We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I booked a twin room to stay with my mum. I specifically requested a room with a bath. It did have a bath, but a free standing one in the middle of the room, nice if you are a couple but in a twin room?

The room was very dusty and needed a good clean, things had obviously been cleaned around, if you move anything, it needs a good clean.

Booked dinner in the bistrot which was overpriced for what you get. no wow factor,

The plan was to have dinner and then go back to the room and watch a DVD, perfect to do with my mum (didn't fancy taking mum out to try the Cheltenham nightlife!), tried the DVD and it didn't work, called reception and they came to have a look, along with the boy from the bar, said they couldn't fix it, but would get it sorted while we were at dinner. They didn't bother.

On checkout, I told the receptionist how disappointed I was, she mumbled she was sorry. Not good enough.

On a positive side, nice beds, linen and toiletries and a good bar area and breakfast.

I was talking to a couple at breakfast, who agreed the bistrot isn't up to much and told me that if you have a deal which includes dinner, it just means you can spend £80 in the bar or restaurant. Spend it in the bar and have a sharer platter and a bottle of champagne instead.

Loads of restaurants to have a fab dinner or lunch in Cheltenham.

We went to Ellenbourough park for afternoon tea, this hotel is a different league!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    294
    127
    49
    17
See reviews for
106
524
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed with our four children in two rooms. The rooms were huge and beautifully decorated. The showers were wonderful and the baths in the bedrooms great fun. The service was warm,friendly and unstintingly helpful. The restaurant served a great meal for the kids and also a more grown up mel for us. The hotel is in a great location. I really couldn't fault our stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank squoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were very excited about spending our tenth wedding anniversary here because we have been to a few Hotels du Vin and spent the first night of our honeymoon in the one in Bristol. Glorious! Having had a lovely dinner, we checked with reception that the fan noise which was very obvious in our ground floor room would go off at night. We were assured that it did. I had a terrible night, being kept awake by doors slamming and various fans cutting in and out the whole night. In the morning I was exhausted so despite a super spread at breakfast, all I wanted to do was go home and get some rest. We explained this quietly at check out and the manager was called - he took £70 off our bill - a disgrace when we had not slept. What is the point of a hotel if not to sleep?! We couldn't face bartering do we paid and left but would probably avoid all hotels du vin in future because of this. What a shame they seem to have become so 'chain hotel' - like. I like them when you were treated as individuals. Lovely decor and food but I feel let down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmyott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham is an immacualtely presented boutique city centre hotel. We stayed over-night Sat/Sun 31/3-01/04. The hotel was fairly full but the attentive bar staff did not let our glasses run dry during early evening pre-dinner drinks! We did not eat at the hotel but the basement level Bistro looked welcoming and the open stairs from the bar to bistro really create a chic modern feel, despite the classic construction of the building. The friendly and efficient check in confirmed our good impression of the hotel with reception staff happy to escort and guide us to our room. The room itself was one of the larger rooms ('Tomassi somethingorother') with roll-top bath featured under one of the windows in the actual bedroom ! We did not use this but we did use the huge wet-room style shower in the very generously sized bathroom. Furnishings and decor in the room were a great mix of modern, chic and classic. Our one and only frustration was the completely over-complicated lighting controls which we gave up on. Ultimately the room, and indeed the reception and some of the common parts, are low-lit. My patience with the room's lighting controls expired before I could achieve a high level of lighting. Fortunately, neither of us mind the 'gloom-chic' look! Overall, great hotel, great staff, great decor, great location. Our default hotel for as and when we return to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2happyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed for one night March 24-25 2012 and loved this hotel.

Location: easy to walk to the Promenade as the hotel was in the Montpellier district which is beautiful.

Breakfast: excellent choice of food. The continental buffet was delicious, with fresh pastries being brought out all the time. The cooked food was excellent too.

The bar: a stunning wood panelled airy space with the stunning spiral staircase. This set off with the jazz in the background made it the perfect place to enjoy a drink and unwind. We particuarly liked the paintings/photos (they were so real).

The spa: EXCELLENT!! The staff were professional and friendly. I had the life saving back treatment which made my aching back and calves melt! My relatives has facials which they thought were excellent too.

The rooms: lovely decor with a freestanding bath in the room and huge shower - bliss! There was no noise from within or outside the hotel so we had a lovely night's sleep.

The staff: friendly and professional, excellent!

Room Tip: We had the Mochel Roche room with the freestanding bath - it looked over the street but the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were upgraded to one of the top rooms; but the lighting arrangements were poor and we had to get help for the TV which was not on stand by. But continually ringing reception at 7.30pm for 20 minutes failed to get a response and we had to visit them. At dinner the waiter forgot our order for an apperitif and 10 minutes later had to be reminded. Otherwise a luxury experience; food excellent. Lucky to get a car park space.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandavLymngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just had 3 night stay with my wife. Usual excellent room with good bed and plenty of room. We arrived just after the festival and the hotel atmosphere was buzzy!
We had dinner both Friday and Saturday night and both meals were very good and service was attentive without being overbearing.
Only one gripe and that was the fact that they did not replace shower gel/shampoo each day, come on HdV the economy cant be that bad!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing