We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blessed Bridge House”
Review of Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House
Ranked #21 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blessed Bridge House”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A very well appointed and friendly guest house. Easy to find and convenient for the town centre.
Our king size room was spacious, close to the dining room and there is a pleasant rear garden.
The breakfast was very good and the home made bread and marmalade exceptional. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at front on relatively busy road, but one did not really notice it, even on hot night with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. It is reassuring that someone with your experience feels that we are getting right
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
42
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have been to Cheltenham many times but this was our first stay at Bridge House. On our arrival Peter welcomed us with tea & biscuits which were most welcome after our drive up from Kent. Our room was at the back of the house & was quiet, very clean & well appointed. Bridge House is well located being close to the town centre & we walked in to town easily in around 15 mins. Breakfast was exceptional; firstly cereals, fruit & yogurt followed by a substantial cooked full "English" & finally toast with Anne's scrumptious home made marmalade & jams (rhubarb & ginger my personal fave). Peter & Anne are a delightful couple & we felt very much at home. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We made a new batch of the rhubarb and ginger yesterday, in preparation for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This B&B was perfect for us. We were breaking our journey south by taking a 2-night stop in Cheltenham and chose Bridge House after consulting 'Trip Advisor'. The room we had was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and very close to the dining room where we had a lovely breakfast. Although our room was in the front of the property, and fairly close to a moderately-busy road, the traffic noise was almost indiscernible. The host and hostess were charming and very helpful especially when we wanted to have fish and chips the first evening, when they allowed us to use the dining room and even furnished us with cutlery, plates and a bottle-opener for my husband's beer!
There is a very useful bus that stops just outside the property, which runs frequently, dropping you into the town centre. This is within walking distance, taking around 20 minutes to stroll there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review. You make us sound very attentive but you can't keep a man from his ale!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So grateful for the recommendation to stay here during a conference at the University. Really charming hosts, lovely, comfortable room, and tasty breakfast. Grateful for the ethernet connection, as had much work to do. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. Hope you will be back under more relaxed circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose Bridge House for a two night stay whilst visiting friends in Cheltenham and are very pleased we did. The owners, Peter and Anne were friendly and welcoming. The room we were allocated was comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Breakfast was freshly prepared, tasty and of good quality. We had a relaxing and comfortable stay and would definitely book here again should we need to visit Cheltenham in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luzzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. Coming from such an experienced reviewer it is as good as an extra star rating.
Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Peter, Anne and Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riberac, France
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thank you both for a truly wonderful stay. Six adults, one toddler and two small babies arrived.
We could not have been made more welcome. We, too, had a family picnic in the beautiful garden and the kindness and comfort we experienced during our stay for a family wedding was unsurpassed - it was like being in your own home, only better!

The rooms were just as requested - the breakfast was tremendous and delicious.

We, as a family of all ages, could not recommend Bridge House more highly. Roger & Suzy Gale, Kent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. We are only sorry that we weren't better equipped to host you all.

Peter and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It’s true! Believe every nice thing you read about Bridge House and its proprietors. I spent four nights there with my mother, while exploring the Cotswolds. Anne and Peter immediately made us a welcome part of the family. The ensuite bath was pristine with many extra comforts. The spacious room was bright and clean and very quiet and stocked with all manner of tasty goodies. A charming back garden with its riot of flowers and calming fish and frog ponds is a really nice place to relax after a day of travel. The breakfast spread is impressive, catering to a variety of appetites. I highly recommend the full breakfast with Anne’s poached eggs and homemade bread and jams. Peter is helpfully knowledgeable about the area and made our mornings quite jovial. We felt very secure here and well-cared for by these gracious and kind hosts. I am already looking for excuses to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8, Owner at Bridge House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
What a great review! Thank you and thank you for the pictures.

Peter, Anne and Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.2 mi away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#12 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#24 of 70 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lypiatt House
Lypiatt House
#25 of 70 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#5 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.0 mi away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Property: Bridge House
Address: 88 Lansdown Road, Cheltenham GL51 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our family run B&B and discover for yourself our warm and welcoming hospitality. Each one of our five en-suite rooms has been personally built and furnished, to our own design, to create a home from home atmosphere for your comfort. We have two rooms on the ground floor, one specifically designed for anyone in a wheelchair visiting the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing