internet worked best in the breakfast room. Though on a fairly busy street, it was quiet. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you may send some more of the clan to find their roots.

All the best,

Peter and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here last week for one night and it's a really good B&B with good sized, clean room with good facilities. The owners are also friendly and welcoming.

The only reason for 4 stars was the proximity of the railway line to the property as I was woken a couple of times during the night by passing freight trains.

Nevertheless, I would probably still stay here over one of the bigger hotels if in the area again.

Room Tip: I paid for a single and got a twin. Not sure if this is the case every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Sorry about the trains, but they were there first. It is a problem if you like to have your window open.
Thank you for the splendid review and we hope to see you again soon.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is the first time we stayed at Bridge House, and would not hesitate to return. The room was comfortable, pleasantly decorated, clean and a good size. Plenty of wardrobe space. The shower cubicle was slightly small, but not a problem. Shower and toilet area, very clean, plenty of towels. .Although the guest house is situated near to the main road, the room was surprisingly quiet (good double glazing). Parking is on the guest house driveway, which is a bonus. The owners were very welcoming, sociable and friendly. Breakfast is lovely and individually cooked. We found the accommodation to be fairly central to our needs, between the town and the race course (where we were attending a conference). Would certainly recommend this place to friends

Room Tip: Downstairs room which is the King size is next to dining room, so not disturbed during the night by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Wow, I think you''ve said it all. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it makes it so much more worthwhile.

Anne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice bed and brekfast near to the station.
Easy to find and car parking on site is free. More plain than other Guest houses etc in the same bracket but immensely helpful and kind owners.
the delicious breakfast was served with home made preserves thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joant444348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Bridge house
This is very close to the station
very clean and convenient but like most others seems to be quite a way to the centre.
The owners were funny - in a good way and helpful with taxis and places to eat etc.
More plain than the other places but equally welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joant444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed overnight at the Bridge House. There was a warm welcome, the room was a decent size, clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very nice too. The only negative was the anaemic shower: a common enough complaint at b & bs, this one is even worth than the norm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Sorry you didn't find the shower to your liking, but we have fitted eco heads in the interest of energy conservation. When you stay again, remind us and we will be happy to fit a less economic shower head for you. Thank you for your review. Peter and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.2 mi away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#12 of 70 in Cheltenham
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#22 of 70 in Cheltenham
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alice Guest House
Alice Guest House
#39 of 70 in Cheltenham
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#6 of 70 in Cheltenham
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Burlington House
Burlington House
#18 of 70 in Cheltenham
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Property: Bridge House
Address: 88 Lansdown Road, Cheltenham GL51 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our family run B&B and discover for yourself our warm and welcoming hospitality. Each one of our five en-suite rooms has been personally built and furnished, to our own design, to create a home from home atmosphere for your comfort. We have two rooms on the ground floor, one specifically designed for anyone in a wheelchair visiting the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing