We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We took advantage of the Bank Holiday Special paying only £25 for the room on the proviso we spent £75 in the bistro.

The Hotel is a delight. For an extra £12 we upgraded to an executive room. The roll top bath and monsoon shower are a lovely extra. The bed was extremely comfortable and the choice of toiletries and the tea/ coffee makings are of an excellent quality.

We found spending £75 on dinner to be quite easy, in fact plan on paying a fair bit more if you enjoy some drinks and a bottle of wine.

The bistro is very much in line with other Hotels Du Vin. Whilst the food is very acceptable, in our opinion it does not meet the standards of the surroundings.

We base the rating on the Hotel as opposed to the bistro. It nevertheless proved exceptional value for money for an overnight stay with dinner and we would not hesitate to take advantage of this deal in the future.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the executive room was certainly worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMaggieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Many Thanks for your review - we are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    298
    132
    50
    17
See reviews for
108
530
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had one night here to visit Cheltenham. I really like the hotel and it is within easy walking distance to the city centre. Our room was fine, if a bit difficult to find. Parking is a bit restricted but you can park on the roads near by. The staff were all very friendly. My only negative is that I don't feel the cooked breakfast was worth the price and the staff were a bit hard to find in the morning. All in all a great night and I would stay here again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlmlmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank-you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, we do value our guests feedback therefore I can assure you I will be communicating your feedback with regards to the breakfast to our Bistro Manager - we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Executive rooms are large with walk in monsoon shower and roll top bath. The reception staff very welcoming, and restaurant staff friendly and efficient. Restaurant & bar area are spacious and attractive. Great Sunday brunch deal- we ate til we could eat no more. Breakfast is a bit pricey but amazing so go for it (& skip lunch!)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us, we are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our ever popular Sunday Brunch.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I absolutely love this hotel and is my favourite in cheltenham spa. it is in a lovely building and has a great bar and restaurant area-which serves amazing locally sourced food.

Rooms are perfectly plush and luxurious with all the little extras you'd expect in the very best hotels- full sized posh products in the bathroom, large walk in monsoon shower and separate roll top bath, cosy bath robes, flat screen tv... You won't want to leave your room never mind the hotel!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Many thanks for oyur review following your stay with us, we are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I tagged a long with my partner during one of his trips to Cheltenham. We stayed in Casa Lapostolle. I find it unique having a room name instead of a room number.

We were greeted by people in the reception as we entered and whisked to our room. It was rather confusing going to Casa Lapostolle since you have to encounter a maze-like path. The lady at reception helped carried my luggage which was kind of her since that was quite heavy. She also opened the door for us and explained the amenities and told us to just phone reception if we need help.

Their breakfast is quite good with fresh orange juice and a selection of ala carte menu and a continental buffet.

The hotel itself is located quite near the shopping areas and restaurants which is a plus. Most of the staff were quite nice and entertaining, but, not so with some.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Am P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank-you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us, we value all of our guest feedback as it is important to understand how we can improve both our servics and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My partner booked a surprise two night stay at HDV on May 17th.

We had a junior suite room, with twin roll top baths in the bedroom and a walk in monsoon shower in the bathroom. Air con in the room so we could control the room temperature, two TVs; one above the bathtubs, luxury bath robes, DVD player, a huge comfortable bed with equally comfortable pillows and a sofa.

The room was so perfect we decided to stay in on the Friday evening and enjoy room service.

We dined in the hotel during our entire stay, breakfast was perfect - in bed and in the bistro, we did both! I recommend the afternoon tea in the bar whilst curled up on the comfy sofa.

The food was absolutely flawless, even the spa lunch was amazing. A la Carte menu in the bistro was beautiful and the four course Sunday lunch was to die for!!

We had a day in the spa on the Saturday, the girls and treatments were wonderful, Janine was great with me as I am 20 weeks pregnant I felt really looked after and like I was in the hands of a professional.

All the staff are a credit to the hotel; my partner had planned this weekend for months as he proposed to me while we were there. Before the proposal I felt that ALL the staff knew who we were and that we were not just a "number" they knew we were booked in for specific packages throughout our stay, and after the proposal we couldn't walk past a member of staff without them congratulating us so whoever manages the team of staff communicates to them very well. They helped to make our experience even more special!

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for something special. I had the most perfect time and rate the hotel that highly that we are now looking at wedding packages!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaStrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank-you for your recent review following your stay at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham. It is always a bonus to hear when we have made a guests stay special and memorable especially when individual staff members have gone above and beyond their service duties. Congratulations on your engagement, we look forward to being in contact with you regarding your forthcoming wedding plans.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed on way to Cornwall for one night - booked a standard room and upgraded via email offer - couldn't tell the room was an upgrade - it was small - with average size bed - a roll top bath at bottom of bed where I'd rather had had a television - far too hot in middle of night and if course couldn't get windows open - the hotel was like a maze and once out found it hard to find our way back to room - one White Russian cocktail - one double vodka & coke at hotel bar £16.50 - and took ten mins to pour - only short walk to bars and restaurants in Montpelier district - bit disappointed at £127 a night

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu_b_lu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank-you for providing feedback following your recent stay, I can only apologise for us failing to meet your expectations. We have a very pro-active service recovery procedure in place and had we known about the certain issues during your stay I can assure you we would have done our upmost to turn your stay around for you. We hope that you do consider returning in the future in order for us to make amends for your most recent stay.

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#15 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing