We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was about our fourth visit in about five years. We love the Hotel du Vin with one proviso, and that is you have to be very careful about choosing the right room and you very much get what you pay for. The cheaper rooms are small and cramped but the Executive and upwards are very spacious and comfortable. These rooms are very well decorated and luxurious. This time we were in the Michel Laroche and it even has the bath in the bedroom which is lovely and decadent although we didn't use it! The room overlooked the main road but it is not too busy and did not affect sleep quality too much.
There are touches in the rooms that are often omitted in luxury hotels - an Nespresso coffee making machine, tea making equipment with fresh milk in the fridge, an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was also very luxurious and modern with a huge walk in shower.
We had dinner in the dining room which was excellent. Our only gripe was that we were on a deal that included dinner which was from the fixed price menu. If one wants to go a la carte one is allowed £15.50 towards this. The thing we found a little cheeky was that the service charge was added to this. The dining room is very cheerful and the food excellent, with a very extensive reasonably priced wine list.
The hotel is very well situated for the centre of town and although parking is a bit tight there is sufficient outside the hotel.
We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

We went to the Hotel du Vin for an overnight stay (dinner, bed and breakfast) and we had a really fabulous time. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The dinner was excellent, the room was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We took their email offer (£35: two courses for two plus a bottle of wine) This was a difficult offer to refuse, how ever we were a little disappointed. The waiter/waitress did not smile. The starter and mains were normal. We paid more for the deserts, and this made up for it as it was much better. Over all, they could do better

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shingpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My friends and I stayed here overnight for a girlie trip and it was lovely. Upon check in, we were greeted warmly, shown to our rooms and the staff could not do enough to help us. The bar is a good size with comfortable seating. There is not enough parking spaces so we had to park on the road which was on the down side. There is also not a 24 room service although when we arrived back from having been out, the receptionist made sandwiches for us. Rooms are a good size with underfloor heating in bathroom- something which definitely soothed my tired feet. Beds are comfortable although in room heating is tempramental.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerHB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We love the Hotel du Vin chain and really enjoyed our stay in Cheltenham for my husband's birthday. We had a very warm welcome from the staff and the hotel is in a lovely peaceful location just outside the centre, very handy for shopping and easy to park on the road outside the hotel. The room was very comfortable and quiet, loved the bathroom as always and the nice touches, coffee machine and fresh milk. The Bar area and Bistro are spacious and comfortable. It was very busy on the Friday evening so the service wasn't as good as it could have been and the menu choice we thought was limited. Having said that the food and wine was delicious and the breakfast as always was excellent. I would recommend the restaurant Purslane, which is in the town centre, if you are staying a couple of nights, the food was outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

It was my wife's birthday, they arranged everything.... Great room with a great value deal too... The two baths in the room was brilliant!!! The food and service in the Bistro never disappoint as with the selection of wines......

Room Tip: Speak with their central reservations team as most of them have worked in the hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemyholidays100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I love the Hotel du Vin chain and always feel its a treat to stay in one of their hotels. I've stayed in the Cheltenham hotel before but sadly it's not as good as it used to be. To be fair the rooms are still much nicer than in an average hotel and the bar area and restaurant are beautifully designed so it is still much nicer than the norm. But the whole place seemed a little tired with chipped tiles in the bathroom, scuffs on the paintwork and a general air of not being cared for as it once was. The reception area is so dimly lit that its gloomy and the staff there seem very young and not very polished. Its great that they show you to your room but they don't ask if you need help with your luggage which is unusual in this level of hotel. The bar is still a great pace but clearly not as popular as it used to be so the buzz is missing. The breakfast continental selection lacked choice and variety - for example just one type of juice and a very lacklustre looking fruit salad. All the staff are pleasant and know how to do their job but nobody seemed particularly enthusiastic or stood out. So all in all whilst its still a lovely place in a great part of town (although the downside of that is that the parking is very limited) theres not enough that sets it apart or justifies the cost of the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely one of those places where the more you pay the more you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £93 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing