We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Du Vin Cheltenham Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
SURREY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Du Vin Cheltenham Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

A disappointing visit. We had a room at the back which overlooks the back courtyard. Having asked for a quiet room we did not get one. There was a heater or air conditioning unit outside which kept us awake most of the night. The reception staff were unhelpful in responding to our concerns. Also room was very dusty.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BEVER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    294
    127
    49
    17
See reviews for
106
524
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast for a special occasion and chose to stay in a junior suite. The room was beautifully clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and both the monsoon shower and the twin baths were lovely. I am not usually a fan of baths in bedrooms but somehow HDV pulls this off - perhaps it was the extra touches of the extra wall TV for viewing from the bath and the side table for drinks! We were shown to our room so did not experience the problems some reviewers have mentioned in finding their allocated room. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Would definitely stay here again or try other HDVs.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank austrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We had a one night stay for a whole £99 thanks to a deal and it was as good as you would expect from HDV. I had eaten there before but not stayed and hadn't realised how large the accommodation areas were. We had the Villa Maria room which was lovely and overall it was the usual high quality experience you expect. And a bargain!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
570 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Ive read about dinner bead and breakfast etc on trip advisor for around £149....we were charged £155 for just bed and breakfast and a free glass of wine. We were upgraded but the TV was hazey, we couldnt get BBC 1, and in the morning when we had showers the glass panel door almost collapsed on us, as it was unsafe, and loose. When we reported the faults to the staff on check out they werent that bothered...,so wont stay again, Cant understand how it gets good reviews.

Room Tip: They operate all sorts of deals and differing rates so be carefull, weve heard of better rates than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel-the staff were friendly and helpful,the hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean. Location is good-a few minutes walk into Cheltenham and there is parking at the hotel. We had an Autumn break offer -paid £149 for dinner bed and breakfast and we had £20.00 each towards our meal plus a free glass of house wine plus a free room upgrade. The food was fantastic-the steaks are excellent. The room we had was lovely and large, and quiet as it was at the back of the hotel.
Watch out for the resident 'spy' from GCHQ who will tell you he can't tell you what he does for a living as it is top secret! However, he forgot to put on his 'Harry Potter invisibility cloak' whilst he was eating his boiled eggs and neatly cut crusts off toast soldiers!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Another excellent hotel in the du vin chain.
The roll tap bath is just wonderful and the beds are always so comfortable.
Breakfast cooked to order - excellent.
Hotel set in the Montpellier area of Cheltenham - short walk to friendly pubs & restaurants.
Will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and i stayed for 2 nights in September and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a great location 5 min walk into town. We ate at the hotel the lst night and i can say that the food was delicious as was the breakfast the next morning. All the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The room had a wonderful large comfy bed and pillows, the bathroom was on the small side (we just had the standard room) the room and bathroom were both very clean. Lovely hotel would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing