We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I can certainly see why HDV gets mixed reviews but we had a very enjoyable weekend there and I'm happy to let slide the few things that could be done better. There were 18 of us there and on the whole we were looked after very well. We had a few difficulties actually finding our room which resulted in us having to go back to reception but once we eventually found it we were very pleased. The lift needs to be fixed as walking us numerous flights of stairs becomes frustrating after a while! The food at dinner was very good and aside from a few glitches with the service the whole of our party were generally pleased. The bar area is a very nice place for after dinner drinks and the cocktails and staff on the bar were excellent. Finally, the location of HDV is fantastic and if you're in Cheltenham I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay and meal with us. Overall we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us, however I can assure you that the issues that you have highlighted have been noted and will be addressed to the relevant Departmental Managers so that we can ensure a better stay for our future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed in an Executive room at the end of May. The room and hotel were gorgeous, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom was really luxurious with a huge shower and bath.

The bar staff were great, really friendly and drinks were delicious. We didn't eat here so can't comment on that.

Location was ideal- right in the centre. Although the clubs and bars didn't live up to the expectations we had and we ended up going back to the hotel bar.

The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is that I called up in advance to book a late checkout. They offered this complimentary until 12pm. However we got a phone call at 11.30am to ask why we hadn't vacated the room yet which wasn't great. We were also offered a room with a bath actually in the bedroom in advance and this also wasn't honoured. This is fine as it was a lovely room anyway but no one mentioned this so I'm sure that confirmation call I made a week before was not actually noted down.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitz-flower1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us, we are glad to hear that overall you had a great time with us and I can only apologise for the disturbance the morning of your check out and for you not receiivng your requested room type, due to all of our rooms being individually designed requests are subject to availability.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in June and have often stayed at hotels inthe same group. The buildings were great and the downstairs accomodation worked really well.a light airy lounge and bar area, some private rooms and downstairs the Bistro. We ate there Friday night and the food was excellent and breakfast when it arrived on both days was good. However I had spent some time discussing the junior suite we chose earlier in the week (and booked weeks before) saying we would like a sitting area and didnt need 2 baths and 2 showers, however we did not get the room we were promised.The lifts weren't working and had clearly been out of commission for some time and we were directed up 4 flights of stairs with a casual wave of a hand and no offer of help with the luggage.Service in the dining room was very variable too , particularly at breakfast .So cant give it 5 stars despite an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with large windows , we had a junior suite but it had tiny windown on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank-you for you review following your stay at the weekend, it is never encouraging to hear negative feedback however it is important for us to take note and act on it once it has been detailed. Unfortuately our lift is currently out of order and contractors are working to get this fixed as we speak therefore I can only apologise for this disruption to your stay. Had we known that the room you were allocated was not the preferred one I can assure you we would have done our upmost to find a solution for you and turn around the stay. We do hope that you consider returning to us in the future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wonderful room, beautiful food and great service made for a wonderful stay:)
The hotel was wonderful and the town centre is really close by with a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants.
The park was a lovely place to sit and while the afternoon away in the sunshine too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your comments following your stay with us. We are so very pleased to hear you had a great time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to the hotel and amazingly we ended up in the same room as last time. I like the new policy if sending you an email the week before offering cheap upgrades if available when u arrive. Sadly we didn't get one as full but it's a nice idea. Standard rooms are slightly on the small side not a lot if room to move around or in the bathroom. However they are well decorated and looked after and have all the amenities that you need for a one nt stay. Location to town centre is good a short walk. Hotel is a bit light on parking spaces u think we managed to get the last one. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment had a drink in the bar service a bit slow but in fairness they did seen to have a couple of new staff in training. Would dec revisit if n Cheltenham again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane131262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay here at Hotel Du Vin Cheltenham, we are so very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We took advantage of the Bank Holiday Special paying only £25 for the room on the proviso we spent £75 in the bistro.

The Hotel is a delight. For an extra £12 we upgraded to an executive room. The roll top bath and monsoon shower are a lovely extra. The bed was extremely comfortable and the choice of toiletries and the tea/ coffee makings are of an excellent quality.

We found spending £75 on dinner to be quite easy, in fact plan on paying a fair bit more if you enjoy some drinks and a bottle of wine.

The bistro is very much in line with other Hotels Du Vin. Whilst the food is very acceptable, in our opinion it does not meet the standards of the surroundings.

We base the rating on the Hotel as opposed to the bistro. It nevertheless proved exceptional value for money for an overnight stay with dinner and we would not hesitate to take advantage of this deal in the future.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the executive room was certainly worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickMaggieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Many Thanks for your review - we are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had one night here to visit Cheltenham. I really like the hotel and it is within easy walking distance to the city centre. Our room was fine, if a bit difficult to find. Parking is a bit restricted but you can park on the roads near by. The staff were all very friendly. My only negative is that I don't feel the cooked breakfast was worth the price and the staff were a bit hard to find in the morning. All in all a great night and I would stay here again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmlmlmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank-you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, we do value our guests feedback therefore I can assure you I will be communicating your feedback with regards to the breakfast to our Bistro Manager - we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £93 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing